• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Understatement: Fury over 6.9 million population target for Singapore

Singaporeans’ comments blasting the government came fast and furious after news broke Tuesday of its plan to allow for an increase in the city-state’s population to 6.9 million by 2030.

Coming amid an already rising wave of anti-foreigner sentiment following the influx of immigrants in recent years, a white paper released by the National Population and Talent Division on Tuesday said that Singaporeans were expected to make up little more than half or 55 per cent of the projected population.

Foreigners, who currently make up about two out of five people living in Singapore, have been blamed for the rising cost of living, stagnation of wages and crowding in public transport.

Singaporeans took it to online platforms to give voice to their rage over the government’s population plan. A Facebook group, Say No to an Overpopulated Singapore, was started on Monday and has since gotten 658 likes.

Hundreds of comments to articles regarding the population target were also overwhelmingly negative.

In one comment, Yahoo! reader Ah Lim said, “… Singapore is just a tiny island, it can never [sustain] such a huge population. Maintain a reasonable population and everyone can live in comfort. I do not wish to squeeze like hell wherever I go.”

Another reader Seasand123 said, "I would consider the mother of all policy blunders ever made by the ruling party is their open door policy and flooding this tiny nation with millions of foreigners."

Social activist and owner of unemployment support site Transitioning.org Gilbert Goh told Yahoo! Singapore that the population expansion plans shocked him.

“It will cause a lot of social tension between foreigners and Singaporeans. When there are so many people coming in, you have to get them jobs and housing, and these two things will affect Singaporeans a lot,” Goh said.

“We have to produce about half a million to 750,000 jobs to accommodate a population of about 6.9 million,” he added.

The former National Solidarity Party (NSP) member said he will be organising a protest at Speakers’ Corner at Hong Lim Park on 16 February.

“[People I spoke to] are disappointed with the government for not hearing them out. The majority of Singaporeans don’t want this expansion. The disappointment is that after the PAP’s loss in Punggol East, the government still went ahead to introduce unpopular policies,” Goh said.

Immigration policies were one of the hotly debated topics at the Punggol East by-election in early January.

In the same vein, Singapore Democratic Party (SDP) said the intention to raise the population to 7 million is "extremely worrying".

"There are no justifiable reasons for the PAP to raise the population by such a large number in such a short span of time. The population explosion will cause further economic, social and psychological stress for the people, as well as add to national security implications," said the SDP.

Other Singaporeans have expressed their frustration with humour, sharing memes made by popular satire website 9GAG Singapore.

- http://singaporenewsalternative.blogspot.sg/2013/01/singaporeans-reacted-wtih-fury-over-69.html

Hosay liao, street protest on 16 feb. hope to see half a million sinkies turn up.

Had they release this white paper before the PE polling date, the results WILL be much much worse for the MIW.

I am furious.

i demand for my right to object and I want to do this via a National referendum!!!

The projected singaporean population in 2030 is calculated based on the premise that singaporeans would respond positively to the enhanced packages to raise the total fertility rate. What if singaporeans are not reproducing at the rate as expected, it may result more PRs being granted yearly to supplement the slow population growth for sustaining the economy glow. There will be similar situation of immigration issues as we face currently. On the other hand, if economy is not performing well by 2020 and population has continued to expand in responding to the government's call, will we expect another stop-at-one or two measure then.

More garung gunis from China will be given PRs. Also cleaners from China will be given PRs to fulfill the 6.9 mil policy of Pinky.

Don't know where he got his figures, but I am sure it is not 20/20 vision.

Teo Chee Hean said the increase will be gradual.

I'm reminded of the boiling frog story - in time, the dog will be cooked to death and not know why it's dead.

I refuse to entertain the so called explanations which the SCM outlined as the basis for the PAP's white paper, they are poor excuses for an agenda which the PAP will never admit.

That said, i will just stick to my request all along that this issue be put to the people for their vote. Status quo (which is already a pretty overcrowded and overcrowded boat) or 6.9.

Keep it simple

So this is the outcome of national conversation ? Obviously the conversation with citizens is for show only. Why white paper no need approval by citizens? Aren't they just supposed to govern the existing population ? Can just anyhow bring in new citizen without approval from existing citizens?!

Where do you think the money to pay civil servants and ministers out of this world salaries come from? Do you think these brilliant people make money from leaves and the air? Of course they need to tax the people and for the PAP, taxing the low and middle income Singaporeans is how they will do it. They spend $50K to build a HDB flat but charge the low and middle income groups up to 10 times that amount and up to 20 times once interest charges are calculated.

To pay themselves billions of dollars annually, they need to have a larger pool of taxpayers. From GST to price gourging HDB prices, the PAPzis need to increase the population to increase the cuntry's tax takings.

Again, the pappies have shown they DON'T WANT TO LISTEN!
and they DON'T WANT TO LEARN!
I read with disgust on their explanation on WHY the need for new immigrants/citizens and foreigners..
but they NEVER truly specify HOW THEY ARE GOING TO CREATE MORE JOBS!!

Already at over 5million now.. and alot of Singaporeans are not having a decent job with a decent inconme to allow them to pay for expenses which are rising each and almost every month.

Does anyone believe they (pappies) have ANY ANSWERS to create more jobs when mre ppl come?

FUCKING SETTLE THE CURRENT ISSUES AND PROBLEMS FIRST BEFORE THINKING SO FUCKING FAR AHEAD!!
Ah Loong already admitted that they don't have 20/20 foresight.. what if they "miss" AGAIN!???

If the people in Singapore don't wake up NOW.. then it might truly be too late.

Why 6.9m and not 7m? Coz just like selling things whereby $6.90 sounds much cheaper than $7? This is one of the masterstroke of master strategist Kee Chiu?

maybe the 69 is common activity for the pappies? no?

Singapore is sold. Greedy bastards white scums have no shame.

So this is the outcome of national conversation ? Obviously the conversation with citizens is for show only. Why white paper no need approval by citizens? Aren't they just supposed to govern the existing population ? Can just anyhow bring in new citizen without approval from existing citizens?!

You don't remember the casino 'debates'? The PAP govt does whatever it wants.

Come 2015, the PAP will say that they have listened and will no longer pursue the 7 million people plan. Then, they get re-elected in 2016 and the plan is revived.