• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

The changing face of Filipinos in Singapore

Watchman

By Dodo Certeza (philstar.com) Updated November 19, 2008 10:51 PM

I arrived in Singapore 20 years ago and I would get questions from Singaporeans and foreigners alike on how I got my job in the city-state. It was a struggle but it has allowed me to me experience what it means to be a Filipino in Singapore.

We have been described as a nation of domestic helpers, political dynasties and corrupt government officials. We are quiet by nature, and that's why we never strive to address these negative perceptions. We were content to have a good job and that we have been given the opportunity to work elsewhere.

I have been asking myself what really defines our culture because we always have to remember who we were.

As the top economy in Asia (next to Japan) in the 1960 s and '70s, we even boasted to have the first airline in Asia. When Malaysia's Putrajaya complex was developed to give a new face to Malaysia's seat of power, we had already did this with the proposed development of Roxas Boulevard where the cultural center and coconut palace have been constructed 10 years before. When Singapore structured its economy to become the leader in Southeast Asia, we were a silent partner in this; our architects, engineers, nurses and IT specialists are part of the team that led the development.

The recent win by Barack Obama as the next United States president is a symbolic one even in our context. His win stood for change in the highest regard – race and culture - bringing new hope, which is ensured by strong principles to succeed. This age has also brought about change among Filipinos living in Singapore, which is recognized as the regional hub in Southeast Asia.

President Arroyo in a speech in Singapore last year promised a new city in the Philippines, one that would provide an option for Filipino overseas contract workers and prevent brain drain. The city, which is believed to be the new Clark Development area, is now paved with nice roads and foreign investments from the Middle East and Europe. This was the best idea I have heard since Marcos left office. It's about time we showcase to the world who we are as a people.

I will tell you why we can be proud of who we are now. The Filipino is visible in Singapore today. Tycoons such as John Gokongwei Jr. own large stakes in Singapore blue-chip companies such as UIC. Del Monte is listed on the Singapore exchange.

In finance, Lito Camacho is vice-chairman of Credit Suisse Investment Banking, overseeing billions in investments. Bing de Guzman is CEO of ING private bank and leads wealth management expertise in Asia. Raymundo Yu is Chairman of Merryll Lynch Asia-Pacific.

Entrepreneurs such as polo playing Inigo Zobel has been featured in the Singapore Tatler magazine, while Andrew Tan of MegaWorld properties hit the cover of Forbes Asia just last month. Lucio Tan Jr. and Marco Yuchengco Santos were big investors during the technology boom in Singapore.

For sports, Paul Monozca of the Monozca Foundation was awarded the Sports Minister's Inspirational Award in 2006 and has been named by the society magazine The Peak as a sports philanthropist. Lydia de Vega trains the future track and field stars of Singapore. Al Vergara and Jason Castro are star point guards of the Singapore Slingers professional basketball team. Golfer Jennifer Rosales played in the Lexus (all-women) golf championship. Joey Loinaz and Mikee Cojuanco also lent their presence during equestrian events.

In education, Wharton-educated Bobby Mariano is the dean of economics of the Singapore Management University (SMU), the city-state's best business school. Emil Bolongaita was a leading academic at the Singapore National University years ago.

The music scene here is led by Babes Conde and has been at the forefront of reality shows such as the Singapore Idol. Concerts such as Ryan Cayabyab, Aiza Seguerra and Gary Valenciano have been held in Singapore. Even some of the voices of radio stations here are Filipino.

In media, Rico Hizon of the BBC, Anthony Suntay of ESPN and Jennifer Alejandro/David Nye of Channel News Asia are visible globally as television presenters. Celebrities such as Lea Salonga, Donita Rose and Alessandra De Rossi are well known here. Richard Gomez's gold medal in fencing during the Southeast Asian games here also made a difference a few years back, bringing glamour -- with his wife Lucy Torres -- to the Filipinos in Singapore.

Filipinos have also been named by the Singapore Straits Times newspaper as the top choice for hospitality and service related jobs. Our nurses man Singapore's hospitals.

In the arts, Ben Cab, Charlie Co, Ronald Achacoso, Juan Alcazaren, Annie Cabigting, Nilo Ilarde, Bernardo Pacquing, Elaine Roberto-Navas, Crispin Villanueva Jr. and Dominic Rubio are among dozens of top Filipino painters who have showcased their works and have gotten rave reviews.

Small and medium enterprises dominate one whole shopping mall along Orchard Road (Lucky Plaza) and the 7107 Islands restaurant launched a filipino fine dining restaurant. Hotgrill burgers opened in Lau Pa Sat market.

The fashionable and stunning Mindy Cruz is the new Philippine Ambassador to Singapore.

Our domestic helpers have brought about entrepreneurship with their remittances to the Philippines and are highly regarded now as an indispensable part of family life here.

On Nov. 30, 2008, Singapore will feel like home. The first official Philippine Basketball Association (PBA) game will be held in Singapore, pitting San Miguel Beer and PLDT's Talk&Text teams.

We have come a long way since 20 years ago when I first came here. The future is in our hands.

Mabuhay ang Pinoy !

Teo Kok Eng

We have come a long way since 20 years ago when I first came here. The future is in our hands.

Mabuhay ang Pinoy !
<!-- / message -->
4537174081_93eab4f9eb_z.jpg

4537173343_d5b227f5c1_z.jpg

Teo Kok Eng

From some pinoy working in Singapore:

Funny but Singaporeans know right away if its a Filipino they are talking to in the phone by just listening to the accent.

I came across this Singaporean newspaper named "The New Paper On Sunday" with an article entitled "Maid Trouble". According to the article, more and more maids are getting pregnant. You may have guessed wrong but the pregnancy is not due to rape, but rather either adultery or pre-marital sex. These maids would run away into the night to looking for that inner desire they are mostly deprived of. I'm not saying there is prejudice but most of the maid stories involved in the article are Filipinas.

Most of you might react to this as another expose of prejudice but what I wish to express here is the importance of confidence, self esteem, and being secure of oneself amidst such generalizations.

When I first came here, I was surprised that everybody knew at once that I was Filipino by the way I speak. Quite amusing is the way they were surprised to see a light-skinned Filipino... as if the only Filipino they see are those of darker complexion. I have to admit, during my first days... I felt intimidated. I felt like a third class citizen. Then, I realized... maybe the Singaporeans were not really intimidating me... but rather... I was intimidating myself. I exuded such an aura of inferiority that everybody's predatory instinct fell on me. I gathered myself, summoned composure, and remembered our history of how great a people we are. The following day, I found myself able to look into the eye of another Singaporean with confidence. Then you shall realize that prejudice is a fallacy and nothing but miscommunications mistaken for the former. Its all lack of understanding... and most often than not... prejudice originates from the target.

Teo Kok Eng

From a superior pinoy in Singapore:

As for my case, I came to Singapore at the height of Erap's stupidity. Just when I came in, the bombshell that Chavit dropped exploded that same week, and everyone was talking about the Philippines. Indeed, negative comments about the fact that "we elected an idiot" were floating all around...

In any case, my job is to basically go around to customers as a consultant. In many cases, I'd also do lots of technical presentations and demos to large crowds. When I'd say my name and show it on the Title slide of the Powerpoint deck, of course, it was obvious that I wasn't local, though most people, perhaps because they consider me "light skinned" originally thought that I was a local.

In any case, I was already aware of the slight bias that existed and the "stereotypical view" they had of Filipinos as maids or seamen. So I decided that I'd give them a taste of the "flipside" of the Philippines. The other side.

I decided to give them an idea that "Filipinos are SUPERIOR" as far as education is concerned. So, when I'd give my talks, I'd use THE QUEEN'S ENGLISH. Yup, Lea Salonga, Veronica Pedrosa-style AUTHENTIC BRITISH RECEIVED PRONUNCIATION ENGLISH. (Yung tipong akala mo talagang galing sa London, at hindi halatang peke...)

Of course, I would then jokingly give away the fact that I'm Filipino by joking "Ladies and Gentlemen, I'm absolutely sure that with my Hispanic-sounding middle name and totally strange surname, you're wondering what country I'm from... Well, ladies and gentlemen, I come from the country where the President is an Actor..." Then the audience would burst out laughing... Then I'd joke "Well, I'm here as an economic refugee... In any case, I'm sure things will get better... :smile:"

At that point, medyo ice-breaker. The audience knew that I was Filipino, and they found my stuff funny. But they also couldn't quite place why I had a "British accent."

So, during those talks/presentations to the public, I'd thoroughly speak with that accent, and after the talk, many of them would come to me and ask some technical questions. Usually, at the end of it, someone would say, "Orion, you study overseas bee-foh (before), is it?"

Then I'd answer with the straight British accent, "No I'm sorry, my entire education was all in the Philippines..."

Then they'd say "Wah! Your English so good, ah!" (Paano ba naman, British Colony sila dati, they still have some attachment to the British Accent, plus LKY, when he was younger, also spoke with a very British Accent...)

Then I'd reply, "Actually, most people in the Philippines speak VERY GOOD English."

Then the reply would be "Wah, I never knew education in Philippines (sic) so good ah."

Of course, I wasn't lying. I never studied abroad (except for a 5 week Mandarin summer-course in Taiwan in 1987).

In any case, I always strove to give a very positive spin to my being a Filipino. I know it's hard. Especially with the bad press we're getting because of Erap's recent administration, the excessive poverty shown on TV, and the chaos that is exposed on the news that exists with our inappropriately applied American-style political system.

Another thing that made my Singaporean officemates (most of whom have Filipina maids) think differently of Filipinos was when I would speak to our Southeast Asia Regional Director (who's French) in straight Parisian-accented French... Especially if there are Singaporean officemates around, lalakasan ko yung boses ko para marinig nila na "MAGALING ANG PINOY!" Anyway, hindi naman 'to pagyayabang sa inyo, pero mas maganda kung IPAGMAMAYABANG NATING MGA PINOY NA MAS MAGALING TAYO SA MGA BANYAGA. (Anyway, what I did was merely to show them that they SHOULD NOT STEREOTYPE FILIPINOS just because many of us in Singapore work as maids. Many of them think that our educational system is totally inferior [well, indeed there is some truth to that as for the diploma mills and public schools], but I just wanted to dispel the idea that makes them sometimes subconsciously feel that nothing good can come out of the Philippines, or that ALL education in the Philippines sucks.)

Of course, subtly. Rather than "claim" something. Just show it, subtly... :smile: Kung kayo'y kumakanta o nag-gigitara o piano, ipakita niyo sa officemates niyo ang talento ng Pinoy! In Singapore, they acknowledge that Filipino bands have the BEST MUSICALITY and are superior to any of the local bands. Grabe, a week before Holy Week at Hard Rock Singapore, DEVIATE was playing. Hataw talaga, and the Singaporeans in between their drinks were basically commenting saying things like "Filipino band, always great, ah... Better than our local bands... Cannot com-peh (compare), lah..."

I'm not saying that we should have overbloated egos or what. I'm just saying that while our reputation internationally has suffered somewhat due to Erap and the little problems we've been experiencing, the fact is, WE CAN STILL BE PROUD OF SOMETHING. Of course, left and right, we'll receive criticisms, but let's be self-confident of ourselves so that we don't defensively lash out at them, because that is what usually "confirms" their suspicions that we have an inferiority complex. Let's IMPROVE OURSELVES so that we can easily be confident of ourselves and show other people what we can do. And if and when criticisms come our way, we can be CONFIDENT enough not to be too over-DEFENSIVE.

Let's learn from our mistakes, but let's also build upon our strengths and harness CONFIDENCE from those STRENGTHS and TALENTS.

Teo Kok Eng

From a Pinoy recipient of discrimination with Sinkie asking questions:

I can't exactly give you a story where I was the unfortunate recipient of discrimination. For some reason, they think I'm local. (People in the Food Courts unconsciously start out in Mandarin with me.)... Must be my glasses and my not-so-dark skin. But in any case, I have found some people I met actually give their honest opinions about Filipinos...

Firstly, one officemate asked me... "Orion, I'm curious... Are the schools in the Philippines easy to bribe for a diploma?" I answered "NO." He said, "Then why is it that there are many Filipinos here in Singapore with University degrees working as maids or menial workers, who speak bad English?"

Second instance, one girl I had lunch with several months ago told me, "Your English is so good... How come it's so good, ah? Many Filipino maids in Lucky Plaza have very bad English..."

In other cases, my Pinay friends recounted to me their travails upon having their accents detected as Filipino by some taxi drivers. They've been asked whether they were on their day off, or if they came from work at the nite club.

In fairness to Singaporean Society, such discrimination doesn't always happen. You'll find lots of Singaporeans who happen to be very appreciative of Filipinos. I have a friend named Tania who's into the arts (singing/repertory stuff) and she's extremely impressed by our musical and artistic talents as a people. You'll find that Singaporeans who are INTO THE ARTS are often very "pro-Pinoy." And sometimes, you can't really blame some Singaporeans for having a negative view of Filipinos because of the NEWS FEEDS they get from the Philippines where so much chaos and anarchy are shown on TV. The phenomenon of Erap's having become president in 1998 was very embarassing for Filipinos in Singapore. And indeed, many of the maids-on-day-off in Lucky Plaza really do talk in a very noisy and "bakya" way, plus the way they dress themselves (as if they work part time as japayukis) does cast a negative impression on the community.

...That's why it's important to show them the "other side of Filipinos." The "intellectual" and "professional" side...

Teo Kok Eng

From a rich pinoy who speaks like American and misses the food:

Been to Singapore a lot! My mom lived in a 3 bedroom apartment along Grange road (they say it's the Pacific Plaza of Singapore). She had a maid (pinay siyempre!) and a BMW (but of course, a BMW there is like a Civic here)and a driver.

I personally did not experience any form of discrimination. I look very Malay and not Chinese. They are actually impressed with the way some of us speak English, to the point that some people thought I was American. And everytime I went shopping, the sales ladies were very accomodating, I guess since I'd buy a lot.

My sister studied in the British-American school and she was the lone Filipino, only people thought she was a Korean raised in the States. But, when they found out she was Filipino, some of her classmates kept telling her that they had Filipino maids. They even asked her if my mom was a maid! My sister, being the ***** that she is, promptly said no and even "bragged" about her lifestyle in Manila (X number of cars, X number of maids, X number of country club memberships, etc.). It turns out, that the parents of some her classmates were subordinates of my mom in the oil company my mom was at! Not only that, they were staying in some low-class apartment unlike my sister! Plus their cars were only Corollas and Civics! And they could only dream of having Tag-Heuers which my sister already had 3 (Uso pa Tag-Heuer noon!) Hahaha! :smile:

The way I see it, you just have to be better than them in every way, and when they realize that, they will respect you. Oh yeah, in Singapore, you have to dress up, even when shopping. For some reason, people look at you differently when you're dressed.

I miss the food!

Teo Kok Eng

From Pinoy on maid policies:

There is indeed discrimination, and it's not limited to Singapore naman eh. FYI, all maids regardless of race (i.e. filipina, indonesian, sri lankan, etc) are asked to sign an agreement disallowing them to marry locals. In my opinion it is undeniably discriminative but subtly so. It's the government's way of curbing the migration of foreigners who would otherwise abuse the law (granting they were allowed to marry locals). Look at it this way, maraming mahihirap sa 'pinas (it's a fact) and some feel that the only way to raise yung way of living nila is to get out of the country. And you'd be amazed at the things they would do and the risks they would take para lang makaalis ng 'pinas. To an extent I admire them (especially if they do make it successfully abroad), pero (and I'm not trying to generalize) some are just in it for the perceived instant wealth that's at the 'other side of the fence' only to be disappointed. By then, they would have lost their savings, perhaps even the faith of their own families. If they're lucky they'll have someone to help them out. If not, what other options would they be left with? I'd rather not put it down but I'm sure some of you get the drift.

Nevertheless, going back to the discrimination thingy, it's only the status that the government discriminates upon. If the maids do in fact get involved with a local, they can still get married in the Philippines, then back to Singapore to legalize it if they really want to. Yun lang nga, she would no loger be returning as a maid. I've seen a couple of such marriages, and I'm not quite sure how they went about it.

Perhaps I sound like I'm defending the government here, but what really is there to be angry about? Of course there are issues about the high standards of living and all, but at the end of the day, we still have a roof on our heads to enjoy our three or more meals a day and watching our oversized TV screens with a somewhat corny collection of channels on SCV, and still have time and money for a drink or two at the American Embassy (*wink* at Orion) or anywhere else.

Teo Kok Eng

From Pinoy who knows about Sinkie character flaws:

Hmmmm... I wonder what all the fuss was about. I have been here in Singapore for more than a year already and frankly I couldn't feel any discrimination at all. Am I blind or what. Maybe (and just maybe) we are all just imagining all these 'discrimination' stuff. I mean there can be so many racists out there but I think we should not generalize based on our own experiences only.

I agree with balut that if we are sure of ourselves, we wouldn't even be feeling this. The problem with him is that he attacked the person who wrote the article not the issue at hand by intimating that Orion has an inferiority complex. Maybe, a lot of filipinos feel that they are being discriminated against because of the way they view themselves. Maybe a lot of us here in Singapore feel inferior and discriminated against because of a low self esteem. So what if a lot of us filipinos and filipinas work as domestic helpers or seamen? Those are noble jobs! Compare that with a lot of those corrupt politicians in Manila who persecute the Abu Sayaff when they themselves are stealing a lot more. Oh, I understand that this fact also has contributed to what we think as low regard for our race here in Singapore. Again I say, so what??? We have to simply admit to ourselves and to others that, though we may have some problems at home or our country's a mess, that doesn't mean we are too as individuals. At the same time, we should take this opportunity to better ourselves.

Do you guys know that the Singaporeans have several character flaws too? A lot of Singaporean girls thinks that Singaporean males are useless, good for nothing low earners. Conversely, a lot of Singaporean males look at Singaporean women as too materialistic, lazy, and completely unsuitable as wives. That's why a lot of Singaporean males go to China just to look for wives while Singaporean women are always on the look-out for Caucasian, moneyed men. And this is the race we're supposed to be inferior to??? Come on!

My point here is that what we feel as discrimination may actually be just that, a feeling. And this may be more related to a poor self-worth rather than a general sentiment of Singaporeans on our race. Though we have to admit that our country is not as rich as theirs (GDP-wise. Environmentally-wise I think our country's the best whereas Singapore has no environmental resources whatsoever), it doesn't follow that our race is less rich culturally or intellectually.

Teo Kok Eng

From a Pinoy manager who hire only Pinoy and think Indians not up to standard:

I am an I.T. manager in the company I am working in. I manage a team of filipinos. When I got based here in Singapore, I managed to bring my whole team here. I just found it funny that Indians were being hired to fill up positions that we filipinos are actually better at. Now, the filipino team members I brought in are team leaders. Singaporeans actually report to them and look to them for guidance.

Teo Kok Eng

From Pinoy who save $842 a month:

here's the new and accurate breakdown of monthly expenses:

300SGD - accommodation (bedspace - 2 mos dep & 1 month adv)
300SGD - food
50SGD - utilities
100SGD - transpo (tama ka, bro. housing is near the bus/mrt daw)
177SGD - placement fee for Phil Agency (=2500SGD/1month salary)
431SGD - placement fee for Sing Agency (=5000SGD/2months salary)
200 SGD - communication/internet expense (?)
100SGD - miscellaneous

TOTAL: 1658 SGD
SAVINGS: 842 SGD
VERDICT: is it worth it in the long run?

the employees will live in a pre-determined housing where four people share one room.

oli9

From Pinoy who save $842 a month:

Savings of $842 is about 28,000 pesos. That's a hefty sum for a lazy pig guzzling pinoy. Their average standard of living is only about $S400 per month in Manila. Accenture in Phillipines only offering $20K pesos salary for a software engineer.
The plus point being in Spore for a Pinoy is that they can get into the casino for free & enjoy lording over useless Sinkies who has a poor command of English & a low esteem after years of brainwashing by the govt.

Received_by_Kings

Your country is hopeless. Don't ever hope to rival Singapore or even Malaysia. Hahaha 50s and 60s? What a joke! This is something you should remain quiet about, for fear of becoming a laughing stock of the world.

And if you ugly fags are so good, then remain in the Philippines! Work and build ALL those architectural wonders there instead. Go home. The fact that you need to venture out tells a lot about you and your equally hopeless country.

It is really surprising that people of your inferior culture being wholly owned by both the Spaniards (they despise you people even today together with those equally dirt-like Mexicans, Argentinians, Chileans etc that they also ruled over before) and the Americans (they are certainly more liberal but they feel quite the same about your type in reality) can actually be so incredibly proud and conceited when you are just creepy-looking developing trash all in all.

And you talk shit about "supporting" Obama only because he happened to be a black man (although he is actually a half-black). Yes, admit it. To think you even need to lean on him to feel secure. How low and pathetic!

Your boring and begging essay will do little to persuade any of your readers that you and your country are full of hope.

In short, save your breath!

By Dodo Certeza (philstar.com) Updated November 19, 2008 10:51 PM

I arrived in Singapore 20 years ago and I would get questions from Singaporeans and foreigners alike on how I got my job in the city-state. It was a struggle but it has allowed me to me experience what it means to be a Filipino in Singapore.

We have been described as a nation of domestic helpers, political dynasties and corrupt government officials. We are quiet by nature, and that's why we never strive to address these negative perceptions. We were content to have a good job and that we have been given the opportunity to work elsewhere.

I have been asking myself what really defines our culture because we always have to remember who we were.

As the top economy in Asia (next to Japan) in the 1960 s and '70s, we even boasted to have the first airline in Asia. When Malaysia's Putrajaya complex was developed to give a new face to Malaysia's seat of power, we had already did this with the proposed development of Roxas Boulevard where the cultural center and coconut palace have been constructed 10 years before. When Singapore structured its economy to become the leader in Southeast Asia, we were a silent partner in this; our architects, engineers, nurses and IT specialists are part of the team that led the development.

The recent win by Barack Obama as the next United States president is a symbolic one even in our context. His win stood for change in the highest regard – race and culture - bringing new hope, which is ensured by strong principles to succeed. This age has also brought about change among Filipinos living in Singapore, which is recognized as the regional hub in Southeast Asia.

moolightaffairs

From a Pinoy manager who hire only Pinoy and think Indians not up to standard:

Singaporeans are more capable!!! but kena suppress by FAP till become slaves and willing to let any low down people lead. including pinoy and mama!!! :oIo:

pinoy are more emo and dramatic. they cannot handle crisis. ang mo like them because they are like jesters in the king's court. in the office, they are good at make merry than getting jobs done. cant take stress and heavy work load, get carried away when having fun. they can only be good pub singers in sg pub. i dunno about maid. no leadership at all how to lead? become leader will bring in whole village to the office!!! good staff got to make way for their own countryman. generally their english comes with a heavy tagalog accent no matters which educational levels. standard of their degree very low, maybe only able to compare to our ITE. those who make it to sg, their head swell damn big and look down on sgporean. they thought they are here to SAVE us!!! :eek: oh my god!!!

sherrry

the only reason why any organization is willing to hire foreign staff, is just a status quo to show clients that they have a pool of "hand-picked" talents from the region. just need to hire some graduate p/time model, make them wear business attire daily, while their KPI is just to look good & professional, smile & stun the client, while the managers do the presentation & close the deals.

no_faith

as for me, i dun classified as talent.

i recall one incident. there is a pinoy by the name .......lopez.

there was a meeting wif the client. the client and our company has cls relationship.
he was asking this lopez is from whr, my mgr told him from pinoy.

he said aiya, pinoy cannot work wan lah.

like wat moonlightaffairs commented, dey cant take stress, heavy workload.

dey tot come here holidays and earn gd money at same time.
knna come here to be princess and prince ah :oIo: