• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Protesters Fail to Occupy Singapore

Leepotism

• <SMALL>October 15, 2011, 5:27 AM ET</SMALL>
[h=1]Protesters Fail to Occupy Singapore[/h]
<!-- article start -->Shibani Mahtani
For a group that boasted defiance, and even designed a profile picture on Facebook with the words, “we will not remain silent,” the organizers of the planned Occupy Raffles Place event in Singapore were very quiet.
[h=3]More In Occupy Wall Street[/h]
Despite planning a demonstration in Singapore’s financial district at 2 p.m. Saturday, inspired by the Occupy Wall Street movement and global protests happening across Asia, the organizers themselves failed to identify themselves. The small crowd at the central square outside Raffles Place MRT station included mostly journalists and photographers, looking listless and bored.
Some plainclothes policemen were also present, after they had earlier warned potential protesters that such a protest would be “unlawful.”
The Facebook page for the event is no longer available, with the group’s @occupysg account posting this message on Twitter: “We should try this again on Monday morning?” The Twitter page has 30 followers.
At 4:15 p.m. Singapore time, two hours after the event was meant to take place, organizers of “Occupy SG” posted this Facebook update: “We are obviously very disappointed with the lack of on the ground support. We take the blame for lack of logistics and planning and we apologise for any inconvenience caused.”
Respondents to the Facebook post blamed organizers for failing to contact their supporters or organize any meetings before the event.
<!-- article end -->

Forvendet

It's not only illegal, it's also insane. The markets and economies go down, what the hell can occupying financial centres help to solve the problems? Most of the protesters have no idea how the markets and economies take a downswing. They were just venting out the fustrations of their own unfortunate circumstances most of which has nothing to do with the downturn, or have lost big sums in the markets without knowing the what, why and how. A successful occupation and shutdown of the markets will make their own circumstances even worse for long periods.

hey...............naive know-nothing.........................

do research on the creation of money out of thin air by banks............................

they DECIDE when economies will gorw or die.....................

the bankers are the REAL masters of this planet........................

Teo Kok Eng

Protesters Fail to Occupy Singapore??

Are you in Singapore now?

Singapore is occupied everyday!

Look at the crowds, Look at the FTs.

Still not convinced? Make a train breakdown in Kallang, you get Tangjong Pagar occupied!

HedgeTrader

Are you in Singapore now?

Singapore is occupied everyday!

Look at the crowds, Look at the FTs.

Still not convinced? Make a train breakdown in Kallang, you get Tangjong Pagar occupied!

Singapore is already divided in three kingdoms 三分天下。Singaporeans, PRCs and other foreigners :(

Your China powder not bad. Now Sg got so many little non-local towns here and there.
Please, my chinese is much much better than the normal people, I can read and write traditional words last n=time, now can read, cannot write liao, LOL

Royalblood

I think the Occupy wall street protest wasn't about people venting their fustration coz they lost big time in the financial crisis. They are protesting about corporate greed and how the big corporations make worse the rich-poor gap thru lobbying with the government. in essence, they want a re-distribution of the economic pie and more power to the people.

The Singapore sit-in was a bit different. think they wanna protest against the resident hardcore speculators (u noe who) @ temasek holdings for gambling away our hard earned cpf monies.

I am v dissapointed tht this didn't take place. It just sent a msg to the government that we are a bunch of servile drones full of empty threats only.

RonRon

296268_298433416849752_100000492883350_1225012_1604930927_n.jpg

:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

The bravado for a planned protest at Raffles Place on Saturday afternoon fizzled out after fewer than 20 people turned up over several hours at the spot where it was supposed to have taken place.

Occupy Raffles Place, a protest modelled after its Wall Street counterpart, was intended to be a 'peaceful movement' to demand accountability and change, said its unidentified organisers, who launched the campaign on social networking site Facebook earlier this month.

They argued that the 'wealth of 99 per cent' of Singaporeans is in the hands of '1 per cent' - Temasek Holdings and the Government of Singapore Investment Corporation.

Organisers said they planned to march towards SGX Centre after meeting fellow protesters at the open space outside Raffles Place MRT Station. But the police warned the public last week against taking part in the protest, as it is considered unlawful.

The bravado for a planned protest at Raffles Place on Saturday afternoon fizzled out after fewer than 20 people turned up over several hours at the spot where it was supposed to have taken place.

Where the fark is Tonychat.. So was he at Raffles Place yesterday to participate in the protest..??? :biggrin: :rolleyes: :*:

Cruxx

Sinkies really pathetic. Everything also import. Even the expression of grievances also must copy the Americans. No individuality, no indigenous culture. Tsk tsk tsk :rolleyes: