• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

27-year-old Singaporean security officer earning $1400 hesitant to get married

MarrickG

Transitioning.Org [Blog]

Dear Sir,

My name is Abdullah, 27 years old and currently working as a security officer earning around $1400. Before this, I was working as a Restaurant Manager in a F & B outlet.

I’ve been working in the F & B industry since I’m 16 years old. My first job is a part timer working in Long John Silver’s – I was promoted to Floor Manager and then to Assistant Manager.

I have to stall my career due to N.S. Upon leaving N.S, I rejoined the company and worked for a long while before deciding to further my education.

I took up Diploma In Hotel Management, thinking that it was a good prospect to go into. But halfway through my course, I have to drop out due to financial reasons.

My father who was my main sponsor for the course got retrenched and was jobless.

I managed to get an interview with Secret Recipe and work with them for a good year before office politics took over and I was then replaced by a foreigner…

So began my journey looking into for jobs in all the wrong places. For the very first time, I experienced difficulty in searching for work even in the F & B industry which many Singaporeans shun. Now it is flooded with foreigners…

On one occasion that I went for an interview with ‘Starbucks’, I was dismayed that I was competing for a “trainee manager” job with many foreign talents who have degrees and masters to offer.

I remembered vividly how the interviewing officer retorted: “Give me one good reason to employ you - a local – who demands $2000 basic pay when I have loads of foreigners with masters and degrees wanting the same job for less?”

My reply was simply this: ” I have loads of experience in running an operation on a day to day basis. If my pay is really an issue, it can still be negotiated. I chose $2100 because its the median pay, as given by MOM. I don’t mind working for a few hundred dollars less BUT it must be reasonable.”

To which he replied that the foreigners too have experience overseas – which is much better than local experience. And again he stressed, for a person with that kind of qualification, asking the same pay as a local worker, dollar for dollar its much better in value. This sadly happened to many of the job interviews that I went to.

I was then job hunting for nearly a year without any success so I went to the CDC pleading for help. The best they could offer is recommending me jobs such as security officer, cleaning supervisor and general worker.

Beggars can’t be choosers I guess, so I decided to join the security industry. Thinking that this is good prospect and at that point of time the government was “professionalising” the industry, I decided to give it a go.

To my dismay, the basic salary is very low – only $600+ for some companies, but after adding in allowances and overtime, it reaches the very most at $1400.

You are talking about working 12 hours daily on a 6-day basis from 10am – 11pm and you can’t get pass beyond $1400 a month. Sometimes, I have to volunteer for 24-hour work shift so that I could earn enough to pay for all my bills!

And the “professionalising” that was so hyped about was only the implementation of a “SIRD” licence card - the low wagse and long working hours have not changed much. I worked for 2 security companies to date and was unhappy with the work conditions.

I cant see myself working like this till I grow old and weary.

I believe I’m still young and still have a lot to offer. I’m interested in info-comm. I even sourced around for upgrading courses that I can keep improving myself.

And as you know, private education is oh so very expensive. But Mendaki gave me a ray of hope.

They say that I can apply for their subsidy, provided I’m employed for 3 months prior to the course. It’s impossible for me to further my education with the kind of job that I have, because the courses mostly start at 7pm, and most of the time, at 7pm I’m still at work.

With that in mind, I tried looking for a 9-5 job with a minimum salary of $1400 as stipulated by the terms and conditions given by Mendaki Sense.

Here’s where I’m stuck - I can’t seem to find any employers that is willing to take me in as I don’t have any working experience in info-com.

I’m really really at a loss for what to do – I’m planning to get married in a couple of years’ time, but I can’t allow myself to have any long term commitments when my bread and butter issue is still very unstable.

Please sir, I really really don’t know what to do. I’m at my wits end. Any advice/coaching pertaining to this matter will be very much appreciated.

Abdullah

soIsee

This cock head still can't figure out becos he is a MAT, that is why most employers discrimate him ( despite what his Pappy gov is saying otherwise) and with FTs flooding in, even his own father cannot find a proper job, let alone him!

aangsc

I don't see any problem whether he is Abdullah or Ah Beng . So regardless of his race , it is so sad to read this happening in singapore.
It make me wonder, why is our 'vip servant' welcoming so willingly for outsiders to rob us of our rice bowl and education. If that is really a servant , he/she should be sack. Anyway, those foreign talents are over-qualified for the post, why do you need a degree holder, let alone master one to run a fast food chain.

mollusk

This cock head still can't figure out becos he is a MAT, that is why most employers discrimate him ( despite what his Pappy gov is saying otherwise) and with FTs flooding in, even his own father cannot find a proper job, let alone him!

not only mat lah..every singaporean are suffering because of the influx of asshole foreigners with their dubious education.

r
It make me wonder, why is our 'vip servant' welcoming so willingly for outsiders to rob us of our rice bowl and education. If that is really a servant , he/she will should be sack.

Obviously because they can get away with it & still make millions.
The result of the recent GE shows that they can still get away it.:eek:

$1400 how to get married ? even having a gf is a burden to him ...fucking singapore goverment still got the cheeks to tell ppl to have kids .

aangsc

$1400 how to get married ? even having a gf is a burden to him ...fucking singapore goverment still asking ppl to have kids .

That is where they FAILED.
They FAILED to understand the sort of problem citizen are face with daily when you are making only enough to survive.
They FAILED to understand the problem of birth rate is more than just giving incentive.
They FAILED to understand the pressure kids are subjected to these day.
They FAILED to understand that a good education these days does not always equate to a job in future, let alone career, this is especially true in Singapore.
Soon even the MAT will stop producing kids if they end up like this case.

mollusk

$1400 how to get married ? even having a gf is a burden to him ...fucking singapore goverment still got the cheeks to tell ppl to have kids .

and their solution is to bring in more ah neh , pinoy and prc to boost the populations...

aangsc

and their solution is to bring in more ah neh , pinoy and prc to boost the populations...

If the problem is so easy to solve, how about asking politician from first world countries to run our country at a fraction of cost but is that the solution ? There are many more capable men around the world who is more than willing to run SG-MNC. Perhaps , they should go back to basic, why do get voted in ?

basically if you are not with PAP , you have no future in singapore, so tell your kids to join PAP.

lianbeng

lianbeng wonders how to get married with only $1400? dowry, wedding dinner, honeymoon, etc... enuf meh?:confused:
low dignity leh. :(

cooleo

lianbeng wonders how to get married with only $1400? dowry, wedding dinner, honeymoon, etc... enuf meh?:confused:
low dignity leh. :(

Aiyo $1,400 just go subscribe monthly porn account and wank alone for the rest of his life is easier la.

The Philistine

Get married for fuck? If 'sway sway' produce children then everybody also hon gan lah. Parents cannot make ends meet children got no $ for school and when they grow up it'll be the same vicious cycle except they have to support themselves and their folks. Jibye fucking constantly recurring cycle.

Just fuck can already. Just remember to take precautions.

blackreplica

Seriously, I can sympathise with him. From what he has written, he does not in any way come across as those type of malay guys who bum around and freeload. He appears quite driven, and has taken many steps to better himself, albeit unsuccessfully. He even does something very uncharacteristic of his community: he worries about sorting out his life and finances before committing to a family life. Plus he writes reasonably well.

If i were a boss in the F & B industry, i'd probably hire him. Hopefully things work out for him in the end. Seriously, if we ejected those useless FTs, he would probably land a decent 1.8K F & B job. And everyone would be happier for it

instead of focusing and helping local to boost the population ..they chose to import more FT ....why not be straight forward and tell ppl they want to help big businessman cut their labour cost so that those businessman will pay more taxs !!!

Semaj2357

Seriously, I can sympathise with him. From what he has written, he does not in any way come across as those type of malay guys who bum around and freeload. He appears quite driven, and has taken many steps to better himself, albeit unsuccessfully. He even does something very uncharacteristic of his community: he worries about sorting out his life and finances before committing to a family life. Plus he writes reasonably well.

If i were a boss in the F & B industry, i'd probably hire him. Hopefully things work out for him in the end. Seriously, if we ejected those useless FTs, he would probably land a decent 1.8K F & B job. And everyone would be happier for it
Same here, I'd hire him anytime over any FT, degree or masters notwithstanding. With his attitude, he can go far. Anyway, ever seen those degrees / masters issued ny the institutioons? Worthless piece of paper and check out those waitresses, chambermaids, F/office staff etc on star cruises and they've all got degrees in nursing. Tells you something, does'nt it?