• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Posting Stats in this forum since the Delphi forum shutdown.

August 03, 2008 107posts
August 04, 2008 71posts
August 05, 2008 197posts
August 06, 2008 743posts
August 07, 2008 598posts
August 08, 2008 584posts
August 09, 2008 540posts
August 10, 2008 819posts
August 11, 2008 1029posts

Another 500 per day and it will be averaging roughly the same participation level as Delphi minus all the bullshit from juveniles. :biggrin:

BTW.. unlike the clone forums, the host only contributed 5% of the posts rather than 95%.:p

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Statistic looks good!

In general, there are 3 groups of people that will still be avoiding this forum.

1. Die hard fan of Delphi ( which have an excellant feature of topic on the left )
2. Extremely cautious sinkie ( probably like to see how the wind is blowing before coming over)
3. Those that detest your infration system ( spamers, troublemakers, racist etc.. )

Statistic looks good!

In

It's interesting to compare with Delphi before it closed shop. Remember that these included all those "Hope Lau Gheko die faster" and "PAP go eat shit" spam.

<table border="0" cellpadding="2" cellspacing="0" width="468"><tbody><tr><td class="sechead"> Day</td> <td class="sechead">Messages Posted</td> <td class="sechead" valign="top">Visits</td> <td class="sechead">New Members</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">08/12/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">0</td> <td class="sec" align="center">213</td> <td class="sec" align="center">0</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">08/11/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">0</td> <td class="sec" align="center">2894</td> <td class="sec" align="center">5</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">08/10/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">0</td> <td class="sec" align="center">2740</td> <td class="sec" align="center">3</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">08/09/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">0</td> <td class="sec" align="center">3139</td> <td class="sec" align="center">3</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">08/08/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">0</td> <td class="sec" align="center">3921</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">08/07/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">0</td> <td class="sec" align="center">5647</td> <td class="sec" align="center">3</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">08/06/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1</td> <td class="sec" align="center">7373</td> <td class="sec" align="center">9</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">08/05/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1228</td> <td class="sec" align="center">9742</td> <td class="sec" align="center">8</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">08/04/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1395</td> <td class="sec" align="center">10230</td> <td class="sec" align="center">4</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">08/03/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">960</td> <td class="sec" align="center">8507</td> <td class="sec" align="center">6</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">08/02/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">912</td> <td class="sec" align="center">7379</td> <td class="sec" align="center">4</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">08/01/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1189</td> <td class="sec" align="center">8955</td> <td class="sec" align="center">2</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">07/31/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1246</td> <td class="sec" align="center">10183</td> <td class="sec" align="center">5</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">07/30/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1325</td> <td class="sec" align="center">10716</td> <td class="sec" align="center">9</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">07/29/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1303</td> <td class="sec" align="center">10731</td> <td class="sec" align="center">10</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">07/28/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1594</td> <td class="sec" align="center">10523</td> <td class="sec" align="center">11</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">07/27/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1046</td> <td class="sec" align="center">8866</td> <td class="sec" align="center">6</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">07/26/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">916</td> <td class="sec" align="center">7679</td> <td class="sec" align="center">7</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">07/25/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1164</td> <td class="sec" align="center">9316</td> <td class="sec" align="center">5</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">07/24/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1031</td> <td class="sec" align="center">9660</td> <td class="sec" align="center">7</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">07/23/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1191</td> <td class="sec" align="center">10122</td> <td class="sec" align="center">10</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">07/22/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1171</td> <td class="sec" align="center">10781</td> <td class="sec" align="center">7</td></tr> <tr><td class="sec" align="center">07/21/2008</td> <td class="sec" align="center">1241</td> <td class="sec" align="center">10861</td> <td class="sec" align="center">8</td></tr></tbody></table>

3. Those that detest your infration system ( spamers, troublemakers, racist etc.. )

That's great news. It shows that the system is doing it's job.

Thank you Leongsam for forcing us to take the bitter pill.

Enuff of all these statistics...whatever...

I'll update the info periodically. If I can regularly get half of what the sex forum gets, I'll be very happy. :smile:

<table class="tborder" id="cpform_table" align="center" border="0" cellpadding="4" cellspacing="0" width="90%"><tbody><tr><td class="alt1" width="0">August 05, 2008</td> <td class="alt1" nowrap="nowrap" width="100%">
</td> <td class="alt1" nowrap="nowrap" width="0%">2910</td></tr> <tr><td class="alt2" width="0">August 06, 2008</td> <td class="alt2" nowrap="nowrap" width="100%">
</td> <td class="alt2" nowrap="nowrap" width="0%">2838</td></tr> <tr><td class="alt1" width="0">August 07, 2008</td> <td class="alt1" nowrap="nowrap" width="100%">
</td> <td class="alt1" nowrap="nowrap" width="0%">2875</td></tr> <tr><td class="alt2" width="0">August 08, 2008</td> <td class="alt2" nowrap="nowrap" width="100%">
</td> <td class="alt2" nowrap="nowrap" width="0%">2230</td></tr> <tr><td class="alt1" width="0">August 09, 2008</td> <td class="alt1" nowrap="nowrap" width="100%">
</td> <td class="alt1" nowrap="nowrap" width="0%">2517</td></tr> <tr><td class="alt2" width="0">August 10, 2008</td> <td class="alt2" nowrap="nowrap" width="100%">
</td> <td class="alt2" nowrap="nowrap" width="0%">2468</td></tr> <tr><td class="alt1" width="0">August 11, 2008</td> <td class="alt1" nowrap="nowrap" width="100%">
</td> <td class="alt1" nowrap="nowrap" width="0%">2927</td></tr></tbody></table>

annexa

Thank you for putting the sanity back Sam.

I don't care about those idiotic PAP GO EAT SHIT spams, it was the racist bastards on all sides that got me really pissed.

Another 500 per day and it will be averaging roughly the same participation level as Delphi minus all the bullshit from juveniles. :biggrin:

The truth is that you forcefully envict people out of their home, without eviction notice.

not unlike commie kicking people out of their home to build for olympic and gave no compensation, beating the victims and arresting them.

you are a communist.

The truth is that you forcefully envict people out of their home, without eviction notice.

not unlike commie kicking people out of their home to build for olympic and gave no compensation, beating the victims and arresting them.

you are a communist.

All the abuse and hatred towards me over this move stems from one fundamental difference in perception between myself and guys like you!:o

You and many others seem to think that the Delphi forum belonged to YOU while I rightfully believe that it belonged to ME. If this is not the case, please explain how on earth MY forum can end up being deemed to be public property. I have never received a land acquisition notice from anyone and even if I did, I think I would deserve my day in court before my real estate was forcefully placed into public hands with no compensation. Sounds like something that Robert Mugabe would do. (and LKY of course):biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

If I charged for registration for lifetime membership, then there might be some validity to the objection as there could be grounds for a breach of contract over the lease. However, everyone came in for FREE and not a single soul in the last 7 years ever offered to help pay for the forum overheads.

The bottom line is I did not I didn't evict anyone from their homes. I simply locked up MY home and willed it to the old buildings preservation board.:wink: You can bring your children and grand children there one day I hope and show them the sort of posts that Daddy/Grandpa used to make.

My home no longer served my purpose. I wanted a better home so I moved here and I have paid cash too. No 30 year mortgage and no CPF money used. I believe that's a democratic right in a free country.:biggrin:

I then invited everyone to my new home. I know that there are those of you who are not familiar with my new home layout. However, in a couple of weeks, everyone should know exactly where the toilet is, the kitchen, the guest room the entertainment room.

However, instead of showing some basic courtesy when receiving an invitation to visit, I end up with torrents of abuse!!!??? What kind of people are you.:wink:

My guests then come to my home and start giving everyone the address of THEIR home in the same crummy Delphi quarters. I graciously allow them to post their addresses here (except for one guy who is a conman).

However, I made ONE post offering help in one of the clone forums and I was accused of ADVERTISING and my post got deleted.:rolleyes: Why someone who owns a site with huge traffic would need to advertise in an unknown forum that will never be indexed in a thousand years is another story altogether.

If I felt your post was a troll to get a response from me, I'd feel there was some hope for sinkies. However, if you're expressing your true feelings, I'm simply flabbergasted.:eek: I can't believe that Singapore is home to such a crass selection of people.

Someone tell me it isn't true.

PS : This new forum has renewed my interest in writing long cock and bull stories to share my wisdom. In the old forum, I simply couldn't be bothered anymore. :p

clinton69

August 03, 2008 107posts
August 04, 2008 71posts
August 05, 2008 197posts
August 06, 2008 743posts
August 07, 2008 598posts
August 08, 2008 584posts
August 09, 2008 540posts
August 10, 2008 819posts
August 11, 2008 1029posts

BTW.. unlike the clone forums, the host only contributed 5% of the posts rather than 95%.:p

Congratulations ! Your Stats is impressive.

I dun know about delphiforum is a house belong to you. But you sure have the keys to open or lock the house. It is a public CC room, where you have the key. True that you have spend your own money to rent that public room. We did not help to pay. You also never ask us to foot part of the bill. Not that we will pay, but you did not ask as well.

I think this new forum with vbseo and Friendly Coffee Shop Talk. We talk NICELY to each other here please. :smile: No nasty and abusive posts thingy.

means that you want to open the house to wider audience , so you have to get rid of those nasty posts in the old house. This is so it will not get you in trouble in future.

The main reason is money. I think you want to get some money from this forum, rather than spending money on the aldephi forum.

so basically money is the reason, not because this forum interface is better. Also the old forums are full of nasty posts, which will gave you problem if you open to wider audience with vbseo. I will miss saying nasty things in the old forum. Sob. RIP old coffeeshop. We miss you.

I dun know about delphiforum is a house belong to you. But you sure have the keys to open or lock the house. It is a public CC room, where you have the key. True that you have spend your own money to rent that public room. We did not help to pay. You also never ask us to foot part of the bill. Not that we will pay, but you did not ask as well.

The main reason is money. I think you want to get some money from this forum, rather than spending money on the aldephi forum.

That's where we differ. I don't consider any of my forums to be "public" whatsoever. It may be OPEN TO THE PUBLIC but just like a departmental store or a pub or lounge, the owner reserves the right to close the business, eject trouble makers or close shop for renovations or repair. He does not need to get permission from the public to do as he pleases with his property.

Running a forum can make money and one can also lose a pile. At the other forum, if I don't make $x amount every month, I lose my pants. Hosting charges plus bandwidth plus additional charges for extra hardware come up to many thousands of dollars a month. In the first two years of operation, I lost more than USD10,000 running the place. Everybody logged on for the info... OKTs went there to make money but nobody wanted to pay a cent for their free adverts in my forum. They made the money. I had to carry the costs.

I don't ask anyone to share the risk. It's all mine to bear. The more the traffic and the larger the database, the more expensive running this place will be. So far, I only have one sponsor and the traffic charges are low. When there are 300,000 posts and 50,000 members, it will be a totally different story. If I don't get new sponsors, I'm losing money. If I do get sufficient sponsors, I'll more or less break even. If I get a ton of sponsors, I'll make a good profit. That's what free enterprise is all about. Why the fact that I could make some money upsets so many is beyond me. I guess it's the famous Singapore red-eye syndrome rearing it's ugly head.

Anyone else can do the same as me. Just go to http://www.hostican.com and tell them you want to set up a vbulletin forum. They'll take care of you. I hold no monopoly in forum hosting.

Lestat

I simply cannot understand why people are so worked up when it comes to switching to another forum to read and participate. I guess it's the sinkiee mentality. Don't fix it when it's not broken. :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Seriously, people should just get used to the fact that changes are bound to occur. What's with being comfortable at one place where it's like home and not wanting to change? You are just sticking to the past, and not willing to move forward to the future changes. Reminds me of a certain LKY :p

In all forums, traffic is king. the more traffic you get, the more potential advertisers you will attract. The opportunity to earn is there, why not? This is call the entrepreneur spirit. Don't be red eyed, set up one yourself if you want!

What's wrong with collecting running cost, and hopefully, make a bit of profit? :cool:

. I guess it's the famous Singapore red-eye syndrome rearing it's ugly head.

Anyone else can do the same as me. Just go to http://www.hostican.com and tell them you want to set up a vbulletin forum. They'll take care of you. I hold no monopoly in forum hosting.
I don't think its the red-eye syndrome. As a country Singaporeans have been told what to do from start to the end. They can't function without timeframes, rules and deadlines. Though you had discussion on changing sites nearly a year ago, got feedback, warned the folks on the move, gave the opportunity to try the new site a couple of weeks ago, the date and time of the eviction notice however was not stated. It was a shock to the system. The ROD date was not given. I too was taken aback.

Thats like not providing the ballotting date for the hdb flat. Ever heard of polyclinic, hospital closed, bus service stopped, NTUC not opened etc.

Years ago, had a colleague who bought a resale flat, renovated it close to 150K with fine furnishings. I asked him why he did not buy a freehold condo. He said he did not know how and did not know what lawyer to use. He nearly fell down when I told him that the conservancy charges and parking combined was cheaper in many condos. He was shocked. They were even more surprised to learn that one did not need 20% downpayment.

The very next day, I wrote to all my staff and told them to see me if they needed any advice on purchasing private properties. Believe me, till today, many send me cards to thank me for opening their eyes. I even had to help out their friends and relatives.

well, i wish you made a ton of bucks with this new forum. I sincerely hope you recoupe what you lost from years of hosting and make some money to support your dogs and family.

I just miss a place where i can say nasty things, truth, but not PC, without getting myself booted out for telling the truth.

some said, you always paid a price for telling the truth.

The ROD date was not given. I too was taken aback.

I'm sure the answer is obvious. I had to invest more than USD800 to get this place going a month ago. It's on a dedicated server.

The money had to paid up front and the host then got to work configuring stuff, adding memory, faster hard drives and installing software. This forum cannot run on a USD6.95 per month hosting account. :wink: It's almost 100 times that amount per month.

The day the forum closed, you saw how all the vultures came in here and tried to redirect everyone to their own little kingdoms where they are the BOSS! It's an ego thing. Everyone wants admin controls. It gives them a sense of power in cyberspace which they probably don't have in the real world. :p When I went to say hi in one of the new forums, I was abused roundly and my post deleted.:biggrin: It probably gave the host an orgasm being able to delete SAMMYBOY'S message for the first time in his life. Childish? You be the judge. Have I ever behaved that way? You tell me. :biggrin:

Had I given a month's notice, there would have been mayhem in the forum with every mother's son setting up their own delphi forum and soliciting traffic. Nothing productive would be posted for a whole month. The whole forum would be full of nothing but clone forum announcements and a shitload of people cursing me and my parents.:biggrin: It's not that the cursing bothers me. I'm used to it. However, at the end of the month, the chances of this forum getting off the ground would be diminished somewhat. How much?... I will never know. I was simply hedging my bets which is what anyone who has just placed a big wager on something which could lose a ton of money would do.

I make no apologies for that whatsoever. I have invested a lot of money to get this place going and will be spending even more money over the next year or so if traffic gets heavier. I owe it to myself to retain as much of my traffic as possible in order to maximise the chance of success and getting a return on my investment..not making money at the moment mind you... it's about just getting back what I have already put in.

Ignorant people pop in and say... fucked up forum.. lousy interface but if you look on the internet, vbulletin has 90% of the market and there are so many hacks and add ons that I could spend a lifetime fiddling with the software.

Some idiots came and said... so few posts... fucked up content but this is a forum for goodnesss sake. It's a blank canvas to be painted by members.

The Delphi forum started with 20 posts a day. Nobody told me it was fucked up back in 1999. They said... thanks for effort. Much appreciated. Why the current lot of members are so rude is beyond me. Upbringing? govt influence? too used to ordering maids around they think they are emperors? I really don't know. It saddens me in many ways but there is nothing I can do to change things so I simply concentrate on fiddling with forums plus my other hobbies. It keeps me happy and content. :biggrin:

i thought you already told the folks the new forum was up and running as early as July? :confused:

Yeah but the dedicated server wasn't ready then. It was running on a VPS on a temporary basis and could only handle a small amount of traffic. I put it up so I could work on the graphics, the skins and the configuration.

No mention was made then of the intention to shut Delphi down. I kept it quiet for reasons I have already explained plus the fact that the dedicated server had not even been delivered at the time.

I'm sure the answer is obvious.
The day the forum closed, you saw how all the vultures came in here and tried to redirect everyone to their own little kingdoms where they are the BOSS!
Had I given a month's notice, there would have been mayhem in the forum with every mother's son setting up their own delphi forum and soliciting traffic.
No worries, I figured that out Bro. Always looked for a rationale behind an action and as you correctly pointed out in your first sentence, it was obvious.

Would have done exactly the same.