• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Sg video] - CNA host Steven Chia talks to Cai Png stall owners to find out all the hacks to get the most bang for your buck

True Believer

Fuck lah everywhere in SG also expensive, go Malaysia eat cheaper than here and can convert to ringgit x3
It's no longer economical to eat economic rice. With the plethora of charges and definitions at every stall, helpers need to have a really good memory in order to charge correctly. Those who don't know the charges by heart will err on the side of caution by overcharging diners. This accounts for the high prices.

The simple answer is to buy cai png from neighbourhood coffee shops and hawker centres and not foodcourts, especially those in Orchard Road. :rolleyes::cautious::roflmao:

Real kopitiams and not those owned by F&B crony franchises e.g. Koufu, S21, Kim San Leng, Kopitiam Group, Chang Cheng Group.

Real hawker centres and not fake hawker centres.

A list of fake hawker centres:

Hawker Centres Managed by NEA-appointed Operators

https://www.nea.gov.sg/corporate-fu...er-centres-managed-by-nea-appointed-operators

Many of us home cooks are capable of producing tastier and far more nutritional meals at lower prices than hawkers. However, workers simply don't have time to return home to cook and there is not a lot to do on weekends apart from eating out and window shopping.
Peanut butter sandwich with japanese cucumber is ok. Otherwise its scarmble eggs.

True Believer

The charges at those upmarket food courts in Orchard Rd shopping malls are priced to meet their rental.

People should be prepared to pay $8 for a meal at Orchard Road. It's not fair to expect hawkers to offer low prices in such an swanky area.

True Believer

People should be prepared to pay $8 for a meal at Orchard Road. It's not fair to expect hawkers to offer low prices in such an swanky area.
I can't understand those diners at the food court at MBS complaining about the high prices while enjoying their meal in aircon comfort in a swanky downtown mall.

Or complaining about kopi costing them $1.50 while they buy $7 coffees a hipster cafes

True Believer

Or complaining about kopi costing them $1.50 while they buy $7 coffees a hipster cafes
That's what annoys me. When customers think that a hot and dirty kopitiam shouldn't charge more than $1 for a coffee, but feel that $7 is reasonable for a coffee served at Starbucks or Coffee Bean. Basically, we pay for what we get, and that is not confined to what's in the cup, but the ambience, comfort and experience we enjoy while drinking it.