• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Waiter In A Foodcourt

Saw this recently in a foodcourt.
A family of 5 sat down at a table. Daughter in her early 20s or late teens (not chio), middle aged parents, grandparents probably in their
70s. Daughter was fiddling with her phone, mother was talking to grandparents. Father took everyone's "order", went to the first stall, ordered, waited, and carried the food back. Repeated the steps at the same stall, then went to other stalls to repeat the same thing, until everyone including himself was served.

Can understand him serving his parents or parents-in-law, since they are elderly. Cannot understand why the wife (who looked perfectly healthy and well) and the daughter could not buy and carry their own food.

Perhaps the man was being a filial son, loving husband and supportive father.
My view is that there are some things u would expect the father or the "man of the house" to do for his family members, but being a waiter in a foodcourt to his whole family is not one of them.

that why i dun like to go food court, pay more than hawker centre yet must self service. Now even hawkers also doing the same stunt, that why i now also dun like hawker centre too. i rather pay more to eat at a venue that come with a waiter / waitress as i can afford it. look like tha only cheap place to eat is kopitiam.

A family of 5 sat down at a table. Daughter in her early 20s or late teens (not chio), middle aged parents, grandparents probably in their
70s. Daughter was fiddling with her phone, mother was talking to grandparents. Father took everyone's "order", went to the first stall, ordered, waited, and carried the food back. Repeated the steps at the same stall, then went to other stalls to repeat the same thing, until everyone including himself was served.

Can understand him serving his parents or parents-in-law, since they are elderly. Cannot understand why the wife (who looked perfectly healthy and well) and the daughter could not buy and carry their own food.

My view is that there are some things u would expect the father or the "man of the house" to do for his family members, but being a waiter in a foodcourt to his whole family is not one of them.

It's a common secenario seeing Sinkie men doing aLL the errands, whiLe the Queen & Princess just sit pretty and
bochap..worse part is, if somehow the order goes wrong; waLau Sinkie men kena requeue yet again ! :eek:

Wah, other ppl business you so kaypoh and concern?

What if Sinkie kenna screwed left and right by the Imperial Court rules and it impact upon their survival leh?

You pretend, if the issue does not impact you so directly, to appear 'bo chap?

Hehehe. I will do the same. Enjoy watching the cook prepare the food. If lucky, maybe have a Chiobus in the queue. :p

that why i dun like to go food court, pay more than hawker centre yet must self service. Now even hawkers also doing the same stunt, that why i now also dun like hawker centre too. i rather pay more to eat at a venue that come with a waiter / waitress as i can afford it. look like tha only cheap place to eat is kopitiam.
Guessed you are missing out on what jw5 wanted to get across..

It's a common secenario seeing Sinkie men doing aLL the errands, whiLe the Queen & Princess just sit pretty and
bochap..worse part is, if somehow the order goes wrong; waLau Sinkie men kena requeue yet again ! :eek:

sometime the men can only blame themselves. if small children maybe lah but already a teenager then no excuse for not buying own food. some dun even know how to order. really shake head.

parent shd not pamper the kids until like that. my boy now 7yo, i make sure he know how to order if not, he can sit there watch me eat.

i know i know.... it just that i hate self service very much so that post must come out first.:p
Okie i read your earLier post.My take is, how many famiLies can afford to pay for that preveLige ?..not many.

most kopitaim stalls still not self service so eat there lah. want to eat in aircon then carry the tray yourself.

pay more yet carry food tray your self is the smartest innovation biz owners ever come up with.

a angmo breakfast set in McD or Wendy how much? $6-8 rite? go eat at those husband and wife operate cafe at hdb shop also around that price. so not all food establishments that had a waitress mean more expensive.

sometime the men can only blame themselves. if small children maybe lah but already a teenager then no excuse for not buying own food. some dun even know how to order. really shake head.

parent shd not pamper the kids until like that. my boy now 7yo, i make sure he know how to order if not, he can sit there watch me eat.

TaLk about pampering your kids..knn, which is why we have so many spoiLt brats around.Some 10-12yo's stiLL
being spoon-fed by maids..:eek:.i have even seen one mother bLowing the soup coLd in h/c and feeding her son who's donning his NS no.4 uniforms ..reaLLy jiaLat man.ME no eYe see.:(

TaLk about pampering your kids..knn, which is why we have so many spoiLt brats around.Some 10-12yo's stiLL
being spoon-fed by maids..:eek:.i have even seen one mother bLowing the soup coLd in h/c and feeding her son who's donning his NS no.4 uniforms ..reaLLy jiaLat man.ME no eYe see.:(

same thing, parents overdid the pamering nonsense. i put my foot down on this, i want my kid to be independent. so on surface, i am one uncaring father in public. i wont feed him and i jolly well wont carry his school bag, he had to do all by himself. I dun want my kid to have a lousy childhood as mine but i want him to be as independent as me when i was at his age. my wife call me a cold blooded lao pek but i believe i am doing the right thing.

you will be surprise ...alot of henpeck singaporean man will do that ..they also become their wife driver ;)

KNN what's wrong with self-service? Bloody sinkie :rolleyes:

I still rem an incident. a father and a 10yo daughter eating. half way thur her meal, she's done and dumps her food. then decides to climb over daddy and sit/hug him like a koala bear. he continues to eat with her sitting on him and her meal is unfinished. really spoilt.