• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

WP's Lee Li Lian confirmed !

If what you say is true, that would be interesting to have LLL to stand among two Doctors... I mean.. Dr So and So...

Goh Meng Seng

I don't have any inside info on PT but there are others with equally impressive credentials. Curiously many are from the medical establishment.

The hypothesis that is being tested is how a SDP unknown who speaks well and has powerful credentials will fare against a not so impressive WP candidate.

please grpow up and vote PAP if you are such a credntial whore

Actually I was hoping for Michelle as they were not prepared to sacrifice Yee. I suspect that their primary focus is East Coast, the mother of all battles.

PT has to resign as he is civil servant and I don't think he would. I am sure he is one of the sensible ones telling the others not to enter the fray.

more speculation and wild guess from some1 who already confirm he is not a WP insider

Actually I was hoping for Michelle as they were not prepared to sacrifice Yee. I suspect that their primary focus is East Coast, the mother of all battles.

PT has to resign as he is civil servant and I don't think he would. I am sure he is one of the sensible ones telling the others not to enter the fray.
hahaha.....i waited for 2 days to see if anyone can pick out the obvious BS but all again blur cock or dare not point it out....
how can PT be a civil servant when we all know that civil servant cannot be a member of a political party in the first place.....
basically he has been so used to bullshitting that he has no cow sense/awareness of basic fact.....lol.
as usual abang/adek massaging each other...shiok sendiri only.
PT has been spotted on all the walk-abouts by SDP so far and he can use such term as "sure" and things like that.....really like to ge kiang like he know PT very well..

hahaha.....i waited for 2 days to see if anyone can pick out the obvious BS but all again blur cock or dare not point it out....
how can PT be a civil servant when we all know that civil servant cannot be a member of a political party in the first place.....
basically he has been so used to bullshitting that he has no cow sense/awareness of basic fact.....lol.
as usual abang/adek massaging each other...shiok sendiri only.
PT has been spotted on all the walk-abouts by SDP so far and he can use such term as "sure" and things like that.....really like to ge kiang like he know PT very well..

You are a fool.

Civil servants can be party members.

They are not allowed to stand for elections.

And how about crowing over how your idol was wrong about LLL being nominated?

Dear Scroo

It's as much a declaration of war, and philosophy with every other party out there, In effect what the WP is saying, is, send in your best your brightest and I will send in my heartlander and she wins hands down. She will not win against the PAP, it will be a battle of grassroots work versus liberal western educated elites from the other opposition party, With her in , SDP would want a go, RP would want a go, but it will become a matter of WP branding and a weaker candidate versus all the other parties with their stars

Locke

She contested in 2011 in the same constituency and got a credible 41% of the votes. Can she close the 13.5% margin? Can she knock off the medical doctor who joined the PAP only 3 weeks ago? Are Singaporeans ready to forgive the PAP as they did WP? Or did the AIM gang rape of Aljunied and the threat of a lawsuit have an adverse impact for the PAP.

Background:

Lilian is currently a Trainer with a private institution. She has been actively involved in both industrial and financial sales for the past 6 years. She graduated from Ngee Ann Polytechnic in 1999 where she majored in Business Studies and went on to pursue a Bachelor’s Degree with Curtin University of Technology in Australia majoring in Sales & Marketing. From her years of sales experience, she had gained good communication, interpersonal and persuasive skills.She was both Polling and Counting Agent for the party during GE 2006, subsequently she joined as a member in June that year. In August 2006, was elected into the WPYW as an Executive Council.

In her first 25 years, she was staying in the Marine Parade GRC, and having shifted to the Ang Mo Kio GRC 3 years ago, she finally got a chance to cast her first vote. She helped out as a volunteer during the General Elections 2006. During the process of contributing her service, she realized the lack of information and wrong perception the public have with regards to the opposition party in Singapore. She believes that these need to be corrected and she also wants to create awareness and generate greater political interest among the women in Singapore.

Philosophy:

Lilian recognizes that women are receiving higher education and are playing more vital role in the country’s economic growth. Therefore, their voices, concerns and ideas should be heard and recognized. Therefore, she aims to encourage more women to come forward. The message that she wants to bring across to everyone is: “Until you spread your wings, you’ll have no idea how far you can fly.”

Lilian enjoys singing and making DIY fashion accessories in her past time. She is also a faithful supporter of the ‘REDS’, Liverpool Football club, since the early 90s.

You are a fool.

Civil servants can be party members.

They are not allowed to stand for elections.

And how about crowing over how your idol was wrong about LLL being nominated?
hahaha...double confirmed....another empty vessel.

Dear Scroo

It's as much a declaration of war, and philosophy with every other party out there, In effect what the WP is saying, is, send in your best your brightest and I will send in my heartlander and she wins hands down. She will not win against the PAP, it will be a battle of grassroots work versus liberal western educated elites from the other opposition party, With her in , SDP would want a go, RP would want a go, but it will become a matter of WP branding versus all the other parties with a weak candidate

Locke

I'm not 100% convinced about this. When you are sending a candidate, the biggest and most important consideration is that she is an incumbent.

The WP is seen as the opposition party with the most rights on Punggol East because they are the incumbent. And therefore the incumbent has to go.

The PAP did not move George Yeo out of Aljunied. Why? Because he's the incumbent. If you move a candidate from 1 district to another, it must be for a very special reason. Case in point - Low Thia Khiang from Hougang to Aljunied.

Sure, Yee Jenn Jong and Gerald Giam may be better candidates. But how much better? The upside to swapping them in is not very much.

I don't think that WP are thinking about SDP at the moment. In any case, after all that's been said on both sides, any opposition candidate will be very wary of badmouthing each other during the campaign. SDP has to be consistent with what they said about opposition unity, WP has to be consistent with what they said about not commenting about other opposition parties.

The SDP could see, "well she's not the strongest candidate. I will go up against her because now I got a chance." But equally, they could say, "She doesn't need my help to get beaten by the PAP. I don't need to be seen as the villain". It could go either way. Let's see what happens on nomination day.

how can PT be a civil servant when we all know that civil servant cannot be a member of a political party in the first place.

civil servants cannot join political party? since when ah?

PT can stand as hospitals are private companies. Vivian is an example.

hahaha...since day1.
This is a no brainer as civil servant is supposed to be politically neutral..
over the years, gahmen has relaxed the rules for stat boardso you have lecturers, doctors; etc standing for election as both MIW and MIB.

hahaha...since day1.
This is a no brainer as civil servant is supposed to be politically neutral..
over the years, gahmen has relaxed the rules for stat boardso you have lecturers, doctors; etc standing for election as both MIW and MIB.

oh... then do civil servants need to relinquish their party membership when they are in the civil service?

A wise moves. No other candidate is more fitting thanr her since she was there in the last election vs the charismatic Palmer. Dr Koh looks risky as compared to Palmer in terms of residents chemistry. Gerald Giam is best remained in East Coast GRC and get ready to bring another 6 members into parliament for the next GE. Yenn thin margin vs Charles Chong is best remain in the same turf, because I strongly believe Joo Chiat will go to WP without needing much speculation. In time, there will be dozen of WP members in parliament which is not unachievable. The other parties will have to learn how to unseat PAP other dozen seats from other towns.

oh... then do civil servants need to relinquish their party membership when they are in the civil service?
hahaha....the short answer is yes because u cannot be a civil servant and also be a member of a political party at the same time...
when you go to any ministry and for that matter any stat board and at any time, u see public display of any papee flag, banner; etc..even on desk of individual.....u can make a complaint....this is indefensible....

hahaha....the short answer is yes because u cannot be a civil servant and also be a member of a political party at the same time

oh... then it is fair to make civil servants declare that they are not in any political parties. are Ministers and MPs civil servants?

Civil servant can definitely join political party, but just cannot stand for erection.

Why do you think Sim Ann (yummy!!) had to resign when she was fielded?

Civil servants cannot join political parties. They therefore can't stand for elections. However most stats boards allow it as old man in his years got most of his MPs from NUS and thus opened that door. The primary pupose is to avoid conflict and create neutrality for policy draftsmen, those executing policy etc.

Paul Tambyah either completely transferred from SGH which is civil service to NUH which is a Stat Board or will have to resign to contest elections.

Despite the IM being very clear on this, the PAP has allowed porlumpars in Div 3 and 4 to be party members on the quiet for grassroots work. These guys will never hold office and thus won't break the profile and be noticed.

Sylvia Lim threathened to resign from her stat board as it did not allow its staff to stand for elections. They did an emergency change to avoid being accused of having double standards.

Civil servant can definitely join political party, but just cannot stand for erection.

Why do you think Sim Ann (yummy!!) had to resign when she was fielded?