• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Pedra Branca - the perfect storm

tenggiri

Yet again its rough weather over Pedra Branca. I hoped it was all over with the ICJ decision to award the island to Spore and some tiny rocks to Msia in April this year. New problems have surfaced now with Msian ministers and others raising a ruckus regarding our govt's intention to mark out its territorial waters around that island.

The ST quoted a Universiti Msia prof as saying: "Spore could reclaim the land (Pedra Branca) to develop it as a resort or even build a casino like the one on sentosa island".

Thats extreme, bordering on comedy but i can understand their concern becos much will be affected if the territorial thing happens. It will almost be like suddenly your neighbor is allowed to pitch his tent in yr backyard and you are not allowed to evict him. Am i right? Anyway i see this as a major stumbling block in future and maybe the brewing of a PERFECT STORM. :eek:

The ST quoted a Universiti Msia prof as saying: "Spore could reclaim the land (Pedra Branca) to develop it as a resort or even build a casino like the one on sentosa island".

It's nothing more than political posturing for personal gain and some free publicity. :biggrin:

Don't worry about it.

zikoman

It's nothing more than political posturing for personal gain and some free publicity. :biggrin:

Don't worry about it.

agreed. thats how the msian politicians clocked mileage to score points and gain favour with the voters.....

its juz like having a cuppa kopi to them... nothing new..:biggrin:

fenwick

Don't worry about it.

Totally agree and the other thing is they really got no brians ! Just want to stir shit :mad: as long as it's anti Singapore he,ll get lots of support. I remember someone was putting the blame on us when their KOTA TINGGI was flooded some 2yrs back maybe. Saying it is due to our land reclamation in Changi that causes it . Nonsense !:rolleyes:

tenggiri

Don't worry about it.

agreed. thats how the msian politicians clocked mileage to score points and gain favour with the voters.....

its juz like having a cuppa kopi to them... nothing new..:biggrin:

I beg to differ. Becos going by recent history, when the spore govt pushes thru with their claim on the territorial waters around Pedra Branca, the Msians may be barred from fishing in their traditional places which they have been doing and living off for decades. And a whole lot of other issues like security, trespassing will crop up too!

zikoman

I beg to differ. Becos going by recent history, when the spore govt pushes thru with their claim on the territorial waters around Pedra Branca, the Msians may be barred from fishing in their traditional places which they have been doing and living off for decades. And a whole lot of other issues like security, trespassing will crop up too!

agreed in one way or another, msian politicians r all wayang kings!! they make noise juz to show those fishermen that they care about the welfare....

on the surface, they appear to be helping the poor and needy, but their top priority is still to make as much dollars as possible.....

Slider_72

The Singapore Navy have been chasing Malaysian fishermen away from the waters near Pedra Branca even before the dispute was submitted to the ICJ for adjudication. And as far back as 1984, we have already laid claim over the territorial waters around Pedra Branca. There is nothing new here.

The Malaysian politicians are not very creative. Each time they want to score points, they say something to whack Singapore. Even if you want to make a donation and give money to them, they will say that you are trying to bribe them. Crazy people up north.

tenggiri

Very valid points there bros. We know their habits very well everytime some dispute with us crop up. They will feed the gallery with their 'wisdoms of truth' and stir up shit to gain political clout.

I just hope our kiasu govt dun give them any more ammo just for this 12 nautical miles radius of water! Cheers.

I wouldn't be too enthusiastic about any approach that's too confrontational. If you look at the map, Pedra Branca is in Johor's backyard, not Singapore's.

In any case case, Pedra Branca is smaller than even the size of National Stadium and further away from Singapore than Batam.

tenggiri

The Singapore Navy have been chasing Malaysian fishermen away from the waters near Pedra Branca even before the dispute was submitted to the ICJ for adjudication. And as far back as 1984, we have already laid claim over the territorial waters around Pedra Branca. There is nothing new here.

Ok bro slider72, glad you brought that up. Back then, the lighthouse and its waters were a big grey area with both sides putting in claims and yet our boys did occasionally chase away Msian fishing boats. There were some retaliation from the Msian side like detaining small private boats from Spore who they accused of straying into thier waters. (All these can be verified from past reports in our local press)

So now the present day. The style of our young ministers nowadays seems to be that if any move is within the law and its our soveriegn right, they will damn well implement it. To hell with others feelings! Once they draw the border lines, i suppose they ll want to restrict entry to all foreign craft on a more stringent basis. If not, why go thru the trouble to claim territorial rights in the first place. Right?
So it could be a very different ball game then.

ANDYSIAO14

out.php

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: