• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Exchange Rates for RM

malpaso

Just to recap once and for all:

CIMB Malaysia's AirAsia Savers Account interest is 1.2% flat, no tiers. They mentioned 2.4% is because if you don't make any over-the-counter transaction in a month and your balance is above RM5,000 throughout that particular month, you'll be entitled to an additional RM5 credit, which is the equivalent of 1.2% of RM5,000, hence the tricky 2.4% as can be misunderstood.

WTF again!! They told me this morning 2.4% for balances above 5k RM calculated based on the balance of the account, inclusive the 5RM rebate. When I pointed out the "1.2% flat rate, no tiers" statement, they couldn't answer. Now I have to go again to open the moneey multiplier account. Arrrgggh!!

Some people dont drive leh; provide more option lah.

I go UOB only bring IC and Passport only. And also RM10,000. Period.

Why CIMB so troublesome one.

I think Cimb no standard procedure, the branch i went only asked for passport and IC, never ask for driving licence.

malpaso

>> as usual, i kept it simple, one saving acct and ATM card.

3) bring passport, IC, driver licnese (they need 3). then bring you latest mobile phone bill. they need to take a copy of that. then you need to fill in a FORM to activate the Sgp number for your cimb internet banking.

tell me mah.. the pretty malay banker taught me how to DIY e sgp no with the FORM. (boz i also didn't bring along):p

so you manage to activate the sgp handphone without filling the form? i think all the bankers there confuse one another la. btw, the current account has check book and better interest. so if you keeping reasonably large amount there dormant for a while, i think money multiplier account is better. but today i cannot open because "system down". pengzzz sia.

2) decide what you want before hand. CIMB airasia if you intend to do ATM withdrawal, no checkbook, 2.4% for balance >5k RM, and 3 or less OTC tranx per month they credit you 5RM per month, otherwise Money multiplier account which give 2.5% interest for balances above 10k RM, but penalise you if you make > 3 withdrawal per month.

>> as usual, i kept it simple, one saving acct and ATM card.

3) bring passport, IC, driver licnese (they need 3). then bring you latest mobile phone bill. they need to take a copy of that. then you need to fill in a FORM to activate the Sgp number for your cimb internet banking.

tell me mah.. the pretty malay banker taught me how to DIY e sgp no with the FORM. (boz i also didn't bring along):p

Can use pre-paid Msia number, no need to show mobile phone bill and can use instantly.

malpaso

2.5678 TT rate, that is excellent rate....

but counter TT got charges right? so depends on the amounts transferred too. Dunno whether this has been shared in thsi thread , but the CIMB SG banker told me that for single amounts of >80k SGD, they can give me a much better rate.

wolverine23

You can request linkup to your Malaysia CIMB account which takes 2 weeks. In the meantime, you can choose to remit to 3rd party CIMB.

It should work too..

i thought we have to do it ourselves using the SG internet banking portal? so for me, am waiting for my CIMB SG internet token.