• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Amy Cheong Nows Makes Worldwide Headlines

PTADER

Expletives-laden marriage guidance gets Singapore union exec fired

9 October 2012

Reuters News

(c) 2012 Reuters Limited

SINGAPORE, Oct 9 (Reuters) - An ethnic Chinese Singapore trade union executive was sacked after she posted expletives-laden comments about Malay weddings on Facebook, remarks so offensive they prompted the prime minister and other politicians to complain.

Amy Cheong, until Monday an assistant director at the National Trades Unions Congress, had asked how many (expletive)

days did Malay weddings go on for at the foot of public housing blocks.

"(Expletive)!!!! Pay for a real wedding u (expletive), maybe then the divorce rate wont be so high! How can society allow ppl to get married for 50 bucks?"

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said on Facebook he was shocked to hear of the outrage, illustrating how racial tension remains a key concern in the city-state.

"The comments were just wrong and totally unacceptable," he said.

Law Minister K. Shanmugam agreed. "Her comments reflect a deep seated racist attitude coupled with contempt for those who are less well off, or who wish to spend less," he said on his Facebook page. "There are deep fault lines in our society, based on race/religion."

The National Trades Unions Congress is an umbrella trade union affiliated to the ruling People's Action Party and is headed by Lim Swee Say, a minister without portfolio in the Cabinet.

Lim announced Cheong's sacking on Monday.

Ethnic Chinese make up about three-quarters of Singapore's resident population, with Malays making up another 13 percent and Indians 9 percent. A large number of foreigners also live or work in the city-state.

Some Singaporeans felt Cheong's dismissal was rather harsh.

"Although we cannot take her action lightly, we also cannot over-punish her," Noor Mohamed Marican, a legal adviser and council member of Singapore's Inter-Religious Organisation, told the New Paper.

"Forty plus years of multi-racial policy has not removed deep racial/religious fault lines. One reason they fester in our hearts is because we do not talk about them, for fear of saying the wrong thing and inviting a heavy-handed response," Bill Dungya wrote on Law Minister Shanmugam's Facebook page.

PTADER

Singapore Union Group Sacks Executive After Racist Post

8 October 2012

The Jakarta Globe

Copyright 2012. PT Jakarta Globe Media.

Singapore’s state-linked labor movement on Monday sacked a senior executive after she posted expletive-laden and racially charged comments on Facebook that caused outrage in the city-state.

Amy Cheong, an ethnic Chinese assistant director of membership at the National Trades Union Congress (NTUC), was sacked one day after posting remarks on the social networking site about the country’s Malay minority.

NTUC Secretary-General Lim Swee Say, who holds the rank of minister in the office of Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong, announced the sacking on the organization’s Facebook page, which was bombarded with complaints about Cheong.

“We will not accept and have zero tolerance towards any words used or actions taken by our staff that are racially offensive," Lim said.

“We are sorry that this has happened," he added.

Cheong’s Facebook page could not be accessed on Monday after her remarks caused a furor in Singapore’s Internet community, but an apology she wrote on microblogging site Twitter was still visible after she was fired.

“I am truly sorry for making that stupid comment. I really didn’t mean it that way. I am truly sorry," she said.

In her Facebook rant, Cheong commented on the length of Malay wedding celebrations and derided the community’s divorce rates.

Multi-ethnic Singapore, which suffered racial riots in the 1960s and is surrounded by larger Muslim neighbors Indonesia and Malaysia, takes a hard line against acts stoking racial and religious hatred.

Singapore’s population is 74 percent ethnic Chinese, 13 percent Muslim Malay and nine percent Indian, with the rest made up of other immigrant groups.

Seditious acts including fostering racial hatred are punishable by a fine of up to 5,000 Singapore dollars ($3,854) or imprisonment of up to three years, or both.

Last year a member of the ruling People’s Action Party (PAP) was forced to quit after describing local Muslim children photographed in a school bus as terrorists in training.

The NTUC works closely with the government and is seen as a training ground for future PAP politicians.

Agence France-Presse

myo539

I also agree its much ado over nothing. Race remarks are all over the net and in everyday life even among Muslims towards others.....Without different views and criticisms in society, we can never progress.

But some so-called moderators here may not like your comments and suka suka start to issue infractions!

PTADER

Tsk, tsk, don't people ever learn?

11 October 2012

New Straits Times

(c) 2012 New Straits Times Press (Malaysia) Berhad.

IT'S mind-boggling how humans persist in doing something, even when they have been reminded repeatedly that doing so might land them in trouble.

Despite an array of articles and Youtube videos on what not to do on Facebook, Twitter and other social media platforms, many stubbornly continue to do what they are not supposed to - anger, offend or, worse, share photos of their cats in various states of repose every few hours.

All these compelled a judge in Liverpool to declare last month: "Messages left on Facebook are the cause of an increasing number of violent crimes because people post comments they would not make in person."

Judge Nigel Gilmour of the Liverpool Crown Court raised his concerns after hearing the case of 17-year-old Daniel Cannon, who used "his teeth as a weapon" and bit off part of his friend's ear following an altercation on Facebook.

Across the Causeway, an assistant director with the National Trades Union Congress was fired earlier this week for posting a racist comment on her personal Facebook page. Amy Cheong had ranted over the duration of Malay weddings at void decks - a space for community-mingling and various functions under apartment blocks in Singapore. She told them "to pay for a real wedding", and said that "maybe then the divorce rate won't be so high".

It is perplexing why some are capable of putting something so offensive online but Cheong is just one of many who have succeeded, and spectacularly so, in putting both their feet in their mouths on social media.

A restaurant worker in California was also fired recently after she put this up on Facebook: "Next time you tip me $5 on a $138 bill, don't even bother coming in 'cos I'll spit in your food."

A group of seven doctors and nurses in a UK hospital's busy accident and emergency unit got into hot water when they posted photos of themselves planking or lying face down with their arms by their side, on resuscitation trollies, ward floors and even the hospital's helicopter pad.

The bizarre stunt was a worldwide hit, but their bosses were not as amused.

Back home, a 25-year-old university student was arrested last month for posting derogatory comments about Prophet Muhammad and Islam on Facebook.

All these cases underscore the urgent need for the people to be reminded, once again, about the dos and don'ts of social networking.

According to The Social Skinny, a social media news site:

DON'T set your Facebook posts to "public";

DON'T say anything about your colleagues or boss or workplace unless it's so utterly ridiculously clearly positive that there is no chance it could be misconstrued as sarcastic, negative or offensive;

DO not be racist or prejudiced in any way;

THINK before checking in to the cineplex, shopping mall or spa during working hours;

DO not like Facebook pages that conflict with your company's values or beliefs.

According to Randi Zuckerberg - the sister of Mark - offensive posts would also include bragging about your accomplishments, taking pictures of food, and posting about your cats. That would, however, make 90 per cent of what's on Facebook offensive.

Also on her list: posting cheesy motivational posters, and depressing messages about being tired, sick or stuck in traffic.

There are so many written and unwritten rules on social media etiquette, so why the continued inflammatory and wantonly offensive posts?

In the aforementioned Liverpool case, Cannon's lawyer offered an explanation: "People seem to see what is going on on Facebook as a different form of reality than what is going on in a personal exchange".

It is not. What's said on the site, in fact, packs a bigger wallop to the gut as it is said not to you alone, but to a larger audience, comprising friends, acquaintances, colleagues, toxic "frenemies" and the in-laws.

You can set your privacy settings to maximum security levels, but nothing posted online is, or will stay, truly private or within your circle of friends for long if it is interesting or controversial enough.

That said though, if everyone adhered to the "rules of engagement", the social media landscape would be as interesting as pickled cabbage is to a tiger. It would be deathly dull, with everyone talking only about sleep-inducing topics such as the weather and football.

watchman8

Super news! Now Singapore will be more attractive to non-Chinese for its strong stance against any form of racism. I bet there is a long queue of Malay talents forming at Singapore's embassy in Malaysia, all wanting to apply for Singapore PR.

THE_CHANSTER

"Amy Cheong Nows Makes Worldwide Headlines?"

I am monitoring the press in the U.S and U.K and I can assure you that no-one gives a shit.

Tsk, tsk, don't people ever learn?

Yalah, posting personal comments on Facebook and Twitter is so silly. There are already many examples of people getting fired because of it in Yankeeland. Some people never learn. :rolleyes:

myo539

......Amy Cheong's case has piqued the interest of Australian media, The Star in Malaysia and even Britain's BBC News......

It is understandable these two countries are interested in the story because Amy is a product of Malaysia, and Australian education must have greatly influenced her as well.

Amy could have a deep-seated hatred for the bumiputra policy in Malaysia that led her to Singapore to spend sometime of her childhood here. And Australia is not exactly angelic where racism is concerned - she could have been deeply influenced by that racist politician Pauline Hanson. Her early education here for racial tolerance and ethnic harmony could have been undone by her education and residence in Australia.

The government should work harder to ensure that foreigners are able to adapt and integrate into the local culture before issuing them PR status. Foreigners wanting to work and live here should also be mindful of local sensitivity. Good thing she has now fled to Australia to seek refuge. It takes the poison out of the sting.

It is understandable these two countries are interested in the story because Amy is a product of Malaysia, and Australian education must have greatly influenced her as well.

She is not racist lah, just lonely (unmarried) and wants attention (tweet). SDU should match make her with fine specimens such as yourself!

myo539

Super news! Now Singapore will be more attractive to non-Chinese for its strong stance against any form of racism. I bet there is a long queue of Malay talents forming at Singapore's embassy in Malaysia, all wanting to apply for Singapore PR.

Why would Malaysian Malay enjoying bumiputra status and "affirmative action" privileges want to apply for Singapore PR? Without a doubt, Singapore is a good place to make money - even politicians invest in high-end condos, shops and enterprises - and use Singapore as their quick getaway playground.

In fact it is the Singaporeans who are now migrating to Iskandar - though not so willing to give up their Singaporean citizenship. Malaysian talents who migrate here more permanently are mainly Chinese and Indians.

Kohliantye

How on earth did Ah Mee (possibly her Malaysian name before she became Amy) got a high-ranking job as a PR in Singapore' NTUC?

Singaporeans ask yourselves, "Is there any Singaporean employed in a similar position or a much lower one in Malaysia's MTUC"?

Are there no Singaporean-born worthy of holding her position in a government-run and controlled NTUC?

Why did NTUC employ her in the first place.?

Could it be that the NTUC was gearing her up as a future PAP MP?

Many Malaysians are employed in Singapore as super highly-paid positions as MPs and Ministers?

There could also be Malaysian-born and other foreigners holding the ranks of Generals and other top positions in Singapore.

Is there really a dearth of local talents in Singapore?

The NTUC and PAP government, in particular has much to explain to Singaporeans.

Agoraphobic

this global publicity is really wagging the dog's tail....i feel damned ashamed.

Were you proud when the government banned chewing gum and the citizens of Peesai willingly let it be? Most people in the world heard it although they do not know where Sg was when the law was enacted.

Anyway, this Amy Cheong, the rest of the world could care less. Only here in Peesai where it is a big convesational topic. FYI.

Agoraphobic

Is there really a dearth of local talents in Singapore?

The NTUC and PAP government, in particular has much to explain to Singaporeans.

There is talent and capable people everywhere. In Sg, just look at how people are treated when they speak out loud, about something truthful. From examples such as this, most people would rather zip their mouths.

Name the countries where such racial vilification "will be laughed away" and that "racism would actually involve bodily harm and the threat of one's life".

Young brainless clown. Don't spout rubbish.

It would make sense if you would exggerrate a small comment on FB as racial vilification. I can give you examples. If she was in the US and posted that nothing much would have happened to her. Over there they would consider taking action when racism involved bodily harm or the threat of a person's life. That is if amy actually threatened to kill a malay person for example or threatened to hurt a malay person because she despised malays.

It's also the same for malaysia. No malay person would be fired for posting something on chinese on a FB page.

Also mind you amy was annoyed and angry and ppl always say things they don't mean when they are angry.

You are the asshole for trying to blow a small matter out of proportion. You are the one spouting rubbish.

We are lucky the focus is on Amy and not the comments made by her boss on her dismissal. What would world leaders think of us having a Bo Portfolio Minister making THAT comment? I bet easier decisions he made would include his decision to urinate before shitting, shitting before urinating, performing both at the same time, what colour shirt to wear to please Pinky, what to have for breakfast, who to lunch with, what time to check his own CPF account, when to go on leave etc.

M

Mdm Tang

can bros share :

a) Amy Cheong monthly salary ?

b) Amy 's immediate boss ?

c) who okay her employment ?

d) is she allow to write a book
after the sack ?

e) the timing of her post to co incide with
PM visit to Aust ?

Tension68

Face it, she got sacked cos her comments exposed to all SG that NTUC hired a foreigner to a high post there.
After being identified from FB, ppl sure will dig further.. it's a cover-up la.
But i tink hor.. too late liao.. cos everyone now noes she worked there for a year or so liao.
NTUC hired foreigner when it could haf hired a SG local.. and when govt was criticizing SG locals for being "xenophobic" and not welcoming to the foreigners.. a foreigner inside the ONLY trade union made such remarks about malays in SG.

They had to get rid of her.. damage minimization.

congo9

Amy could have a deep-seated hatred for the bumiputra policy in Malaysia that led her to Singapore to spend sometime of her childhood here. And Australia is not exactly angelic where racism is concerned - she could have been deeply influenced by that racist politician Pauline Hanson. Her early education here for racial tolerance and ethnic harmony could have been undone by her education and residence in Australia.

It is an open secret that Chinese in Malaysia has deep hatred for BUMIPUTRA policy. They speak openly about it. But nothing is being done.