• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The politics thread :)

Jetstream

I think the unhappiness and dissatisfaction of Malaysians with government are many folds. I seem to gather at least the followings(my 2 cents):

1. Wide spread corruption, cronyism and nepotism: Big projects, highly lucrative businesses and economic opportunities almost always are given or awarded to parties who agree to give cuts of something like 5-100% of the deals to parties or middlemen, rent seekers with closed links to ruling parties and their leaders, government officials *and civil servants. Many of these rent seekers and fat cats in the present government and system are targets for sacking.*

Such corruption, cronyism and nepotism siphons off a very large chunk of the wealth of the country and represents a very big burden on *people in terms of taxes and deprivation of developments and services.

2. Corruptions and lack of integrity of the judiciary: when people suffer injustices at the hands of the rich and powerful, people with authorities, *these influential people have ways to gain advantage and escape unpunished, perpetuating non-closure and the suffering of the victims. In such environment, people feel unsecured as injustices could befall without reliable recourse any moment and happiness in life be taken away forever.

3. Racial politics: Country is run along racial and religious lines *in economy, civil service, uniformed service, educations,...etc. People do not want to be deprived(or insulted and told what they can do or cannot do) of their freedom and entitlements(in all aspects of life) *based on their races or religions. Such political situations contributed to the very severe *economical and political *marginalisations of smaller and weaker groups in society, forming the basis of instability in the country.*

4.*Efficiency of the government, civil service: Using Singapore as a benchmark as both starting off at about same level of socio-economic development some 50 plus years ago, Malaysia's *performance *leaves a lot of room for improvements.

Malaysia is endowed with abundance of resources with a land area about 500 times Singapore and population 6 times that of Singapore. Despite all these natural advantages, Malaysian government has been delivering an economy with GDP about same size that of Singapore, per capita income 1/4 of Singapore with generally less advanced infrastructures, public services and educational levels and institutions.

Well said, sgtsk, u've read the ground well.

sgtsk

It seems 道高一尺, 魔高一丈
no utopia on this planet.

SG have so many corruption cases recently and these are just the kuching kurak, the real big ones are LEEgalised and will not be uncovered. Many rich and foreigners in SG get away with crime or given light sentence too - eg Woffles Wu.

As for racial politics, I think it is okay to give unfair advantages to own people who are poor and disadvantaged in the society - especially if they are the majority - so that people don't become too poor and turn around to harm the minority rich.

whoami

SG have so many corruption cases recently and these are just the kuching kurak, the real big ones are LEEgalised and will not be uncovered. Many rich and foreigners in SG get away with crime or given light sentence too - eg Woffles Wu.

As for racial politics, I think it is okay to give unfair advantages to own people who are poor and disadvantaged in the society - especially if they are the majority - so that people don't become too poor and turn around to harm the minority rich.

Clap clap. Coming fm a Non-Malay, well spoken sis. U have my respect!

Infact tats wat Dr Mahathir had said so too. Sharing of wealth.

If we look around us, we know which race control the economic pie. Look at Indonesia @ 5% are Chinese. Any yet they control the Indonesia economy. But they did not share. The govt pocket it themselves. And when riot erupted, commons sense will tell us whos at the most receiving end.

Msia, @60% only r Malays. And yet they r way way behind the Chinese interms of education, wealth etc etc. Even with those special privileges given to the malays, latter still cant catch up with the Chinese. And if the govt do away with all those privileges, wat do u think will happen to the malays?

vincentck

The gov has special rights for the bumis; that's fine with the non-bumis. What a lot of people are not happy is the corruption and cronyism that only benefits a few.

Here's a simple analogy: the gov takes ur wallet, removes $100 from it and gives the wallet back to you. Then when you say you don't have money to eat, the gov says, "since I'm a caring gov, I give you $1 to buy food. Be grateful. Remember, I help you, you help me!"

The wallet with the money represents the natural resources in Msia; oil and timber being some of the most profitable. Petronas pays subsidies to the gov in the time of billions of RM. Petronas also paid a big sum for the construction of the Petronas Twin Towers, even though it was Mahathir's mega project. Chief Minister of Sabah, Taib is probably the richest man in Msia, with wealth more than the Queen of England.

Now, the gov gives RM500 to poor citizens, RM200 to youths to buy smartphones, RM250 to buy books; but where's the billions of RM paid by Petronas and the billions of RM for land and timber sold in East Malaysia. Malaysia is so rich in natural resources that we should be like Brunei and the Saudis, tax-free income. Instead, our tax rates are higher than Singapore.

Also please near in mind that the special privileges given to the MY Malays have done more harm than good. The youngsters have grown up with a mentality that the gov will always take care of my welfare. Don't need to study hard, because we can always get a place in university. After graduating, the gov can always give us a job.

Fortunately a lot of modern Malays realizes this; they rather not have the privileges and compete on equal grounds. These are the same Malays who the non-Malays support. If only I could share some of the things that I've seen on Facebook, you would find it hard to believe. I still find it hard to believe, but there's no other explanation. The elite BN are sucking the country dry.

vincentck

Is there a need to share information on the statement made by the MsianElection Commission regarding Sg cars ferrying voters in Msia?

On 5th May, Msia will have the General Election. As some of you may know, there have been a request by a committee member of the Election Commission for Sg-registered vehicles to be prohibited from carrying voters.

I know it sounds silly for such a request to be made to MFA, but what I do not know is how far the gov supporters will go to support that statement. If there's no need to go to Johor that weekend, then please try not to go. I hope I'm not spreading fear, I just want to avoid any inconvenience to those who go into Msia and may be caught in traffic jam or road blocks, etc.

Clap clap. Coming fm a Non-Malay, well spoken sis. U have my respect!

Infact tats wat Dr Mahathir had said so too. Sharing of wealth.

If we look around us, we know which race control the economic pie. Look at Indonesia @ 5% are Chinese. Any yet they control the Indonesia economy. But they did not share. The govt pocket it themselves. And when riot erupted, commons sense will tell us whos at the most receiving end.

Msia, @60% only r Malays. And yet they r way way behind the Chinese interms of education, wealth etc etc. Even with those special privileges given to the malays, latter still cant catch up with the Chinese. And if the govt do away with all those privileges, wat do u think will happen to the malays?

Yeah the Indonesia riot is one such case, actually it is just logic that majority people in the society cannot become too poor if not they have nothing to lose and that is how all revolutions started. I think PAP realised this logic too, see how they now give so much goodies to the poor in SG when they used to say no welfare so loudly?

FHBH12

Now, the gov gives RM500 to poor citizens, RM200 to youths to buy smartphones, RM250 to buy books; but where's the billions of RM paid by Petronas and the billions of RM for land and timber sold in East Malaysia. Malaysia is so rich in natural resources that we should be like Brunei and the Saudis, tax-free income. Instead, our tax rates are higher than Singapore.

I find it hard to believe that the tax-rate in Malaysia is higher than Singapore. It should be the other way round right? I recently paid my property quit rent, and it was ridiculously low. Our COE alone can already buy a luxury car in Malaysia. Our petrol is double the price in Malaysia and so on...

Funds Transfer

Is there a need to share information on the statement made by the MsianElection Commission regarding Sg cars ferrying voters in Msia?

On 5th May, Msia will have the General Election. As some of you may know, there have been a request by a committee member of the Election Commission for Sg-registered vehicles to be prohibited from carrying voters.

I know it sounds silly for such a request to be made to MFA, but what I do not know is how far the gov supporters will go to support that statement. If there's no need to go to Johor that weekend, then please try not to go. I hope I'm not spreading fear, I just want to avoid any inconvenience to those who go into Msia and may be caught in traffic jam or road blocks, etc.

That's really sound advice.

But do you forsee the possibility of unrest breaking out in the event that the GE result turns out unfavorably for BN? Or is the worry about violence overplayed as usual?

Funds Transfer

I find it hard to believe that the tax-rate in Malaysia is higher than Singapore. It should be the other way round right? I recently paid my property quit rent, and it was ridiculously low. Our COE alone can already buy a luxury car in Malaysia. Our petrol is double the price in Malaysia and so on...

Vincentck may not be wrong if you look at the table below. Singaporeans do not pay taxes unless you earn more than 50K per annum I think. Our taxes also do not go beyond 20%.

However, Singaporeans do suffer from plenty of indirect taxes. Strictly speaking, if we consider the fact that the CPF cannot taken back, then isn't it a kind of tax. Of course, critics would defend the fact that the CPF can be used for housing. But if that amount cannot get you a house completely and requires additional funds, then it is as good as a tax. This is especially so when the size of the additional funds outside your CPF is more than sufficient to purchase a house/flat for some citizens in other countries.

Malaysia individual income tax rates are progressive, up to 26%. Individuals who do not meet residence requirements are taxed at a flat rate of 26%.

Taxable Income RM Tax Rate Tax Payable RM
on the first 2,500 0% 0
on the next 2,500 1% 25
on the first 5,000 25
on the next 5,000 3% 150
on the first 10,000 175
on the next 10,000 3% 300
on the first 20,000 475
on the next 15,000 7% 1,050
on the first 35,000 1,525
on the next 15,000 12% 1,800
on the first 50,000 3,325
on the next 20,000 19% 3,800
on the first 70,000 7,125
on the next 30,000 24% 7,200
on the first 100,000 14,325
on the next 50,000 26% 13,000
on the first 150,000 27,325
on the next 100,000 26% 26,000
on 250,000 53,325
Above 250,000 26%

alnine

Dun say quit rent low leh. Sgp property tax high lah. At least in Malaysia the property goes to the area management as far as I was told but sgp property goes to gov. The tax money use for what I am not clear. We all know non opposition ward gets lots of up grading.

alnine

Vincentck may not be wrong if you look at the table below. Singaporeans do not pay taxes unless you earn more than 50K per annum I think. Our taxes also do not go beyond 20%.

However, Singaporeans do suffer from plenty of indirect taxes. Strictly speaking, if we consider the fact that the CPF cannot taken back, then isn't it a kind of tax. Of course, critics would defend the fact that the CPF can be used for housing. But if that amount cannot get you a house completely and requires additional funds, then it is as good as a tax. This is especially so when the size of the additional funds outside your CPF is more than sufficient to purchase a house/flat for some citizens in other countries.

Malaysia individual income tax rates are progressive, up to 26%. Individuals who do not meet residence requirements are taxed at a flat rate of 26%.

on the first 2,500 0% 0
on the next 2,500 1% 25
on the first 5,000 25
on the next 5,000 3% 150
on the first 10,000 175
on the first 20,000 475
on 250,000 53,325
Above 250,000 26%

Surprise it starts so low. Really can collect if one earns only 3k pa ?

alnine

on the first 2,500 0% 0
on the next 2,500 1% 25
on the first 5,000 25
on the next 5,000 3% 150
on the first 10,000 175
on the first 20,000 475
on 250,000 53,325
Above 250,000 26%

The indirect tax comes from coe, gst, alcohol, arf, petrol tax ......... corporate tax break which individual do not enjoy. even if you do not own a car you still pay them with increase transport cost. Taxi fare went up. I think the tax rate should go up for the higher income earners. May be 300k 21% , 400k 22% and 500k 23%. This can then offset or lower other areas for the general population to enjoy.

sgtsk

If PR wins Johor (an uphill battle I must say).

(Today Online) -*Mr Anwar said businesses in Iskandar will have to be “more transparent” and the opposition will “generate interest and participation (in the commercial projects) for the locals”.*

Responding to remarks from the Barisan Nasional (BN) camp that the opposition will stymie the progress of the Iskandar region if Johor falls into opposition hands, Malaysian opposition leader Anwar Ibrahim yesterday dismissed these as scaremongering attempts and reiterated that the opposition wants the Malaysian economy to continue to grow and commitments would be honoured.

However, he said “investors, including (those) from Singapore, cannot assume that business must be as usual” should the special economic zone come under opposition rule. Among other things, he wants more opportunities for Malaysians. Speaking to TODAY while campaigning in Selangor, Mr Anwar said: “The politics of fear is always a tactic of the ruling establishment. Of course, our concern is that the economy continues to grow (and) whatever commitments were given have to be honoured.”

Nevertheless, should the opposition win Johor, there will be changes in policies. Mr Anwar said businesses in Iskandar will have to be “more transparent” and the opposition will “generate interest and participation (in the commercial projects) for the locals”.

“These are issues which will not in any way hinder investment or development,” he said.

Iskandar Malaysia was developed in 2006, and Singapore is the largest single foreign investor there.

According to statistics from the Malaysian Investment Development Authority, Singapore companies have set up more than 300 manufacturing projects there so far. Some Singapore companies have reportedly said that they will adopt a wait-and-see attitude in investing in the Iskandar region, with the elections underway.

Johor is known as a BN fortress. Going into the elections, the ruling coalition held 25 out of 26 parliamentary seats, and 50 out of 56 state seats. But political analysts have said that the opposition could make deeper inroads given the political developments since the last general election in 2008.

In recent weeks, UDA Holdings Chairman Nur Jazlan Mohamed and Malaysian Chinese Association president Chua Soi Lek have warned Johorians that investments worth billions of ringgit received by the Iskandar region and Johor would be stopped if the opposition is voted in.

sgtsk

Re: Living in JB 3 (Johore)
You could read Raja Petra Kamarudin's Malaysia Today for the intrigues in Malaysian politics.

http://www.malaysia-today.net/

RPK was one of the most famous bloggers in Malaysia before with plenty of information from horses' mouths.