• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Who still withdraw below $50 at ATM?

Why dispense only $50 notes?

By Benson Ang
The New Paper
Sunday, Apr 15, 2012

When he wanted to withdraw less than $50 from an ATM, he couldn't.

Why? Because the POSB ATM had been reconfigured to dispense only $50 notes.

Furniture consultant Shah Pakri, 40, was so upset with the change that he wrote a letter to The Straits Times forum last month about the issue.

It turns out that particular ATM was among some 275 which were reconfigured to dispense only $50 notes since last October.

Mr Pakri, who lives in Geylang Serai, told The New Paper that since the change, he can no longer withdraw money from two POSB ATMs located in Joo Chiat Complex.

He now has to travel to another ATM located at Eunos Road 5, which is about 300m away. This ATM dispenses $10 and $50 notes.

Mr Pakri said: "I usually withdraw only $20. I don't want to withdraw more as I'll be tempted to spend it."

He hoped DBS would go back to allowing ATMs to dispense notes in both denominations.

POSB was incorporated into DBS Bank in 1998.

Mr Pakri said: "It's ironic that POSB, which is supposed to be the people's bank, is inconveniencing low-income earners."

He is not alone.

Another customer, housewife Florence Siah, 65, said she has never used the "$50-only" machines as she needs small change for buying groceries.

"I always use the old ATMs. But I now have to queue longer for them."

A DBS spokesman confirmed the move and said it was made to increase the effectiveness and convenience for the majority of its customers.

The spokesman explained that the ATMs were reconfigured because of the withdrawal patterns of its customers.

It was observed that more customers were withdrawing larger amounts at ATMs in certain areas, like in the Central Business District (CBD), she said.

The spokesman said: "We've noticed that with this change, these machines have experience less 'out of cash' scenarios, thus reducing customers' inconveniences."

TNP understands that each ATM has a fixed number of cartridges which can hold dollar notes within the machine. This means that ATMs which do not dispense $10 notes can hold more $50 notes, and are less likely to run out of them.

Shorter queues

The DBS spokesman said that the bank was constantly reviewing the usage of its self-service machines to increase their effectiveness and convenience.

The spokesman added that the minimum withdrawal of $20 is still available at most of its ATMs, especially those located in the HDB areas.

Some other customers were happy with the change.

Safety co-ordinator Francis Teo, 44, felt the new configuration helped shorten the waiting time for customers who wanted to withdraw large amounts.

He said: "The queues for such machines tend to be shorter."

Driver Aidil Sahar, 27, agreed.

He said: "I don't mind the new configuration. Anyway, there are so many POSB ATMs around, it's easy to find another one."

Some of the newly-configured ATMs are located in the CBD, like in the DBS Building Tower One and the 313@Somerset shopping centre.

Others are further from town, like in the VivoCity shopping centre and Joo Chiat Complex.

Mr Zaqy Mohamad, a Member of Parliament (MP), who sits on the Government Parliamentary Committee for Finance, Trade and Industry, said that while he could understand the motives behind the move, he was concerned that some of the "$50-only" ATMs were located in heartland areas like Geylang Serai.

The MP for Chua Chu Kang GRC noted that Joo Chiat Complex is frequented by many heartlanders, including residents from low-income families.

He said: "If ATMs there only disperse $50, then these customers will not appreciate this. "After all, they need small change to buy things from coffee shops and tidbit shops in the area."

He felt customers unhappy with the move should provide feedback to DBS about their needs.

"The bank might also like to survey the customer attitudes in those locations to gauge the response to these machines," he said.

DBS has over 1,500 self-service machines - including 1,100 ATMs - around the island.In comparison, UOB and OCBC each have over 600 ATMs here.

Most UOB ATMs dispense a mixture of $10, $50 and $100 bills, said a UOB spokesman.

But TNP understands that some UOB ATMs, like those located at the two Integrated Resorts (IRs), dispense only $100 bills.

This is likely because large amounts have been withdrawn from these ATMs at the IRs, TNP understands.

All OCBC ATMs disperse both $10 and $50 notes, said its head of e-business, Mr Pranav Seth.

This article was first published in The New Paper.

can withdraw $2 anot ? i also worry i overspend . my buget is $2 per day .

Sometimes I do.

If the ATM can't dispense $10 notes, that's the bank's problem. Don't blame the customer.

I use the ATM to get $10 notes. I will withdraw four $10 notes five times, getting 20 $10 notes in total.

DBS convenience always first, customers' needs not important.

1. aiyoh!
2. you should try its cheque deposit machine too.
3. first, you need to print the cheque bearer name & account no on the back of the said cheque.
4. tick continue on the screen.
5. key-in the same account number & confirm it.
6. insert the cheque/s into the slot accordingly to the pic on the screen (max 10 cheques).
7. next, the machine shall prompt you to key-in the respective amount of each cheque that will be photoshopped on to the screen; one cheque at a time & confirm it!
8. the machine shall print the receipt.
9. honest, very damn stupid procedure.
10. the fastest way: deposit all cheques into its quick-cheque deposit box, right!
11. however, at some branches or auto outlets, the damn cheque deposit machine is only available.
12. yes, it really piss me off! wasting time!

1. aiyoh!
2. you should try its cheque deposit machine too.
3. first, you need to print the cheque bearer name & account no on the back of the said cheque.
4. tick continue on the screen.
5. key-in the same account number & confirm it.
6. insert the cheque/s into the slot accordingly to the pic on the screen (max 10 cheques).
7. next, the machine shall prompt you to key-in the respective amount of each cheque that will be photoshopped on to the screen; one cheque at a time & confirm it!
8. the machine shall print the receipt.
9. honest, very damn stupid procedure.
10. the fastest way: deposit all cheques into its quick-cheque deposit box, right!
11. however, at some branches or auto outlets, the damn cheque deposit machine is only available.
12. yes, it really piss me off! wasting time!

yes, I experienced this once... my god.... wtf happened to the quick cheque deposit box??? What idiot scholar came up with this cheque deposit machine???? I mean, after going into all the trouble to deposit a cheque thru the machine, if at least the money gets credited immediately, it would still be bearable... but no.. not DBS.... they think of the best ways to inconvenience customers - Champion!.

I don't want $50 note lar. So troublesome. Want to give pocket money to my children also needs small change mah...

Also hor? Nowadays those damn machines accept coins also must charge...bank tellers are so lazy to count coins and push you to pay charges inordered to make them accept my coins......What to do? :rolleyes:

actually is good la. cut down the queues. now many queue to top up phone card, mrt card, whatever card.....pay bills, subscribe shares knn neverending queue. ATM should just be cash dispenser.
likewise for cash deposit, ban those who deposit $10 notes....wasting time of others.

yes, I experienced this once... my god.... wtf happened to the quick cheque deposit box??? What idiot scholar came up with this cheque deposit machine???? I mean, after going into all the trouble to deposit a cheque thru the machine, if at least the money gets credited immediately, it would still be bearable... but no.. not DBS.... they think of the best ways to inconvenience customers - Champion!.

1. bro, the damn clearing day is no different too.
2. furthermore, some of its machines also break down too.
3. honest, i kena thrice at the eunos mrt stn.
4. yes, i literally kicked the damn machine knowing that there was some cctv.

$20 is only my breakfast and lunch leh. How you live thru dinner? No tea break?

i also surprise ...maybe he bring lunchbox to work ?

ha? you all spend so much for makan a day?

hmm... let me see... breakfast $2.50, lunch $4, dinner eat at home... at the most need to spend $6-10 a day only leh... that's why I only need to withdraw about $40-60 in cash a week to survive.. rest pay by credit card, and settle by internet banking.

breakfast $2.50 can eat what? one bowl porridge already $3.....no need drink?

lunch $4 eat what? A bowl of noodles in hawker center? even foodcourt hard to find for that price full meh?

what about drinks ? your $2.50 included drinks ? your lunch $4 including drinks ? it always good to have extra cash with you all the time just in case you needed it .

breakfast $2.50 can eat what? one bowl porridge already $3.....no need drink?

lunch $4 eat what? A bowl of noodles in hawker center? even foodcourt hard to find for that price full meh?

why you always post faster then me ? another thread about the lanjiao chop you also post faster then me . ;)

Then one month u save how much? Got at least $5k?

brother life is short ...dont be too hard on yourself ...we only live once .