• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ICA staff's refusal to check faulty machine costs S'porean, 86, time, money and stres

[h=1]ICA staff's refusal to check faulty machine costs S'porean, 86, time, money and stress[/h]

IT WAS supposed to be the start of a joyous journey for my father-in-law to celebrate his 86th birthday, but it was nearly aborted before it could begin.

Accompanied by his wife and two relatives from Britain, he arrived at the Singapore immigration checkpoint at Woodlands on Sept 1, a Saturday, to catch the 8.45am train to Taiping in Malaysia, where more than 20 relatives waited to join him on a cruise from Penang to Thailand.
Alas, a passport scanner machine "swallowed" his Singapore passport when he slotted it in.

Although he articulated his predicament to the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority (ICA) officers clearly, they insisted that the scanner could not have retained the passport.

They searched my father-in-law and his luggage three times, ruining the zip of his bag in the process. They also searched his wife and the person behind them in the queue.

The train was held up and Malaysian immigration and railway officials came to the scene.

The closed-circuit television video was then checked, but did not show anyone taking the passport.

My father-in-law was advised by an ICA officer to visit its headquarters in Kallang Road, which could issue a new passport to him in five hours.
But she had no answers when it was pointed out that as it was a Saturday, the office closed at 1pm.

Meanwhile, the train had departed, leaving my father-in-law behind.

As he kept insisting that the scanner be checked, an immigration officer finally shone a torch into the slot - and saw the missing passport.

The vendor for the machine was summoned and the passport was returned to my father-in-law, who had to rush to Beach Road to buy a bus ticket to Taiping.

The ICA refused to reimburse him for his wasted train ticket or his damaged bag.

Fortunately, he arrived in Taiping in time to meet his relatives, and they had a lovely cruise together.

The ICA should impress on its front-line staff that no machine is infallible, and train them to handle situations where a machine fails, so that no one else need suffer the kind of treatment and anxiety my father-in-law did.

Mickey Chiang

Re: ICA staff's refusal to check faulty machine costs S'porean, 86, time, money and s

PAP MO also like that, never their fault but somebody elses'!

Re: ICA staff's refusal to check faulty machine costs S'porean, 86, time, money and s

fuck up PAP

Anyone want to guess which race is that ICA officer?

ZD3K0.jpg

Jia Liao bee.

Corrupt govt. Inefficient bureaucracy. Inept officials. Fucked up attitude.

My father-in-law was advised by an ICA officer to visit its headquarters in Kallang Road, which could issue a new passport to him in five hours.
But she had no answers when it was pointed out that as it was a Saturday, the office closed at 1pm.

Minimum wage, brain-dead public sector employees who regurgitate memorized responses.

aiyah, the torchlight keechiu borrow to play usher lah.............................

i used to think such tales only told by those who visited 3rd world countries.......

ughhh how did the scanner makan his passport??? :confused:

This scanner the thumbprint scan also always cock up one.......knn must be someone makan money and gotten inferior machines

not makan lah, stuck........... never swallowed or digested, kum only...................... :D

... As he kept insisting that the scanner be checked, an immigration officer finally shone a torch into the slot - and saw the missing passport.

The vendor for the machine was summoned and the passport was returned to my father-in-law, who had to rush to Beach Road to buy a bus ticket to Taiping.

The ICA refused to reimburse him for his wasted train ticket or his damaged bag. ...
u saw ur own paspot went in n never came out ... he shud haf demanded ze immigration officer 2 cheq ze slot immediately ...

soo ica la! ...

not makan lah, stuck........... never swallowed or digested, kum only...................... :D

if kum only the ICA staff also goondu........just push another passport in lah and see can go in or not........cb still must shine torchlight?!?!?!
gong cheebyes!

the tee koh pek sent a dirty sms to the scanner in advance si bo?

'When you want to take me?' :D

if kum only the ICA staff also goondu........just push another passport in lah and see can go in or not........cb still must shine torchlight?!?!?!
gong cheebyes!

aiyah, at that time, they dunno it's makan or kum, scared the other passport also kenna makan or kum..................:D
they gcb because they never shine torchlight earlier and instead check peoples' bags instead.

the tee koh pek sent a dirty sms to the scanner in advance si bo?

'When you want to take me?' :D

according to yahoo news, it's "When you wanna take me?" :D

For this one I agree with ICA. Passport scanner no way can eat the passport.
His son in law is also really stupid. Take a look at the machine how the machine swallow passport.
Anyone use the ICA machine in checkpoint/custom/airport will understand no way.

1. probably, the scanner in question is made in china hoh!
2. scan, check & eat loh.