Minister Shanmugan intervenes to help HDB uncle ....

Law and Foreign Affairs Minister K. Shanmugam has intervened in the dispute between neighbours that might see a dying man have to part with his two dogs.

Mr Shanmugam visited the man, Mr Tan Cheng Chu, 63, on Friday and put up a picture (right) on his Facebook page of him with Mr Tan and the two schnauzers.

The Minister said he has spoken with Dr Maliki Osman, the MP for the area and asked if the MP might mediate in the dispute between the neighbours. The volunteer group Save Our Street Dogs is also willing to help in the discussions.

The aim is to get Mr Tan’s neighbour to withdraw the complaint. HDB rules state that each flat owner is allowed to keep only one dog. Those who have more than one often do so illegally but fly under the radar as long as there are no complaints.

“HDB is bound by its rules, though, given the circumstances, HDB has not enforced the rules for more than a year, despite the consistent complaints. HDB is, of course, in a very difficult position,” wrote Mr Shanmugam.

Mr Shanmugam said that when he visited Mr Tan and the dogs Silver and Rover, the thought that kept going through his mind was: “What sort of person will complain about Mr Tan keeping the dogs in such a situation? The dogs were friendly, adorable, and obedient.”

He added that this was the type of situation many MPs came across.

“There are many rules on how various activities have to be conducted. But such rules cannot foresee every situation.

“And, depending on the situation, sometimes there has to be discretion exercised on how the rules should actually be applied. But frequently we will get one or two residents who will insist that the rules be enforced strictly, though the vast majority are ok with the situation.”

yes, we have to exercise some discretion, some exception, some compassion and kindness in our execution of the law. thank you.

535986_442456112467591_1609232407_n.jpg

K Shanmugam Sc
Liked · 2 hours ago

Today I visited Mr Tan Cheng Chu, the gentleman whose plight has been circulating around the Internet on a video - he has a terminal illness and his main companions are his two dogs. Ms Beulah from SOSD ( Save Our Street Dogs) as well Louis Ng, from Acres, were also there. The problem is that a neighbour has been complaining to the HDB about the dogs. As a result of the complaints, HDB was left with no choice but to enforce the rules - which meant Mr Tan has been asked to give up one of his two dogs, since the HDB rules allow only one dog to be kept in a HDB flat. Listening to Mr Tan, and playing with his dogs, one thought kept going through my mind again and again - what sort of person will complain about Mr Tan keeping the dogs in such a situation ? The dogs were friendly, adorable, and obedient. The neighbour apparently could not stand the sound of scratching and the dogs playing with a ball. A bit of compassion and sympathy will go a long way but some amongst us can only think of ourselves, and can't even consider the wishes of Mr Tan, who is very ill. I told Mr Tan that I will speak with his MP, Dr Maliki Osman, so that Dr Maliki can take up the matter with HDB and the complainant. HDB is bound by its rules, though, given the circumstances, HDB has not enforced the rules for more than a year, despite the consistent complaints. HDB is, of course, in a very difficult position. I have spoken with Dr Maliki and asked him if Dr Maliki can approach the complainant and mediate, to see if the complainant can withdraw his objections. SOSD is willing to help mediate in the dispute as well. Hopefully we will get a sensible outcome. This is a situation which many MPs come across frequently. There are many rules on how various activities have to be conducted. But such rules cannot foresee every situation. And, depending on the situation, sometimes there has to be discretion exercised on how the rules should actually be applied. But frequently we will get one or two residents who will insist that the rules be enforced strictly, though the vast majority are ok with the situation. Often the complainers will be behaving unreasonably - but strictly speaking , they will be entitled to complain, and they will do so, repeatedly.
(Picture by Shin Min Daily)

A bit of compassion and sympathy will go a long way but some amongst us can only think of ourselves

They should tell that to themselves.

A bit of compassion and sympathy will go a long way but some amongst us can only think of ourselves

They should tell that to themselves.

LEEpards will never change their spots... faded a bit ye!... the fangs will appear when one is not noticing!

That ah neh trying to score political points from the public ? The best is allowed Home owner to have freedom to keep anything in their flat . Knn home owner got no freedom in his own flat ?

Knn HDB so kaypo for what ? It's just a dispute ..should ask the neighbour to settle it among themselves . Not happy then find a lawyer and take him to court .. Confirm he diam diam because must pay lawyer fees .

Because of the many rules of HDB,Law and Foreign Affairs Minister K. Shanmugam & other MPs are kept busy,but I agree that it is not really necessary if they make the rules more flexible,and MPs get involved only when serious disagreement occur,This is PRODUCTIVITY!

they are trying very hard to be grounded....so give them all a chance lah. national conversations on leh....

It's good to express you views and opinions and post your comments. I am sure the government is listening.

“What sort of person will complain about Mr Tan keeping the dogs in such a situation? The dogs were friendly, adorable, and obedient.”

See, Sham is of course right in saying that the one who complained has no grace, no heart, no compassion.

Sure, it must be cruel to also complain about some people who felt entitled to get 2 eggs for his char kwey teow if he had done a lot for the country, and we begrudged him that. Surely the law can also be bent?

Maybe it's also alright to receive blow jobs on the job etc.

We have to decide if we want to rule by law or not. Why Woffles was treated differently?

i hope this will set the stage for a more reconciliatory stand on everything for the benefit of singaporeans...a good start.

Maybe we can also ask Mr Tan to keep only one dog when his neighbour is at home, and two when he is not. I know this is not Indian curry, but ....

i believe once we made our feelings heard, something will be done. i also believe the neighbours also realise that they should be more tolerant ....and HDB should also exercise more discretion.....good for everyone.

if this reconciliatory attitude is adopted, singapore will definitely be a good place for everyone, including the new citizens. no need to be so confrontational and adversarial in our interactions and eexchanges.

I think those poor guys up there are doing a helluva tough job making such decisions everyday, so we should really be more tolerant and discretionary and give them more peanuts..

We should also try to be considerate and agree more with the PAP because of the poor GE performance in 2011. It's not easy being the govt.

We should also be more reconciliatory and less adversarial to foreigners as they are trying their best to keep jobs that Singaporeans wont and cant do. After all, they do have a life you know.

i believe once we made our feelings heard, something will be done. i also believe the neighbours also realise that they should be more tolerant ....and HDB should also exercise more discretion.....good for everyone.

if this reconciliatory attitude is adopted, singapore will definitely be a good place for everyone, including the new citizens. no need to be so confrontational and adversarial in our interactions and eexchanges.