• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Ass Loong say he give u good running shoes, so how much u all earn?!

cooleo

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7980XlhbVGU&feature=related

phpkhGAMR.jpg

SINGAPORE: Singapore's political system may have become more open, but there are limits to what can be debated in public.

Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong said this at an hour-long forum televised on Channel NewsAsia on Tuesday.

The forum, called Question Time with the Prime Minister, also saw him taking questions via Facebook and SMS.

It was an hour of animated and frank debate between the prime minister and 12 participants spanning a cross-section of society.

View the show Question Time with the Prime Minister here

With a General Election (GE) expected soon, the forum kicked off with questions on the parliamentary and electoral system.

Some said they felt the system of Non-Constituency and Nominated MPs was unfair.

To which, Mr Lee said the NCMP system actually allowed opposition MPs to gain more visibility among voters.

When asked why politics in Singapore seemed so adversarial in nature, Mr Lee said the country has come a long way since the "hammer and tongs" climate of the communist threat.

But he said a democratic system was inherently adversarial, and there are risks to it.

That is why the PAP has developed into a party that takes in all views.

"The IR is one good example, where we had a very intense debate, but in the end, it's not that we overruled Lim Boon Heng," Mr Lee said.

"He said he was against IRs, but when he looked at the case and what the IRs could bring to us, in the end, (he said) I could not say no to 25,000 or 30,000 jobs. So that was what made him emotional".

It was also the first time the prime minister was taking questions on Facebook and SMS during a live television forum.

Some asked about help for older Singaporeans.

Others were concerned about the impact of foreigners on the young.

Ngee Ann Polytechnic student Matthew Zachary Liu said: "We acknowledge that the country is progressing, but we feel that we are being left behind.

"And what we feel from the government is, you either catch up or you die, because you don't expect the government to save you".

Mr Lee said: "You are not being left behind. You're starting off at the starting block, and the race is ahead of you. :rolleyes:

"And we've equipped you, you've got good running shoes, you've got good gear, you've got good training.
:rolleyes:

"In Singapore, we make sure you have the best chance possible because the competition isn't the foreigner who might be here. It's the millions who are in the other places, and they are competing with us whether we like it or not".

With the rising cost of living looking to be a hot topic for the election, some wondered if the Goods and Services Tax would be raised further.

In reply, Mr Lee said he doubted it, so long as the Budget remained prudent, and the economy remained in shape.

Referring to the manifestos put out recently by several political parties, he said: "they (the opposition) say they want to spend on this, and spend on that, and have a needs-based welfare system and a nationalised bus service and all that.

"And then they wave their hands and say, we have enough money to pay. Then you must ask yourself, how are you going to pay for this?

"When you spend money like that, then you have to worry about governments raising the GST".

cooleo

He say he give u all good running shoes. But i ask the young colleagues in the office how they feel with the 'shoes', they said they don't even earn enough to buy iPad 2 leh.

mollusk

"He said he was against IRs, but when he looked at the case and what the IRs could bring to us, in the end, (he said) I could not say no to 25,000 or 30,000 jobs. So that was what made him emotional".

KNNCCB..all this jobs go to foreigners

Microsoft

Boh saleh mah!! Last time ns wear china shoe...nowadays wear wat har? Nike or NB har? cnot complain leow lah...

But hor...he oso say not eberyting can b discuss openly wor...

Wat mai hum neber say ish... NS (including shoe) for sinkie... job leh...lau hor FT...:wink::oIo: