• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Who still withdraw below $50 at ATM?

Citibank is another bank i know, stock up on 50 dollar notes - because its cheaper for them to dispense 50 dollar notes vs 10 dollar - considering the qty of the notes that they have to stock & maintain.

Firmly believe that DBS / POSB doing this in terms of cost consideration.

the reason of more customer withdrawing 50 dollar is crap. Like this, you are forced to withdraw 50 / 100 / 150.;..if your account suay suay got 40 and you need 20 to take taxi ...u r fucked.

Citibank ATM machines use to dispense $100 & $50 notes. In Jarkarta they have atm machines which will dispense 50,000 or 100,000 notes.
Now that they are now going after the "lesser mortal" market, their ATM machines are dispensing smaller denominations.

ATMs are getting inconvenient & even dangerous with the skimming problem, Nowadays I keep a tin with some cash for day to day use and only go to the ATM to withdraw enough cash to refill my tin can.

I'm surprise my suck cock buddy Erections2011 never come into this thread to complain that the minimum withdrawal of $50 is killing him as he only had $49.90 in his POSB account.

It's possible to spend $20 a day

Breakfast: 2 cups plain water + teh + a bread =$2.

Lunch: Chicken rice or mix rice $3. Plain water again( healthy lifestyle)

Dinner: wife cook at home. FOC for me because wife buys the groceries

So total I spend about $5 on food everyday, still save $15 a day, that's is $75 on a 5 days work week.

The $75 i save goes to my ECA fund :D
you eat the same thing day in day out?
again, you do it because you need to save $15 per day or you really enjoy your $3 plate of rice everyday?
if price increase further you jialat liao......$15 also cannot save up.
with swiss standard of living.....dun you ever visit restaurants?
$75 bucks for weekly ECA, dun you wish to go for cat $150 daily?
Dun you want to save more for your retirement and kids future?
i am not telling you to live beyond your means.....but dun you think you deserve better in the 2nd most richest nation in the world?
sinkies have been domesticated to think life is already 'good'....no need for improvement.

my bad.. but at least UOB ATM still have option unlike POSB/DBS minimium is $50.

i dont understand why sporean love POSB/DBS so much. Long Q in branches, long Q at ATMs, long Q at cash deposit machines, sporeans like Q'ing so much meh?

That's why i smile and walk off when my friends complain about long queues at POSB atms. They could have deposited some money into a UOB account and have the option to use a UOB atm. By the way, UOB and OCBC atms are connected. You can use OCBC atm to draw money from your UOB account.

NETS to pay taxi attract 10% surcharge i think

and half the time, the stupid taxi driver say he dunno how to operate the fucking NETS thingy.
yes overseas we tip the cab drivers.......here we need to inconvenience ourselves to siam 10% of taxi fare surcharge......sinkies are really squeezed.
most sinkies are only surviving or getting by......few are living life.........

50,000 rupiah is only less than SIN$10, more like $7 to $8. So the SIN$50 minimum is like 250,000+ rupiah.

I heard the reason the Indonesian authorities want to keep those small notes(1,000, 2,000,...) in circulation is to prevent price escalation.

Bro, I totally agree with you as regards the reasons behind the small notes like 1000, 2000 and 5000...

Just an illustration as to what a "micro-van driver or bas-kota (the familiar small blue van) can get out of 50,000 rupiahs (about $7/-)
Breakfast comprising of teh and kueh-kueh (in a road-side warong) - 7000 rupiahs
A packet of Surya Gudang Garam Pack of 16 12000 rupiahs. (cigs can be bought at 500 rupiah per stick)
Lunch (sambal, kangkong and fish and free drinking water) 11000 rupiahs.
Dinner (sambal, kangkong, curry nangka and ayam kampung - 13000 rupiahs.
Total: 43,000 rupiahs
Balance: 7,000 rupiahs
After this you can go to an internet cafe and spent that 7,000 rupiahs surfing the net for 3 hours and then sleep.

Rental of Bas Kota 120000 rupiahs (shared by two on 10 hrs shift each)
Petrol (so bloody hilariously cheap) 4500 rupiahs per litre.
Passengers pay a miserable 2500 rupiahs each for travel (maybe Lui Tuck Yew should learn from these Indons)
A driver earns about 400,000 rupiahs per day.
Minus 120000 rps rental and 50,000 rps petrol he still has a balance of 230,000 rps. ( about Singapore $35/-)
Isn;t that a goodlife then what we get in this First-World Nation where trains break down often.

ah... you guys misunderstand .. it's not because I am trying to save money that it's costing that low..
but because that's usually the price that it costs...

$2.50 breakfast: go to any kopitiam or neighbourhood coffeeshop: kopi + kaya toast + 2 eggs is $2.50, or 2 prata kosong + kopi is about $2.60 + or wanton mee + kopi is about $3.50

I try to stay away from soft drinks - so I usually drink water; I bring a water bottle when I go for lunch - the food is usually $3.50 to $4.00 max. In fact, where I work in Ubi, the usually plate of rice with 3-4 dishes rarely go above $3.50.

So .. I hardly spend beyond $10 a day on daily meals ... and that only when once in a while some colleagues decide to drive to some mall to eat in a restaurant.

Only weekends, when going out with family do the costs balloon, but hardly on weekdays. Not deliberately trying to cut down on costs - but these are the prices I encounter.

your bank must have lots of money ...

kekekeke i tah boleh tahan obedient sinkies who suffer in silence to prove the pappies right....instead of making things right and better for themselves.

sinkies getting by with 1.5K per month when those in power pocket 10K per day......

i am not communist and dun begrudge anyone who have the ability to make big bucks....but those white buggers are making millions at our expense!

yes..save so much end of the day goes to goverment ...

I'm surprise my suck cock buddy Erections2011 never come into this thread to complain that the minimum withdrawal of $50 is killing him as he only had $49.90 in his POSB account.

It's possible to spend $20 a day

Breakfast: 2 cups plain water + teh + a bread =$2.

Lunch: Chicken rice or mix rice $3. Plain water again( healthy lifestyle)

Dinner: wife cook at home. FOC for me because wife buys the groceries

So total I spend about $5 on food everyday, still save $15 a day, that's is $75 on a 5 days work week.

The $75 i save goes to my ECA fund :D

bro..you joking right ?

There are some atms which even have have a minimum withdrawal limit of $200.
One day the limit may become $2000.

how can that be ? you save until like that still got credit debts ?

Long story.... but debts come from poor investments prior to present circumstances... but not unmanageable... just paying off in due course... but that's beside the point - which is that day to day living is not unmanageable (for some people) with 10-20bucks. Thus, when one is forced to only withdraw in denoms of $50, it's not always convenient to everyone. Of course, if there are multiple machines about - reserving one or two for such withdrawals make sense, similar to a faster queue at a supermarket. But if there's only 1 machine about - and forcing anyone who wants to withdraw money in 50s, is not inclusive to those who can't afford big bills.

you eat the same thing day in day out?
again, you do it because you need to save $15 per day or you really enjoy your $3 plate of rice everyday?
if price increase further you jialat liao......$15 also cannot save up.
with swiss standard of living.....dun you ever visit restaurants?
$75 bucks for weekly ECA, dun you wish to go for cat $150 daily?
Dun you want to save more for your retirement and kids future?
i am not telling you to live beyond your means.....but dun you think you deserve better in the 2nd most richest nation in the world?
sinkies have been domesticated to think life is already 'good'....no need for improvement.

Im actually not very fussy with what I eat. Mix rice $3, chicken or duck rice, $3, noodle $3. Like I mentioned, Im not fussy. I also dont buy your argument that living in a 2nd richest country means I have to live like a 2nd richest citizen. I do go for the argument that "You earn more, so you have to spend more" If I earn $10k a month, I swill still spend like what I am spending now.

$20 where got eniff? ... tho can oso la, but very dam inconvenient lor! ... if lidat, evry alternate day gotta visit atm ... dam leceh! ...

me usu take $40, $90, $130 ...

u go ur downstairs kopitiam drink kopi-o, u pay wif $50 note? ... dat fella tel u no small change ...

Ya experience this before.Give $50 notes to the Kopi uncle and kana scolding by him!!!WTF!!!

bro..you joking right ?

Not joking leh. Its serious. Thats why I often said Im very fortunate to marry a good wife. Im by nature quite a good saver and I was really glad that my wife can save even more than me. But still, we remember to pamper ourselves by going for holidays and buying something ncie for each other now and then. But then again, this thread is about everyday living expenses...