• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore to launch new work pass for top talent in all sectors from 2023

SBFNews

Singapore to launch new work pass for top talent in all sectors from 2023
www.channelnewsasia.com

MOM said that the top talent who qualify for the new pass would likely have been able to enter Singapore under the existing EP framework, but the additional flexibility strengthens Singapore’s attraction as a global hub for talent. The benchmark salary of S$30,000 is comparable to the top 5 per cent of EP holders in Singapore.

“MOM will closely engage pass holders during their time in Singapore. The flexibilities offered by this pass are meant to allow pass holders to contribute meaningfully to Singapore. It is not meant to be abused as a visit or travel document,” said Dr Tan.

Applications for the Overseas Networks & Expertise pass will be open from Jan 1.

OTHER CHANGES TO WORK PASSES​

The new ONE Pass was introduced along with other changes to Singapore’s work pass framework that are designed to better attract talent and to streamline processes for companies hiring them.

The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) will introduce a five-year EP to experienced professionals filling tech jobs requiring highly specialised skills currently in shortage in the local workforce.

These will be specified in the upcoming COMPASS Shortage Occupation List (SOL). They also have to earn a salary of at least S$10,500, and are subject to COMPASS criteria.

“This enhancement will provide greater certainty to experienced tech professionals when making major decisions on relocating to Singapore, and this will allow us to anchor tech capabilities even as we develop our local pipeline,” said Dr Tan.

There will also be changes made to the salary benchmark and work pass conditions for the top 10 per cent of EP holders or applicants from Sep 1, 2023.
Dr Tan said that MOM will set a single benchmark of the top 10 per cent of EP holders, and the salary threshold for a number of requirements for work pass applications will be aligned to this. The new threshold is set at $22,500, and will start in September 2023.

He explained: “This benchmark and streamlining are intended to give companies greater clarity on our work pass framework. With a benchmark, companies will know that future changes to the salary thresholds and criteria will be incremental.”

This will affect advertising for a job opening under the Fair Consideration Framework (FCF) and the new COMPASS framework. Currently if the position’s monthly salary is S$20,000 or more, companies do not have to advertise under FCF and the candidate is exempt from COMPASS requirements. This will be adjusted upwards to S$22,500.

FCF advertising refers to a requirement for companies here to advertise a job opening for a specified time period before hiring a non-local.

The salary benchmark for the PEP will also be adjusted to S$22,500, up from S$18,000 as of Sep 1 next year.

FASTER PROCESSING OF EMPLOYMENT PASSES​

Responding to companies’ feedback, the Ministry of Manpower (MOM) will also reduce the duration of (FCF) job advertising from 28 days to 14 days from Sep 1 this year.

Dr Tan said that the FCF advertising time was doubled in October 2020 during a weak job market, and MOM is making this adjustment now that the job market has rebounded strongly.

MOM also promised employers that they will reduce processing time for EPs and respond to all applications within 10 business days. For now, 85 per cent of online EP applications are processed within three weeks. The ministry will also furnish reasons why the EP application failed, or was delayed, in a bid for greater transparency.

“We hope that these changes will allow companies to move with greater speed and certainty when it comes to hiring,” he said.

Dr Tan said that the goal underlying all the changes to the work pass framework is to create more, and more exciting, opportunities for Singaporeans.

“By bringing the best from around the world, we can tap on their networks, we can learn from their expertise, and ultimately, we will accelerate the development of our own local talent pool.”

DEVELOPING LOCAL TALENT​

He promised that, in tandem, Singapore will continue to invest heavily in developing the local workforce. For example, the Industry Transformation Maps (ITMs) mapped out growth plans for 23 sectors and for each, MOM identified in-demand jobs and skills strategies to build up the local talent pipeline.

The ministry has also launched Jobs Transformation Maps, to provide job-level insights on the impact of technology on the industry and workforce.

Singapore agencies also have programmes to help locals gain global and regional exposure, such as the International Posting Programme that funds overseas postings for Singaporeans in the financial sector, and the SkillsFuture Leadership Development Initiative that supports companies across sectors to develop local leaders, he said.

“We are making very systematic efforts. But when it comes to developing our own people, the work is never finished. We must keep doing more.

"Our ambition is to groom many more Singaporeans into becoming world-class leaders, standing shoulder-to-shoulder with global giants,” said the Manpower Minister.

He added that as part of the Forward Singapore exercise, the Government will consult workers and businesses on how it can encourage even more locals to take on regional and global opportunities.

“Singapore needs to take a proactive approach to cement our position as a global hub for talent; we need send a clear message to the world that we remain open for business,” said Dr Tan.

“We will continue to groom our local talent and our leadership pool. We must attract the best here, so we can learn from them. And support to project and send our locals abroad so that they can acquire greater regional and global exposure to take up leadership positions and be strongly anchored back home.”

borom

I guess CECA not open enough , so introduce more and more liberal regime to attract foreigners.
Expect to see more and more locals carrying cardboards for exercise

SBFNews

I guess CECA not open enough , so introduce more and more liberal regime to attract foreigners.
Expect to see more and more locals carrying cardboards for exercise
Lots of PAP elite landlords. Their properties need to be rented out. Cannot crash the market you know. Otherwise the likes of John Tan no additional income :biggrin:

The pappies won't be satisfied until the local to expat ratio resembles that of Dubai. :biggrin:

Hope daft Sinkies enjoy their 'strong Singapore core'. :cool:

popwhitepaper1.jpg

A Singaporean

To increase the percentage of citizens in the workforce, foreigners will be given citizenship automatically to boost the percentage of citizens going forward. Sinkies can no longer kpkb.

hollowman

The Ministry of Manpower (MOM) will introduce a five-year EP to experienced professionals filling tech jobs requiring highly specialised skills currently in shortage in the local workforce.
Other than inventing something out of nothing, what skills is highly specialised?

"Our ambition is to groom many more Singaporeans into becoming world-class leaders, standing shoulder-to-shoulder with global giants,” said the Manpower Minister.

We should send them for an exchange program with India. It's amazing how many top CEOs and world class leaders India has been producing.

Willamshakespear

They don't know as well. Just import and hopefully the talent comes up with something.

Who are these talents? Many will wonder. The elected govt can only do so much. The answer lays with EMPLOYERS whom are willing to pay more than $22,000/mth for such employees.

Rather than to complain, whine & moan, we Singaporeans can do better - Knowledge & information is POWER. Those employers who hire such talents will have to have mandatory fellow Singaporeans in the company. Find out from them - invite them out for recreation, build up connection network right up to these talents. No matter how busy they are, they will have to have recreation or they will suffer from mental burnout. They may not be forthcoming about themselves & their lives to strangers, but OVER TIME, they will become comfortable & each will have a HIS TORY to tell to someone whom is willing to listen.

Listen to their achievements in life, not just the education pre-requisites, BUT their experiences, their motivations, their connections to the employers, etc, etc. From there, we Singaporeans must not just copy & paste, but CRITICALLY analyze the information, & BE BETTER than what they had achieved, by building UPON knowledge as our Worldwide scientific community had done. While we ourselves may be too late to be like them & earn what they had earned, we CAN pass the information & TEACH our next generations how to become better than them.

Knowledge & information is seldom freely given. It can only be built upon trust, & is never a 1 way street. Talents are foreigners, & no matter how much they know, real life in Singapore is far different. They will need help & support not just for their own careers, but in the adjustments & life in a foreign land that one whom is a Spore citizen & had proven trustworthy, will be listened to for their needs -best housing, local laws, culture, recreation & savings on such as money is often never enough even to the wealthiest - they got rich by savings & not by being spendthrifts.

At our Independence in 1965, one of our great founding fathers - the late Mr. Lee KY, watched the population - mostly uneducated & living in kampongs - in despaired on how Singapore can rise. But he never gave up. In opening the tourism/service sector, he told the population - to let the mostly westerners - 'let them play while we served them. We will learn from them'. True enough, within a mere 30 yrs, we did learn. Now we OWN hotels & industries either physically or in shares Worldwide. Far East Organization, Citi Developments Limited, Hotel Properties Limited, Capitaland Limited, etc, etc.

There are MANY MORE industries blossoming as Humankind advances, such as clean energy, cutting edge material science, health advancements, etc, that we Singaporeans can learn from, adapt & create our own as our courageous forefathers had do for us. We will never kneel to any adversities, but stand up intelligently & courageously, for our & our loved ones future...

Willamshakespear

Why fear or run away? If one can't rise up to the challenge to be better than others here, then does one think he/she will perform better elsewhere where the competition is even more intense in the free market?

Singapore is one's home. 强龙不按地头蛇 . (Chinese proverb: The mighty dragon from outside will not be able to subdue the local snake )

No need to get angry, jealous, moan or whine. Stand up, rise up to the challenge & learn from them & be better, to secure an honest living for oneself & loved ones into a brighter future. Good luck :smile:

Why fear or run away? If one can't rise up to the challenge to be better than others here, then does one think he/she will perform better elsewhere where the competition is even more intense in the free market?

Singapore is one's home. 强龙不按地头蛇 . (Chinese proverb: The mighty dragon from outside will not be able to subdue the local snake )

No need to get angry, jealous, moan or whine. Stand up, rise up to the challenge & learn from them & be better, to secure an honest living for oneself & loved ones into a brighter future. Good luck :smile:
No angry. Whine. Moan. How much u make in pap Singapore, in the net troll? :cautious:

Loofydralb

Isn't it time Sinkies pack up and migrate?
Remember to throw away your citizenship and withdraw your CPF, sell your properties, liquidate your assets and evade NS for your kids because these are what scares PAP the most, ie people running away with their money.
They are not afraid of your votes.