• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

CANADA - Country of choice or screwed

FIRSTSTATE

Os Canada really a country worth considering when it comes to emigrating?
WTF is good about Canada?

Share?

1sickpuppy

Share?

Don't know about u guys but let me list it out the good and bad and let u guys decide ( Had and uncle staying there as a fisherman but later also cannot tahan moved to australis )
Good :smile:
1. Free med if u r a local
2. Freedom and big spacesto move around
3. Cheap housing
4. Quite good social welfare ( out of job and schooling )
5. No NS
6. Cheaper ele and h2o bills
Bad :(
1. Ever visit Canada's Chinatown ( Should rename it Viettown ) lots of gang fights
2. Their some of their taxes so damn high compare to SG is like comparing Durex's pay to our PM's pay.
3. The weather is so hostle ( Neg 30c ) in winter that is if your heater breaks down u can actually be a frozen piece of meat till spring.

So u decide lor but if u r a ching go stay in Toronto lots of chings there. If u can speak cantonist u would feel right at home.

FIRSTSTATE

Pretty true, but where in Canada is the weather bearable? At least not so cold.
Above 40, got chance to go there for retirement or not?

KKC007

It's a 7-8 hour flight coast to coast. Imagine Singapore to ... Japan? Every city is different. You have to be more specific on which city you are looking at.

Peiweh

Share?

According to some research, the #1 Migration choice among Sporns in Canada

Canada is cheap, big, full of opportunity and you can live like a king there if you liquidate your SG holdings/CPF/Flat etc and convert it to Canadian Dollars.

Vancouver itself can be pricey, but the rest of Canada is extremely affordable.

Bad :(
1. Ever visit Canada's Chinatown ( Should rename it Viettown ) lots of gang fights
2. Their some of their taxes so damn high compare to SG is like comparing Durex's pay to our PM's pay.
3. The weather is so hostle ( Neg 30c ) in winter that is if your heater breaks down u can actually be a frozen piece of meat till spring.

So u decide lor but if u r a ching go stay in Toronto lots of chings there. If u can speak cantonist u would feel right at home.

How many people choose to stay in Chinatown?
I would only drive to Chinatown to shop for certain grocery items or have a Chinese meal.

That country is so big that you can go fishing , camping or to any of the malls. Its up to you whether you want to go camping or just wander through the malls, or maybe spend time in the parks.

Its not always cold lah. There are 4 seasons in Canada.
Alot has been said about the cold weather but if you don't like the cold go stay around Vancouver, Surrey, etc it rains & rarely snows in those places. You'll find many ex-Sporeans, Hongkies, Malaysians,.. in those areas. Its also only a few hours drive to the US.

If you are a Canadian, the US job market is accessible under the North American Free Trade Agreement.

As for taxes, I think its alot fairer than Spore. The gov't provides alot of services unlike in Spore where you end up paying more. Spore got alot of hidden taxes like CPF, COE, ERP, water. electricity, etc

In Canada you don't have to pay gst on food, medicines, medical care , school books , childrens clothing,... While in Spore everything is taxable.

I think Canada is a good choice woth considering. Can get your Canadian citizenship & come back to Spore as an FT, but I think when your a Canadian citizen you'll prefer to stay & work there.

Asychee

Agree with you - so far 2 more months to go i can apply for CA citizenship oredi. I have hosted 5 family in edmonton. 2 stay and the rest are on the way back afte the sell thier biz and settle their stuff

Congrats :smile:
Staying in Canada you don't have to worry about COE, ERP, constant monthly increases in utilities, medical bills,...NS. Its no wonder Sporeans have all those white hairs from the worrying.

Some people would say that Edmonton has a harsh winter but after a while you adjust. People who've never been to Canada don't realise that the weather is not constant in winter. One day you might have an indian summer where the temperatures is positive & on other days it can be cold. Thats when you find out about how influential the winds are :smile:

Most people talk about the winters but forget that Canada has its hot summers too. :p Before going to Canada I really thought it was 12 months of winter because everyone would talk about winter but no one mentioned about spring, autumn, or summer :smile:

Even in winter there's there's central heating :smile: I remember being indoors in shorts & T shirt when it was minus 20 outside. There are very big malls like West Edmonton Mall with free parking. Albeta is a producer of gas & oil and power is cheaper than the other provinces

If they want milder weather they can always move to Calgary where its milder because of the chinooks which blows in warmer temperatures. Theres of course Vancouver or Toronto.

As a Canadian you have so much choice as to where they to stay. Its not like Spore where you're stuck on an island & housing is expensive :rolleyes:

Pretty true, but where in Canada is the weather bearable? At least not so cold.
Above 40, got chance to go there for retirement or not?

If you are afraid of the cold weather consider the Povince of B.C. Vancouver, Surrey, Chilliwack are cities in B.C,

Once you are settled in B.C you can always take a look at the other Provinces.

As to your chances, go to the Canadian embassy & find out about their latest point system. Applying is free. They only charge you $$$ if you are successful. You get fewer points if you are 40+ but maybe take a look at applying as an investor?

angry_one

Anyone do correct me if i'm wrong, but i discovered, to my horror, that they changed the skilled worker entry criteria. i have asked the embassy here, and they tell me that if you have no xp in these jobs, you CANNOT even apply. before Feb 2008 any occupation and be processed for PR.

http://www.cic.gc.ca/EnGLIsh/immigrate/skilled/apply-who.asp

Is my application eligible for processing?

In order for your application to be eligible for processing, you must either:

have an offer of arranged employment, OR
be a foreign national living legally in Canada for one year as a temporary foreign worker or an international student, OR
be a skilled worker who has at least one year of experience in one or more of the following occupations:
0111: Financial Managers
0213: Computer and Information Systems Managers
0311: Managers in Health Care
0631: Restaurant and Food Service Managers
0632: Accommodation Service Managers
0711: Construction Managers
1111: Financial Auditors and Accountants
2113: Geologists, Geochemists and Geophysicists
2143: Mining Engineers
2144: Geological Engineers
2145: Petroleum Engineers
3111: Specialist Physicians
3112: General Practitioners and Family Physicians
3141: Audiologists and Speech Language Pathologists
3143: Occupational Therapists
3142: Physiotherapists
3151: Head Nurses and Supervisors
3152: Registered Nurses
3215: Medical Radiation Technologists
3233: Licensed Practical Nurses
4121: University Professors
4131: College and Other Vocational Instructors
6241: Chefs
6242: Cooks
7213: Contractors and Supervisors, Pipefitting Trades
7215: Contractors and Supervisors, Carpentry Trades
7217: Contractors and Supervisors, Heavy Construction Equipment Crews
7241: Electricians (Except Industrial and Power System)
7242: Industrial Electricians
7251: Plumbers
7252: Steamfitters, Pipe fitters and Sprinkler System Installers
7265: Welders and Related Machine Operators
7312: Heavy-Duty Equipment Mechanics
7371: Crane Operators
7372: Drillers and Blasters – Surface Mining, Quarrying and Construction
8221: Supervisors, Mining and Quarrying
8222: Supervisors, Oil and Gas Drilling and Service
9212: Supervisors, Petroleum, Gas and Chemical Processing and Utilities

One of my friends got into Canada without any of the above job category. She said its an almost guaranteed way to legally get into Canada, and than eventually become a citizen. According to her, The smart people bypass the points system.

Trout

One of my friends got into Canada without any of the above job category. She said its an almost guaranteed way to legally get into Canada, and than eventually become a citizen. According to her, The smart people bypass the points system.

Marry a canadian citizen and get sponsored over? that works...much easier and quicker.

Trout

hesitation screwed you man, hahaha. :p

Anyone do correct me if i'm wrong, but i discovered, to my horror, that they changed the skilled worker entry criteria. i have asked the embassy here, and they tell me that if you have no xp in these jobs, you CANNOT even apply. before Feb 2008 any occupation and be processed for PR.

http://www.cic.gc.ca/EnGLIsh/immigrate/skilled/apply-who.asp

Is my application eligible for processing?

In order for your application to be eligible for processing, you must either:

have an offer of arranged employment, OR
be a foreign national living legally in Canada for one year as a temporary foreign worker or an international student, OR
be a skilled worker who has at least one year of experience in one or more of the following occupations:

Screwball

How come?
Can telling us?

chuckyworld

No, it does not involve marriage. And guaranteed.

Work as a maid or housekeeper.

Lot of Pinoys are employ as maid and after 1 year, they can apply for PR, you must have at least 3 years PR before you can apply for citizenship.

Another route is to get sponsor by relatives or family member that is already here.

Invest half a million in high risk venture you will get your PR.

chuckyworld

Come over and study at any of the University, you will more than likely ending up getting PR with no problem.