• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Some common Malay words that are useful to know in JB

Good to know a little Malay to feel less foreign in JB. Here are some common words seen on the road, promo banners and everywhere:

Promo banners
harga rendah/terendah = low/lowest price
jualan hebat/besar = great/big sale
simpan lebih = save more
baru = new
percuma = free
diskaun = discount
kini/sekarang = now
cepat = quick/fast
daripada = from
sehingga = to
hari = days
setiap hari = everyday
minggu = week
bulan = month
tahun = year
pagi = morning
petang = afternoon
malam = night

On the road
beri laluan = give way
kurangkan laju = reduce speed
awas = beware
bahaya = danger
jangan dekat = do not come close
lebuhraya = highway

Petrol station
barapa = how much?
penuh tangki = full tank

Residential/commercial/industrial area
tengok rumah contoh = see show house
taman = garden
pusat bandar = town/city centre
kedai = shop
pejabat urusan = business office
kilang = factory

Eating place
panas = hot
sejuk = cold
dajing = meat
lembu = beef
kambing = mutton
ikan = fish
sayur = vegetable

Numbers
satu = one
dua = two
tiga = three
empat = four
lima = five
enam = six
tujoh = seven
lapan = eight
sembilan = nine
sepuluh = ten
sebelas = eleven
dua belas = twelve etc
seratus = one hundred
seribu = one thousand
sejuta = one million

Months
Januari
Februari
Mac
April
Mei
Jun
Julai
Ogos
September
Oktober
November
Disember

Days
Isnin = Mon
Selasa = Tues
Rabu = Wed
Khamis = Thurs
Jumaat = Fri
Sabtu = Sat
Ahad = Sun

dajing = meat
meat shud b daging ...

ze letta 'g' is oways pronounced in ze 'hard' way ... ie. 'g' is never pronounced as j in malay ...

genting is genting ... never jenting ...

meat shud b daging ...

ze letta 'g' is oways pronounced in ze 'hard' way ... ie. 'g' is never pronounced as j in malay ...

genting is genting ... never jenting ...

oic thanks for the correction, my Malay is really basic :smile:

DREAMorACTION

Bagus - good
Jahat - bad
Makan - eat
Minum - drink
Harga - price
Duit - money
Pukul - time
Kiri - left
Kanan - right

That's about all I know and that i can recall haha ... Very limited

Thanks for adding. Anyone please feel free to add and expand the categories.

Bagus - good
Jahat - bad
Makan - eat
Minum - drink
Harga - price
Duit - money
Pukul - time
Kiri - left
Kanan - right

That's about all I know and that i can recall haha ... Very limited

Haha one more phrase I know: jawatan kosong = empty post (vacancy available).

sgtsk

Not forgetting

Selamat pagi/petang/malam = good morning/afternoon/night
Terima kash = thank you
minta ma'af=excuse me or sorri

and I heard a girl whose name is Norasmara=flames of love or simething like light of love :P

vamjok

i only know this vulgarity i picked up from army - dick head. i think it goes something like kabalang jubo. that was my nickname :(

Bagus! Jawatan kosong no got no got

Super Rojak and broken Malay + inggerish :biggrin:

Got lah, I see "jawatan kosong" posters and banners everywhere. From shopping centre management trainee to cashiers to sales to clerks to bank career day, looks like lots of job openings in JB! Btw all stated Malaysian citizens as job requirement.

Not forgetting

Selamat pagi/petang/malam = good morning/afternoon/night
Terima kash = thank you
minta ma'af=excuse me or sorri

and I heard a girl whose name is Norasmara=flames of love or simething like light of love :P

Hi, how to pronounce ma'af?

DREAMorACTION

Those openings aren't adequate to finance our lifestyle leh ... Tak boleh lah ....

There must be some high salary FT openings... I'll have a search one of these days :smile:

Got lah, I see "jawatan kosong" posters and banners everywhere. From shopping centre management trainee to cashiers to sales to clerks to bank career day, looks like lots of job openings in JB! Btw all stated Malaysian citizens as job requirement.

i only know this vulgarity i picked up from army - dick head. i think it goes something like kabalang jubo. that was my nickname :(

Poor thing, got a vulgar word as nickname..I guess vulgarity is part of language but boys and girls don't learn hor..