• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Man charged for underaged sex

sunny302

RODNEY Sim Hang Nge has the dubious honour of being the first man to be brought to court for allegedly having sex with an underaged prostitute.
The law was amended in Oct 2007 to make it an offence to hire a prostitute below the age of 18. The punishment is a fine or a jail term of up to seven years or both.

The police prosecutor told District Judge Adrian Soon that it was the first case of its kind here.

Sim, 60, is accused of obtaining sex from a 17-year-old prostitute for $100 on Aug 3 and two days later for $30, both occasions in a Geylang hotel.

Sim, who had initially wanted to plead guilty, had told the judge that a jail term would mean he would lose his job and family.

Sobbing in the dock, he said: 'My wife will divorce me and my son and daughter will disown me. I've had my job for 35 years and it too will be gone.'

He did not state his occupation. The hearing was adjourned when Sim decided to hire a lawyer.

Minutes earlier at another district court, Sim's pimp was fined $8,000 for supplying the same 17-year-old prostitute to 55-year-old Tan Chye Hin Sim on Aug 4.

Wang Minjiang, 36, had also pleaded guilty to bringing in prostitutes, living on immoral earnings and managing a place in a Geylang coffee shop for the purpose of prostitution. He was fined $17,000.

His nephew,Wang Youyi, 31, was also fined $17,000 for similar offences. The court heard that the two men got two prostitutes, aged 17 and 19, from China on July 31.

They would provide free lodging and food and the women would charge $80 to $100 for sex in nearby hotels. They could keep their earnings from the initial three days, after which, the pimps will collect $100 a day.

The court ordered that the names of the prostitutes not be published.

By Khushwant Singh

AhPek65

Wang Minjiang, 36, had also pleaded guilty to bringing in prostitutes, living on immoral earnings and managing a place in a Geylang coffee shop for the purpose of prostitution. He was fined $17,000.

By Khushwant Singh

Tonychat kena caught liao...:(

DerekLeung

What the fark the government ?

Government should sent a field specialist and ask Kim Ng or Channel News Asia busty girl to do a variety show on Working Girls !

peter ng

Serious,Government should produce placard at geylang area to beware
"an offence to hire a prostitute below the age of 18",otherwise we blur
blur kenna charge by law.

BlueCat

the law was changed last October.
now if you done it with an gal under 18,u are in trouble.
so nowaday,must really be careful,with some make-up,the gal can look mature enough.

Naka_Timo

Ya, read tis new yesterday at the straits time page A11 bottom left corner. Next time chiong in geylang better got to be extra careful.

The MilkMan

must really thanx the brother who highlighted this to all.
else still thinking that the legal age for any sex activity is 16.
so now change to 18,next time really must be very careful liao.

NasiAyam

RODNEY Sim Hang Nge has the dubious honour of being the first man to be brought to court for allegedly having sex with an underaged prostitute.

Minutes earlier at another district court, Sim's pimp was fined $8,000 for supplying the same 17-year-old prostitute to 55-year-old Tan Chye Hin Sim on Aug 4.
So what is the penalty for Tan Chye Hin Sim ?

How come these 2 can get caught ? Were they framed ?

BlueCat

someone should be put behind the bar and get the rottan.
this will then make them wake-up.

nowaday,the gals with the make-up look so mature,very difficult to judge.
so must be very careful,when go bonking.
safer to patronize those okts that you are familiar.

SammyHulk

The article mentioned only under 18 prostitute, think girls not in this line still under 16. Anyone verified?:p

joker88

I am always careful with those advertised as "18 yrs old syt". You never know until it is too late. :eek:

S

Scolari

The best is to patronise those advertised to be 20 yrs and above lor. :biggrin:

aakumu

Hi bro,
Does it apply if it is done overseas?
I think it does if they know, right?

My huble two cents.

pia

Hi bro,
Does it apply if it is done overseas?
I think it does if they know, right?

My huble two cents.

I believe under the amended law, they can charge you even if the crime is conducted overeseas. Onus is for them to find the evidence, tho.