• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

MINDEF - Sinke soldiers are like kindergarten children, need to tell them stories...

MarrickG

ST_IMAGES_P1BLURBS24-58R.jpg

Chief Warrant Officer Joseph Pereira of the Republic of Singapore Air Force has seen an improvement in his men's morale since storytelling was introduced there in 2008. -- ST PHOTO: DESMOND FOO

By Jermyn Chow , DEFENCE CORRESPONDENT

IT COULD be a story of a dangerous mission overseas, or a recollection of a particularly challenging training exercise.

Commanders in the Singapore Armed Forces (SAF) are being taught how to tell such stories well - in a bid to better reach out to and motivate their men.

Colonel Sukhmohinder Singh, who oversees the training of SAF's commanders, said today's soldiers are more questioning.

'They no longer want to just listen... they want to understand the rationale behind what they do,' he told The Straits Times.

'When you just command and tell, the other person doesn't have to think, he just has to do. But how do you excite him? How do you get to his emotion and not just his cognition?' added the head of the Centre for Leadership Development in the Safti Military Institute.

Since the start of this year, commanders in SAF training schools and institutes, such as the Officer Cadet School and Infantry Training Institute, have been taught storytelling techniques.

Stories centre on the SAF's seven core values, such as 'care for soldiers', 'leadership' and 'professionalism'.

Pointers for SAF commanders - from third sergeants to majors - include how to start a story with an emotional point of view, when and how to marry facts and emotions, and how to extract a lesson from the story.

'When you try to talk about technical and tactical things, it's hard to get people going... humans don't connect to a lot of facts alone but they connect to the story related to the facts,' said Col Singh, 53, who has served in the SAF for 35 years.

About 30 per cent of national service enlistees enter command and leadership positions, such as specialists and officers.

But Col Singh was quick to add that commanders will still be strict taskmasters during training: 'We are still a hierarchical organisation that deals with life and death... that (discipline) will be something we never throw out.'

The Centre for Leadership Development started exploring storytelling in 2007 as part of a new way to groom commanders to communicate effectively with their men.

Other methods taught include getting commanders to pen their reflections after training, setting individual goals, and giving one-on-one coaching advice.

Storytelling was piloted in the Republic of Singapore Air Force (RSAF) in 2008 before it was phased into SAF's training schools this year.

Such moves are paying off for commanders such as Military Expert 4 Joseph Pereira, 51.

'I see a lot more pride and effort put into their work, they are more eager to do things and take the initiative to carry out their tasks,' said the chief warrant officer of the RSAF's Air Defence and Operations Command.

Air force weapons instructor Tan Chwee Leng, 35, said: 'I used to always wish that conversations and stories I had with my seniors during coffee breaks and happy-hour sessions would drag on longer.'

The regular, who has served 14 years, added: 'I can still remember stories that were told to me more than five years ago and I repeat some to my juniors.'

[email protected]

Re: MINDEF - Sinke soldiers are like kindergarten children, need to tell them stories

What a joke?... ha ha ha ....old man had been telling us stories for so many decades & have book shelves of story books written by him, the most recent " Hard tooth"...now available in Mongolian, Urdu & others. You go NS you hear story telling, go home, turn on telly, channel 8, story telling, newspaper, story telling...what a joke!

Re: MINDEF - Sinke soldiers are like kindergarten children, need to tell them stories

new weapon to fight war - broadcast the audio book of heart tooth to the enemies...for sure, they will surrender after the 1st chapter.

mscitw

The real reason why Chief Hoodlum Joseph Pereira sees improvement in morale is simple, 'carrot stick' approach story telling.

Mindef_Storying_Telling()
{
if ( listen_to_orders() )

{
happy_hours();
visit_whorehouse();
no_guard_duties();
}

else
{
no_happy_hours();
no_visit_whorehouse();
many_guard_duties();
}
}

mscitw

Difference between Anglo-Saxon soldier vs Peasantpore paper soldier.

Anglo saxon officer: 'Kill the prisoners.'
Educated Ang Moh soldier:'No, based on Geneva Convention....'
Anglo saxon officer: 'Ok.' (I deal with you later)

Mindef officer: 'Kill prisoners.'
Peasant:'Huh, can meh?'
Mindef officer: 'Tell you a story, if you no listen, I beat you up, simple story ok'
Peasant:"Ok, i help you prepare the machine gun."

Difference between Anglo-Saxon soldier vs Peasantpore paper soldier.

Anglo saxon officer: 'Kill the prisoners.'
Educated Ang Moh soldier:'No, based on Geneva Convention....'
Anglo saxon officer: 'Ok.' (I deal with you later)

Mindef officer: 'Kill prisoners.'
Peasant:'Huh, can meh?'
Mindef officer: 'Tell you a story, if you no listen, I beat you up, simple story ok'
Peasant:"Ok, i help you prepare the machine gun."

mindef officer: Kill prisoners
peasant: huh...why?
mindef officier (in monotone): pursuant to section XXX of SAF Act, .......zzzz......zzzz....
(5 min later)
peasant: ok, i prepare gun..err wait u want which gun har?

wikiphile

New Vocation in MINDEF

Story teller - ME1 - assistant story teller
ME2 - senior assistant story teller
ME3 - story teller
ME4 - lead story teller
ME5 - senior story teller
ME6 - principal story teller
ME7 - senior principal story teller
ME8 - chief story teller

Sinkee Soldier: ''Sir, enemy soldiers running towards our position already.. What to do now?..''

SAF Capt: '' Don't do anything yet.. Let me tell you all story first ok... Now gather all men here..''

lianbeng

lianbeng tries to start a story: "once upon a time, long long ago...":biggrin:

Pointers for SAF commanders - from third sergeants to majors - include how to start a story with an emotional point of view, when and how to marry facts and emotions, and how to extract a lesson from the story.

we're seriously fucked. a bunch of "NATO" troops to be made out of the conscripts?

bro madmansg's mantra is particularly enlightening at this point in time: NS is killing SG

{

{
happy_hours();
visit_whorehouse();
no_guard_duties();
}

else
{
no_happy_hours();
no_visit_whorehouse();
many_guard_duties();
}
}

bwahahahahaha... is it on loop?

Cruxx

lianbeng tries to start a story: "once upon a time, long long ago...":biggrin:

Once upon a time, long long ago, a Cambridge-trained lawyer built Singapore from a fishing village to a modern metropolis and we live happily ever after.

New Vocation in MINDEF

Story teller - ME1 - assistant story teller
ME2 - senior assistant story teller
ME3 - story teller
ME4 - lead story teller
ME5 - senior story teller
ME6 - principal story teller
ME7 - senior principal story teller
ME8 - chief story teller

1. bro, can you add this on to your list? emeritus story teller just in case the me8 goes retire mah!

i see there are a lot of "functions" in your module.

The real reason why Chief Hoodlum Joseph Pereira sees improvement in morale is simple, 'carrot stick' approach story telling.

{

{
happy_hours();
visit_whorehouse();
no_guard_duties();
}

else
{
no_happy_hours();
no_visit_whorehouse();
many_guard_duties();
}
}

the rank machiam those security guards....

chupacabra

Army buggers should get a fucking life. Useless fucks. Makan free, minum free, got free sleeping place...no wonder need bed time stories..