been to that hotel many times to eat. buffet, Italian and Chinese etc. not cheap, that is why i gave so much.
you are absolutely right. a very fair, honest and sincere gentleman. i will try to do the same too....

been to that hotel many times to eat. buffet, Italian and Chinese etc. not cheap, that is why i gave so much.
Where the fuck you go? 2 days no see you?
many void deck malay wedding buffet have better food than some 5 star hotels!!!...i love the bryani the best...esp home cooked gotong royong style...damned shiok!...and i always give a bigger hongbao![]()
very true. went to one at st regis...just an ordinary couple. poor parents got to support ....sweat and stress !!!
No need to go through such stress if one cannot afford a hotel one. At least $20,000 plus in one night quite silly if one do not have the means in doing so.
I gonna attend a friend's son's wedding this week. He is a good friend so planning a fat angpow. Should I just leave it with the reception or hand it personally to the groom or to his father (my freind)? Which is the correct custom?
Since the amount is quite large, is it ok to issue a cheque instead of cash in the angpow? Tks
A good reason for hotels to make good profits. It seems guests are now paying for couples to get married.
There is no such thing as 'market rates'. It's all up to you: how much you are willing and able to give, how close you are to the newlyweds and how good you perceive the food and ambiance to be.
Sinkies who expect to break even or even make a profit from collecting ang pow money are just plain delusional.
A man who cannot even afford $20k for what is supposed to be the night of his life - a woman should think twice about marrying him.
Who do you want to benefit from the Ang Pow? In your shoes I will give the Ang Pow to the friend and leave it to him to decide whether to give it to his son.
A couple marry because of genuine love for each other not because of how many wedding tables that man can afford to book for his wedding dinner, you materialistic PAP whore!!!!..:oIo::oIo:
It is well known that many couples aim to make a profit from their wedding. I hope that during their divorce, they will be just as concerned about finances. I'm not trying to be mean-spirited. Those who treat a lifelong commitment as a profit making venture don't deserve respect.
Bro
Don't be so mean spirited lah. Nobody forces you to attend any wedding dinner. If you buay song don't attend lor.
![]()
Is this rate per head or per ang pow? The married couple should not expect their guests to subsidize their wedding reception. If they opt for the poshiest venue, then they had better have the money to pay for it.
Maybe it is time that guests bring gifts instead of ang pow to change the culture of expectations.