• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CHC damage control or making a mockery out of God?

konglanjiaowei

Jun 1, 2010

A different kind of church

<!-- by line --> By Melissa Sim
<!-- end by line -->
<!-- end left side bar -->
harvest-joycel.jpg

Church members have been known to go as far as adapting the most current Lady Ga-Ga or Black-Eyed Peas songs for concerts and celebrations, swopping out original lyrics for some of a more religious nature. -- ST PHOTO: JOYCE LIM

<!-- story content : start --> CITY HARVEST church is somewhat different from an ordinary place of worship - it uses stars and pop culture to stay relevant, counts a number of prominent business leaders among its congregation and its events have links all around the world. Even founder Kong Hee calls himself a businessman on the church website and, together with his singer wife Ho Yeow Sun, owns two companies. One is International Harvest, which company records say is a provider of corporate training services and motivational courses. The other is fashion company Skin Couture, which has three boutiques - Ed Hardy at Heeren, Skin at Great World City and Christian Audigier at Ion.

Clothes sold are described as 'glam rock' and follow trends in cities such as New York and Japan.
This rock theme is even extended to City Harvest's church services, which some members say are akin to attending a rock concert. Church members have been known to go as far as adapting the most current Lady Ga-Ga or Black-Eyed Peas songs for concerts and celebrations, swopping out original lyrics for some of a more religious nature. These shows are complete with full-scale sets, costumes and coloured lighting, which go beyond an amateur production.

Read the full report in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.

if they were to use such terms as "God hinted to me to do this or that....." then they shall always win the argument and the reasoning for their warped action.

lianbeng

if they were to use such terms as "God hinted to me to do this or that....." then they shall always win the argument and the reasoning for their warped action.

God never said like that so dun put words in God's mouth hor.
wait u kana give an account of every careless word u said on earth then jialat liao lor.
up there got record one hor.

Einfield

You seems to equate God with the Gestapo, KGB the likes.

They record everything you say and one day make you pay dearly for it.

Is this the same loving god who ask you to turn the other cheek and forgive your enemy for they know not what they are doing??

Humans are really screwed.

wait u kana give an account of every careless word u said on earth then jialat liao lor.

cooleo

Think of this way!

If humans are created by God!

Any ideas that come from human definitely came from God!

God can inspire you to do great things!

Likewise Satan can tempt you to do bad things!

So if people say that you should give them the benefit of the doubt mah!

Sekali you miss out on the salvation boat then how?

TeeKee u raised an interesting point. I wonder whose idea this comes from...

ST_16181527.jpg

KALLANG BRUTAL ATTACKS (1 dead, 3 seriously hurt)

A FULL-time national serviceman, one of four victims of a series of knife attacks in Kallang on Sunday, lay bleeding by the Pan-Island Expressway for seven hours before he was spotted.

Half his left hand, along with four fingers had been hacked off, and he had deep cuts to his neck, face and abdomen; a part of his scalp had been sliced open.

But at least Ang Jun Heng, 19, was alive. Of the remaining three victims of the still-unknown slasher or slashers, one is dead, and the other two, like Mr Ang, are in intensive care in Tan Tock Seng Hospital.

The police said on Monday that they were yet to make an arrest. They declined comment when asked whether the attacks were the work of one person or several, nor would they confirm that the attacks were related. All the police spokesman would say was that investigations were on and no possibilities have been ruled out.

The four victims appear not to know each other. Aside from Mr Ang, the other three, including the dead man, are Indian nationals aged between 24 and 44. Here on work permits, they live and work in different places.

The common thread: They were all believed to have been knifed from behind in the Kallang area. No weapons have been recovered.

Think of this way!
If humans are created by God!
Any ideas that come from human definitely came from God!
God can inspire you to do great things!
Likewise Satan can tempt you to do bad things!
So if people say that you should give them the benefit of the doubt mah!
Sekali you miss out on the salvation boat then how?
You think too much :biggrin::biggrin:

try visiting FCBC sermon this sun. lawrence the khong shall repeat those exact words to u and the audience.

u could oblige him by raising your arm and shall be escorted to the stage where he would try to administer to u. to drama-mama it further, feign a fainting spell.

the audience shall be awed. it would be proclaimed that the holy spirit is manifesting you.

then u wake up and tell everyone IT'S ONLY A JOKE!

and see what's going to be the mass reaction.

WARNING: doing this might not get you out of the church alive or in one piece. amen!:p

SwineHunter

Jun 2, 2010
CHURCH MEMBERS PROBED
City Harvest followers rally
Facebook group set up; prominent members showing their support

<!-- by line --> By Carolyn Quek & Ang Yiying
<!-- end by line -->
ST_16193593.jpg

Churchgoers meeting for bible study at the church's Boon Lay grounds yesterday said they were not worried. --PHOTO: NP

<!-- story content : start --> CITY Harvest churchgoers rallied around their leaders a day after news that Pastor Kong Hee and 16 other church members were being investigated for allegedly misusing church funds. Followers said they were praying and confident that the church of 33,000 worshippers would ride out the storm. A group pledging support has been set up on Facebook. But the probe has begun to take a toll.

City Harvest's church in Kuala Lumpur announced on its Twitter site yesterday that its service with Pastor Kong this weekend has been cancelled. No reason was given. On Monday, police from the Commercial Affairs Department (CAD) called in 17 church members for questioning at the Cantonment Complex, and also took away files and documents from their homes for investigations. Churchgoers meeting for bible study at the church's Boon Lay grounds yesterday said they were not worried.

Read the full story in Wednesday's edition of The Straits Times.
[email protected]
Additional reporting by Mou Zongxiao and Bryan Toh

this is absolutely a sad fucking case for SG!!

i salute those buddhist temples that provide free food for the poor, not like those sad f**k CHC or NCC that enrich their freaking pastors and totally make a mockery out of Jesus' teaching.

kelingkia

WARNING: doing this might not get you out of the church alive or in one piece. amen!:p

cheebai kia old bapok PAP dog bashing your father and calling your mother laucheebye

stealing temple money and con others

can get you alive in one piece hor

Taishi Ci

Originally Posted by fishbuff

this is absolutely a sad fucking case for SG!!

i salute those buddhist temples that provide free food for the poor, not like those sad f**k CHC or NCC that enrich their freaking pastors and totally make a mockery out of Jesus' teaching.

Jun 3, 2010
City Harvest not affected

<!-- by line --> By Liew Hanqing, Carolyn Quek & Melissa Sim
<!-- end by line -->
front-hqcity03.st.jpg

Church members contacted by The Straits Times said they remained unfazed by the probe and were solidly behind their leaders. -- ST PHOTO: JOYCE LIM

ACTIVITIES at City Harvest Church will continue as planned this weekend despite an ongoing probe involving individuals and companies linked to it.
In what it said was a response to e-mails and kind words of encouragement from members, the church posted a notice on its website yesterday evening that was signed by executive pastor Derek Dunn. In it, Mr Dunn said the church was unable to furnish the congregation with any updates on the probe as police investigations were continuing.

He added: 'Nevertheless, we would like to assure you that our church has cooperated and will continue to cooperate fully with the authorities, and the investigations are in no way affecting our church activities.' Church members contacted by The Straits Times said they remained unfazed by the probe and were solidly behind their leaders. Some have formed an online prayer group on social networking site Facebook and have also posted encouraging messages on the church leaders' Facebook and Twitter pages.

Read the full story in Thursday's edition of The Straits Times.