• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

A retiree's wish list

MarrickG

IT IS truly encouraging that Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong and his Cabinet have committed themselves to consider the concerns and views of the people while reviewing and implementing policies henceforth.

With this in mind, and as a recent retiree, I share my wish list for their consideration:

Housing: In order to have sufficient retirement savings, allow people who own private housing to downgrade to a new HDB flat if they have never bought one from HDB, or remove the current 30-month waiting period from the sale of their private property before they are allowed to buy a resale flat.

CPF: Allow retirees to withdraw their savings in the Medisave and retirement accounts upon reaching the retirement age of 62 years. This would be a retirement reward for them and the Government should not be unnecessarily worried that retirees may not be prudent in managing their funds. Most retirees are of the view that they should have the right to access their Central Provident Fund savings on retirement to meet their own plans.

Transport: Allow free travel on buses and trains to encourage retirees to continue employment, be socially and physically active, and to recognise their past contributions to society.

Health: The ageing process brings along more ailments no matter how strictly retirees stick to healthy eating and an exercise regimen. As a proactive measure, annual free health screening could be provided, including enhanced subsidised outpatient medical treatment. Means testing should apply only to inpatient treatment.

I wish PM Lee and his Cabinet success in making Singapore a place where all Singaporeans count and feel a greater sense of belonging.

Henry Lim

http://www.straitstimes.com/STForum/OnlineStory/STIStory_672945.html

lianbeng

With this in mind, and as a recent retiree, I share my wish list for their consideration:

Housing: khaw boon wan will take care of u.

CPF: tharman will take care of u.

Transport: lui tuck yew will take care of u.

Health: gan kim yong will take care of u.

next please...

lianbeng says, "u r well taken care of liao, henry.":biggrin:

TNP(Tua Neh Pau)

Housing: In order to have sufficient retirement savings, allow people who own private housing to downgrade to a new HDB flat if they have never bought one from HDB, or remove the current 30-month waiting period from the sale of their private property before they are allowed to buy a resale flat. (This will cause the HDB price to go up? Just so that you can cash out from your condo? You are so considerate of those who wants to buy HDB but cannot afford hor)

CPF: Allow retirees to withdraw their savings in the Medisave and retirement accounts upon reaching the retirement age of 62 years. This would be a retirement reward for them and the Government should not be unnecessarily worried that retirees may not be prudent in managing their funds. Most retirees are of the view that they should have the right to access their Central Provident Fund savings on retirement to meet their own plans. (This is okay, anyway, you die your business after that)

Transport: Allow free travel on buses and trains to encourage retirees to continue employment, be socially and physically active, and to recognise their past contributions to society. (Typical Singapore, asking for free things. If Henry can stay condo why ask for free rides? Only the poor should get free rides)

Health: The ageing process brings along more ailments no matter how strictly retirees stick to healthy eating and an exercise regimen. As a proactive measure, annual free health screening could be provided, including enhanced subsidised outpatient medical treatment. Means testing should apply only to inpatient treatment. (Asking for free things again, very basic free health screening given already at times).

I wish PM Lee and his Cabinet success in making Singapore a place where all Singaporeans count and feel a greater sense of belonging. (Your sense of belonging and worthiness is by getting money is it? Then what is the difference between you and the minister who say that no Dignity if salary is too low)