• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The Quality of Hor fun sucks in Singapore nowadays!

RWSSLOTS

When i was young, Hor fun ingredients was fresh. Fresh prawns, nice fish slices, and fresh pork. I pay only $2 or $2.50. The kway teow also has wok hei.

Nowadays, no matter which chechar store i go too, the quality sucks despite paying $4 to $5 bucks for it. Prawns are frozen prawns - taste horigible! No more slice fish? Instead u get chowchor fishcake slices, and the pork is frozen pork. Also a few strands of lousy vege!

My god, what has happened to all the good Horfun i use to have?

Who is to blame for such bad standards ?

Price increase but quality decrease!

Guess this is new Singapore...quite sad ...

Fork out another 5 bucks should get you a nice plate of hor fun in a decent Canto restaurant with wok hei....

... My god, what has happened to all the good Horfun i use to have? ...
b happy wif wat u can haf now ... it can oni get worser ...

look @ ur pigeon hole ... now iz a shoebox ...

look @ ur trains ... now u r happy if u can get a smooth ride ...

The coffeeshop downstairs changed the fish slices to fish cake slices, but charged 50c more. Vowed never to return... what a ripoff..

Be realistic...times have changed.
Singapore is a global city and not a kampong.
Frozen Pork, Frozen prawns are part and parcel for urban living.
If you want fish slices, just pay more for it.

b happy wif wat u can haf now ... it can oni get worser ...
but 1 ting wun get worser ...

if u join ah loon n his jingang, ur pay n bonus can oni get betterer n betterer ...

Let me get the ball rolling hor fun recommendations. Bee Kia "restaurant", Tze char stall in a coffeeshop directly opposite thomson medical center, beside the petrol station. Good old-fashioned hor fun with "wok hei" and the prawn paste chicken is very good...

I also like "san lao" hor fun... pls recommend lei..

Let me get the ball rolling hor fun recommendations. Bee Kia "restaurant", Tze char stall in a coffeeshop directly opposite thomson medical center, beside the petrol station. Good old-fashioned hor fun with "wok hei" and the prawn paste chicken is very good...

I also like "san lao" hor fun... pls recommend lei..

Bee Kia quality has gone down. I use to love the Beef Horfun there...but the quality has also dropped.

how about the famous beef hor fun coffee shop on Geylang Lorong 6 or 8?

I remember not too bad...

Tats equally bad...too much tenderiser used and the beef taste artificial...too oily too...really nnot nice...dun waste your money

THE_CHANSTER said:

Lorong 9. Ok lah. Don't seem to have a lot of wok hei, though.

Not only the hor fun standard drop others too,,,,fried rice used to have char siew now no more liao :(

I guess the rental costs have killed this dish....sigh...

I am sure other dishes will suffer the same fate in due course as Landlords wants more money!

I went to hougang for rally last night.
Rain so ran to kopitiam took shelter.
Saw a branch of 香港街珍记 there so ordered their signature 三捞河粉。
Knn the dish taste nothing like what I used to have.
Took a 2nd look the stall was 香港街珍宝记 not 香港街珍记.
Knn blatant imitation.

All precock now. Before Malaysian cock now mostly PRC cock or young Malaysian all bohchap type.

nowadays frozen pork liao, who is gonna use fresh pork so ex?
yes, one thing i hate most is the use of fish cake and some even worse, use crab stick.

last time hor fun got liver, mussel - now all gone. Some years back, i tried hor fun at Fatty Weng around Geylang - it has liver, i was so happy.

Dunno whether still have or not.

1. honest, sheep's hor fun is just no match to hk.
2. it cannot even come close to the kl standard.
3. no eye see!