• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Status
Not open for further replies.

toyohon

"If not for my respect and love for dear old dad, this weekend i will be relaxing instead of having to take them around."

I know what you mean, been there done that, hahaha.. Me looking forward to the golf game this weekend followed by a sumptuous seafood meal ....

aangsc

I was only 5 years old then, though this was not meant for me(my family disliked me from young as i was born in a bad month), somehow the lessons he imparted to my sister stuck with me instead.

"born in the bad month?" What kind of thinking is that, the feng shui calendar is it ? So has life been that BAD, after all you own quite a few units of ppty , better off than many people of normal month !

Analytical Professor

Ha ha ...... Gotcha....

Thats what my uncle tells me many times.... HE says dun think about how bad life has been to you or how much wealth you could have had? Instead turn around and look back and you will know how good life has been to you cause there are 100s of millions in this world who are much worse of.....

But then again its easy for my uncle to say so.... HE is Goddamn powerful and a multi multi millionaire.... And I? So the comparison lives on.....

"born in the bad month?" What kind of thinking is that, the feng shui calendar is it ? So has life been that BAD, after all you own quite a few units of ppty , better off than many people of normal month !

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
We need to set the ball rolling to discuss condos (ofcourse not the millions over you mentioned) but the 500k range that we are allowed to buy....

Usually condos depreciate in JB over time....

But lets discuss.... I guess we gotta take the whole development into consideration (not a stand alone condo) for valuation purposes

Sure,i am not an expert on condos though.

Some of the issues that Winners has pointed out about Strata Titles will affect those in condos most.(mostly the lift maintenance but you can escape from this by just buying below 3rd floor)

From my humble observations, the KSL one opposite Jusco, the already built one at Perling should be good as i heard good things from neighbours who upgraded to HH but still keeping their unit there or to rent out.
The thing is, Puteri harbour will have condos in that area, i would think that would be a good bet too. Prices may be scary though.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
What your dad said about buy high sell high and buy low sell low is truly applicable in the Singaporean context especially when you only have 1 unit.... U just cant run away.....

But if you have more than 1 unit anywhere in the world you can apply the second rule that your dad taught .... Buy low and sell high.....

Yes, it works in a weird way, he taught both my sisters all his streetsmart and planning and i was always sidelined but somehow the lessons didn't stick with them but me instead.

My dad never realised this, that even though i had achieve things on my own, he played (indirectly) a very large part of it. He didn't realised the person mopping the oily floor at the kitchen overheard and learned.

A fortune teller told my dad i would be detrimental to the family and a blacksheep and will bring misfortune to the family. But when i was born, my dad struck a lot of lottery(and i mean a lot), still he gambled them away later in life and thought i brought him the bad luck.

One thing i really dislike is how come people will always think its your "rich dad who bought for you" and give you bad attitude like you are an "ah siah gia"(rich, spoilt brat) when they come to the house you bled for and worked tooth and nail to get or when they see your car(my first car was a German one)

They will then be sarcastic and say things like, "wow you are very lucky, your dad must love you a lot, how much your dad paid for this etc." Why can't they realise there are people who really worked doubly hard than most people just to have a normal life. Maybe my face really looked too much like an "ah siah gia"

aangsc

A family must stand as one, even if you have one guy/girl who is really resourceful, smart or successful, he is still one person and a flame from a candle is easily blown out.

To be truly successful, one must help the other, lighting all the candles. Many people never realised for their family,its viewed just like companies, people view the success of the unit not on the success of any one individual but the overall performance as a whole.
Instead of competing with each other, why not help push each other along the way. You may be a Lion but the rat you help today may rescue you tomorrow, everyone knows this story but few realise the actual significance.

I like the way you put it....the strength of unity. Somehow I have the feeling that your whole big family are moving to Msia. Like you said if price goes south you can stay but we can never be certain on politic and economy. What if the staying option is not available as well , even family member may blame you for influencing them. I don't mean to "throw cold water" , but I do hope you are right as I too planning to retire there one day while not really giving up SG ...not so soon at least. Time being , it remains as a backup plan.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
I like the way you put it....the strength of unity. Somehow I have the feeling that your whole big family are moving to Msia. Like you said if price goes south you can stay but we can never be certain on politic and economy. What if the staying option is not available as well , even family member may blame you for influencing them. I don't mean to "throw cold water" , but I do hope you are right as I too planning to retire there one day while not really giving up SG ...not so soon at least. Time being , it remains as a backup plan.

Yes, i know. So i told them that there is always a risk, we never know but just in case things goes south, my sis has only 50% risk and even that i can absorb if required. One is never sure in life, even in Singapore.

If i told you just 10 years ago that one day there will be floods in Orchard road, DBS atms will go down islandwide and that there will be 2 casinos in Singapore, will you believe it? No, the world is too unpredictable, the only way to cope is not to avoid it for it will still seek you out but adapt to changes AND always having a back up plan for a back up plan. The Kra Isthmus is coming and it sure ain't Christmas when it comes.

The smart/cunning hare will always have 3 burrows. Feng Xuan taught me well. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
3 cheers to your wife..... She ensured that your head did not drop with the wayward comments and that your family flag was still flying high....

Now regarding the weekend.... Gosh i hate ruining my weekends... But you gottta respect your dad.... So no choice huh....

Yes, no choice. For some weird reason, i discovered this, the child you hated the most may be the one that loves you the most instead.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Woahhhhhh

Thanks....

I really dun wanna void the 3 year warranty on my roof... So i will stay off the antennae for a while

Anyway DVDS are cheap only RM 5 each so il buy and watch them instead ... Somemore buy 5 one free... buy 10 3 free or something like that....

Oh sorry again not supposed to mention the word cheap cheap (like a bird.... some one mentioned earlier)

Oh yes, stay off it, maybe have the antenna put behind or somewhere high but not on the roof? Astro should be easier to manage. I have seen some doing that. Oh yes, reasonably priced and good.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
"If not for my respect and love for dear old dad, this weekend i will be relaxing instead of having to take them around."

I know what you mean, been there done that, hahaha.. Me looking forward to the golf game this weekend followed by a sumptuous seafood meal ....

Good for you, hope that you will have a good weekend at least. This weekend is burnt, kenna FS duty. (instead of NS)
FS = Family Service

Arrowed and given extra not by my encik but my laopeh. At least it will give him a lot of face as we tour around the houses. To them, the houses are his and as his only son, i am glad to say oh yes it is. :smile:

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section

Yes a fortune teller said so, actually i think not only one. It hasn't been that bad i hope, i bought cars for the family and a couple of my properties and insurance policies has my parents name so i can't say its that bad for them but they may feel very differently.

The 2.2k SGD i give them a month is not enough while still covering their phone bills separately. I guess things in SG are too expensive. Now living here, the 2.2k SGD still isn't enough for them.

When i studied for PSLE, GCE O-A, they thought i would fail as i didn't study as hard as my sisters but luckily i still did ok and then later in life.
I guess in their eyes, i just can never amount to anything.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
Ha ha ...... Gotcha....

Thats what my uncle tells me many times.... HE says dun think about how bad life has been to you or how much wealth you could have had? Instead turn around and look back and you will know how good life has been to you cause there are 100s of millions in this world who are much worse of.....

But then again its easy for my uncle to say so.... HE is Goddamn powerful and a multi multi millionaire.... And I? So the comparison lives on.....

Actually thats true, being truly contented is the hardest virtue to achieve i guess.

For me, being where i am now, though i am not rich at least i can provide for my family adequately, i have enough for everyone and my kids. Thats enough for me.

aangsc

Yes a fortune teller said so, actually i think not only one. It hasn't been that bad i hope, i bought cars for the family and a couple of my properties and insurance policies has my parents name so i can't say its that bad for them but they may feel very differently.

The 2.2k SGD i give them a month is not enough while still covering their phone bills separately. I guess things in SG are too expensive. Now living here, the 2.2k SGD still isn't enough for them.

When i studied for PSLE, GCE O-A, they thought i would fail as i didn't study as hard as my sisters but luckily i still did ok and then later in life.
I guess in their eyes, i just can never amount to anything.

You are definitely okay lah, no doubt about that, how many filial child give $2K a month. I can tell you not many in this forum. I don't. If your dad believe in Feng Shui stuff, they should also know that the dob is only of the many factor affecting. Some gurus said the other factors are equally important...(1) the place you stay is the real FengShui factor (this can be changed so managable) , (2) your education/upbringing/what good you did in life (also managable);the good will be blessed (3) the name given to you ( I guess this is 5 elements stuff in geomancy). As for DOB (Ba-zi), you cannot change just like your parents you cannot pick. So that is fate lah, why they pick those day to conceive you ask them ?:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

cathylmg

Yes, i know. So i told them that there is always a risk, we never know but just in case things goes south, my sis has only 50% risk and even that i can absorb if required. One is never sure in life, even in Singapore.

If i told you just 10 years ago that one day there will be floods in Orchard road, DBS atms will go down islandwide and that there will be 2 casinos in Singapore, will you believe it? No, the world is too unpredictable, the only way to cope is not to avoid it for it will still seek you out but adapt to changes AND always having a back up plan for a back up plan. The Kra Isthmus is coming and it sure ain't Christmas when it comes.

The smart/cunning hare will always have 3 burrows. Feng Xuan taught me well. :smile:

But if it turns out that you are wrong, you will kenna from them 10x that of those favourite if turns out they are wrong. Even if you try, your voice will be lost among the crowd. Your opinion not appreciated. You can best not flaunt your wealth.

Over the years, I just drift away, and say less. If I do well, no one celebrate for me, except my hubby and children, if I didn't do well, nobody's business anyway.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
But if it turns out that you are wrong, you will kenna from them 10x that of those favourite if turns out they are wrong. Even if you try, your voice will be lost among the crowd. Your opinion not appreciated. You can best not flaunt your wealth.

Over the years, I just drift away, and say less. If I do well, no one celebrate for me, except my hubby and children, if I didn't do well, nobody's business anyway.

Pretty true. The favourites can do no wrong, they slave for them, buy food for them and then complain to me that they are not giving money again to them for this month. My younger sister even tried to force my dad and mum to go back to work,saying that since they are just sitting around. I told my younger sister to shut up as they are old now and besides, its not her who allowed them to retire since she is not contributing.

She thinks the world and my parents owe her a living, she has much more opportunities for education than both myself and my elder sister yet we are the ones doing better. She asked me to help support the family while she go and do her diploma, 2 years then 3 years then now after all that she wants to do degree and further more.

She even said to me when i was 31, Kor you are above 30 now, you and girl no future already, you should concentrate on helping me get good education and job. Your life is basically over, you should not go for further studies.

In the end, now out from those Lasalle Art school, until now still no ideas on whats her career path, keeps saying we are old but she is now 26 so she has only 4 years to go before "her future" is over.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
You are definitely okay lah, no doubt about that, how many filial child give $2K a month. I can tell you not many in this forum. I don't. If your dad believe in Feng Shui stuff, they should also know that the dob is only of the many factor affecting. Some gurus said the other factors are equally important...(1) the place you stay is the real FengShui factor (this can be changed so managable) , (2) your education/upbringing/what good you did in life (also managable);the good will be blessed (3) the name given to you ( I guess this is 5 elements stuff in geomancy). As for DOB (Ba-zi), you cannot change just like your parents you cannot pick. So that is fate lah, why they pick those day to conceive you ask them ?:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

Its actually not the money amount, i feel that no matter what i do, its never enough for them. The rest can slack and they could still do no wrong even if they want to force my dad and mum to work.

No matter what, they are my parents, its my born duty to take care of them while i am still alive. If one can't even take care of ones parents or kids, don't be hypocritical and show you take care of elderly or volunteer to work or paste those "be kind to animals" stickers. Be kind to animals but not your parents???

cathylmg

Its actually not the money amount, i feel that no matter what i do, its never enough for them. The rest can slack and they could still do no wrong even if they want to force my dad and mum to work.

So very, very, very true indeed!

No matter what, they are my parents, its my born duty to take care of them while i am still alive. If one can't even take care of ones parents or kids, don't be hypocritical and show you take care of elderly or volunteer to work or paste those "be kind to animals" stickers. Be kind to animals but not your parents???

And those who change their religion immediately after their parents died and refuse to visit their grave during their death anniversary because they can't kneel or pray to others, not even their own parent? That they were so dot upon when their parents were alive? But made sure that they got their fair share from the sale of their inheritance? :(

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
OK, noted with thanks. I will take a look tomorrow for both HH & Nusa Duta.
:eek: U have many houses for investment purposes? And you have a great family value! Ur sister must be glad to have a brother like u..
Do u still need a brother? :biggrin::biggrin: :biggrin: Just joking..

Sure thing, i hope you find a suitable one, all the best.

If you want resale, you can actually look for this agent, his name is Ben
+6012-7663655. I bought my houses from him, pretty helpful and resourceful guy but pretty busy. As always, please feel free to compare agents and prices.

Oh its for investment as well as something to leave to my sons when i am gone. No matter what they do with it, the houses in SG and JB are tokens of my love for my family.

Actually, all who did NS with me are my brothers and thats the actual purpose of this thread, to help the people who served and went through the same crap to at least get some ideas, migrate elsewhere or come here and get something to fall back on in old age or if they sell their HDB in difficulty, at least can come here instead of living in a tent on a beach.

My buddy who i still kept in touch told me this thread is like a SAFRA thingy hahaha.

wuqi256

Moderator - JB Section
So very, very, very true indeed!

And those who change their religion immediately after their parents died and refuse to visit their grave during their death anniversary because they can't kneel or pray to others, not even their own parent? That they were so dot upon when their parents were alive? But made sure that they got their fair share from the sale of their inheritance? :(

This is sad,i know which religion you are referring to for i was part of that religion. From the time my grandfather passed on, i have went against the teachings where ancestors are concerned and when i entered the army, all the festivals including hungry ghosts i donate and contribute to the offerings.

I also still offer joss sticks and burn the notes to them even when i was still in that religion.

For me, i see it this way, death is not the end but a continuation of a relationship, its like the folks who have passed on are not really gone but in an old age home or stuck in a place where they can never get discharged.

If your parents or grandparents or family are forced by circumstances beyong control, into an instituition whether jail, old age home or hospital, wouldn't you want to visit them? (Referring to graves/urns)

When you visit them, wouldn't you bring fruits and their favourite food and even a smoke or two? Same thing applies when they are gone. To me, when i burnt the joss paper, offer the cigarette or joss sticks, i am not praying to them for protection, its like i brought the old people fruits when visiting. To me at least, this has nothing to do with religion.

I guess in a way, they did show a certain level of respect by not converting before the passing. But love goes beyond death, it does not just end there.

The religion one has should never ever interfere with the love between a father and his son or a mother with daughter. Our parents gave us life and no matter their failings, at least this life we owe it to them to give them a comfortable one.

If you are a buddhist, even if there is reincarnation, the next life you might never see them again. If you are a Christian, there is no next life so the more you should cherish them while they are still here. We often hear this before, life is fragile. How do we know when something is broken? When we hear the shattering of the heart when a loved one passed on.

My grandfather passed away before he even saw the subsequent success of my family. We were never close as he spoke mainly in Hokkien and Malay and i only spoke Mandarin. I never got to share with him how i really felt and how much i loved him. I learnt Hokkien to try to communicate better but it was too late. The cancer got to him.(To all bros here, please don't smoke for the sake of your family)

I can only carry a lantern and a knife for him to clear the weeds and lead my family to his grave every Qing Ming (my family prefers to visit the graves at 3am in the morning to beat the crowds)

I cannot tell him how much i loved him and how in that year, his passing and my going into NS very shortly was the most traumatizing events in my life. Our parents gave birth to us, to quote a phrase from a hokkien song, "bo le bo wa" - Without you, i will not exist.

I love my parents, i only hope that i will live long enough for them to carry out my duties as a son. To me, it is not a burden of pain but a labour of love.

Status
Not open for further replies.