• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Government cuts healthcare subsidies for PRs

MIW will surely ask later, "Happy boh?"

SINGAPORE - The Government announced today through a press release that the healthcare subsidies for Permanent Residents are to be reduced, starting from the third quarter of this year.

The Ministry of Health said that the changes mean that most PRs will soon enjoy only about half the subsidies citizens enjoy.

This is to draw a further distinction in the privileges offered to citizens as compared to PRs.

The adjustments will apply to inpatient services of Class B2 and C wards, day surgery and specialist outpatient clinics in restructured hospitals, and intermediate and long-term care services.

For example, a patient of an average monthly income of $3,200 and below staying in a Class C ward can currently receive a subsidy rate of 60 per cent.

Under the changes, the subsidy rate will be reduced to 55 per cent. The subsidy rate for citizens is 80 per cent.

PRs in the same income band staying under a Class B2 ward will see decrease of subsidy rates from 45 per cent to 40 per cent.

For day surgery, the subsidy rate for PRs is to be lowered to 40 per cent, down from 45 per cent.

For specialised outpatient clinics, the subsidy rate for PRs will be lowered to 25 per cent, down from 30 per cent.

The ministry said that the subsidy adjustments are different for lower income PRs, as it is mindful of the impact of the changes.

The changes in restructured hospitals will be implemented in two phases, one in October this year and the next in April 2013, while that for the intermediate and long-term care sector will see the changes implemented in the third quarter of 2012.

Other changes include the lowering of subsidies for PRs for Community Hospitals and Residential Services and the fixing of subsidy rates of citizens for these services at 75 per cent.

This fixed subsidy rate will kick in from the third quarter of the year.

[email protected]

Not really. PRs pissed, locals half pleased. This benefits no one

bro,
sedikit sedikit lama lama jadi bukit... this could well be the right steps taken in correcting their flawed policies in the past.

I beg to differ brother. If you notice, its only a 5% cut in most area. 5%. They are trying to masturbate us only.

bro,
sedikit sedikit lama lama jadi bukit... this could well be the right steps taken in correcting their flawed policies in the past.

hell will freeze over first before they finish correcting all of their flawed policies.

All these cuts will channel to help sinkies or not? Or become $$$ for staff salary increase...

bro,

戏中有戏, 不可轻敌
狼治天下, 岂能绵仁

I beg to differ brother. If you notice, its only a 5% cut in most area. 5%. They are trying to masturbate us only.

the bulk of our PRs has always been our relatives up north, me thought that adjusting the figures too much too quickily would strain relationships :(:(:(

i don't think thats true for now, in the past probably.

most of the PRs now are AT, Pinoy and ABNN.

It used to be but not anymore, there are many others like PRC, Pinoys, etc.

Those rich PR dun give a shit cos they are going private doctors or A class patient.

1. yes, the cut in subsidy for pr is sup sup sui man!
2. kosong impact.

I think I have to agree with Jlokta on his view. The bulk of PR now comes from Pinoys, PRCs and Indians and not Malaysian. I visit 3 companies a day to talk to their staffs and each time, I always like to ask who are the locals, the PRs, the FTs. Next time you should follow me brother :D

1. yes, the cut in subsidy for pr is sup sup sui man!
2. kosong impact.

Thats why I say they are masturbating us. But I wont be surprise that many Singaporeans will buy the idea. Most Singaporeans are brain dead.

1. honest, in this instance.
2. i would fully agreed with tonny' bashing on sinkies being daft & ball-less.

this 5% adjustment wouldn't make the PRC PRs convert to our Citizenship, would it?

I wouldn't if i were them either, as i said never trust PAP. This is but one of their tricks, seen one seen them all. I expect you to be wiser than this bro

Next time you should follow me brother :D

me do not have the exact figures, but as me move around in my daily commute, me reckoned that the Malaysian PRs constitute about 60%, PRC PRs about 30%, Pinoy and Indian PRs about 5% each.

Assuming I agree with your asessment brother, then why don't our northern neighbours convert to Citizenship but instead cling on to the PRs to leech on our welfare, when the time is up, withdraw all their CPF, sell their flats and go back to mudland and start a small business? If this is the case, why should we care if the slash in benefits hurt them?

Some Malaysians are not PR, they come in to work then return home at the end of the day.