• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

SG Cabby Beaten Up Badly By Ang Moh FTrash

20120927.183534_cabbiesbeaten.jpg

blank.gif

blank.gif

Wednesday, Sep 26, 2012
The New Paper
blank.gif

blank.gif

<FORM method=post name=emailToFriendForm action=emailToFriend.jsp><INPUT name=emailToFriendPageURL value=/vgn-ext-templating/asiaone/emailToFriend.jsp?vgnextoid=602d02611600a310VgnVCM100000430a0a0aRCRD&vgnextchannel=e51829dcee322110VgnVCM100000bd0a0a0aRCRD type=hidden> <INPUT name=emailToFriendStoryLink value=http://www.asiaone.com/Motoring/News/Story/A1Story20120926-373787.html type=hidden> </FORM>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

blank.gif

<!-- byline display here -->By Audrey Tan
<!-- CONTENT : start -->Kicked and punched after asking for fare
SINGAPORE - His vision was blurred from the blood flowing from his eyes.

Lying on the ground, the taxi driver had lost his bearings and didn't know where he was.

He had been attacked, allegedly by a passenger, and was unable to drive to get help.

So he did the only thing he could.

He sent out an SOS to his fellow drivers, some of whom were from rival cab companies, and they rushed to the scene to help their fallen comrade.
Around 1.30am last Wednesday, Mr Gui Hwee Meng, 58, picked up three Caucasian passengers - a couple and another man - at Marina Bay Sands.
When The New Paper spoke to Mr Gui on Monday, he said the passengers had smelled of alcohol and were "a little high".

Mr Gui, who has been driving an SMRT Prestige Chrysler taxi for more than two years, said the couple alighted at Grand Hyatt Singapore.

The remaining passenger wanted to go to Newton Road. Mr Gui, a cabby of 12 years, said that when he drove along Orchard Road, the passenger got angry and scolded him for using a longer route.

He claimed the passenger, who was seated behind, knocked him on the back of his head and demanded: "Why didn't you turn?"

When they reached Gilstead Road just before 2am, the man alighted without paying the fare after being told that the taxi did not have a Nets machine.

Mr Gui said he went after the man, who asked him how much the fare was.

He added: "I told him it was $22.30, and he paid me in cash. But when I bent down to pick up my phone (that had dropped out of his pocket), he kicked me in the face."

He claimed his spectacles flew off and his bluetooth device, which had been hooked to his shirt, was also lost.

He alleged that the man hit his head twice after he fell and was left in a daze after the attack. The man then ran into a condominium nearby.

Mr Gui recalled standing up unsteadily and pulling out his walkie-talkie to call for help. He wanted to press the button to activate the group chat to a network of taxi drivers that he was a part of.

But he accidentally pressed a private number and contacted another cabby who drives a Mercedes-Benz with ComfortDelgro.

Mr Gui said about 200 limousine taxi drivers from companies like ComfortDelgro, TransCab, SMRT and CityCab are in his chat group.

The other cabby, who wanted to be known only as Ms Tan, said it was difficult to understand what the injured Mr Gui was saying.

She said: "He kept giving me the wrong spelling of the place (where he was at)."

Mr Gui added: "I didn't know where I was."

Ms Tan, who has been driving for about four years, called SMRT to locate her friend.

She told the company to track him using the Global Positioning System (GPS) device installed in his taxi. SMRT then called the police and the Singapore Civil Defence Force (SCDF) to take Mr Gui to the hospital.

The SCDF told TNP that it received a call at 2.10am and an ambulance took Mr Gui to Tan Tock Seng Hospital.
<!-- Start Photo Gallery -->
2 cabbies terrorised
Click on thumbnail to view. (Photos: Stomp)

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
<!-- End Photo Gallery --><!-- Start Photo Gallery -->
Photos: Cabby, terrorised by teen girls
Click on thumbnail to view.
(Photos: Jack Tay, TNP)

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
<!-- End Photo Gallery -->
>> Next

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
<!-- End For Web Only -->

<!-- CONTENT : end --><IFRAME style="WIDTH: 183px; HEIGHT: 20px" class=twitter-follow-button title="Twitter Follow Button" src="http://platform.twitter.com/widgets/follow_button.1347008535.html#_=1348863297523&id=twitter-widget-1&lang=en&screen_name=asiaonemotoring&show_count=false&show_screen_name=true&size=m" frameBorder=0 allowTransparency scrolling=no data-twttr-rendered="true"></IFRAME>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

Today 01:05 AM#12observer

user-offline.png

<DL class=userinfo_extra><DT>Join Date</DT><DD>Jan 2012</DD><DT>Posts</DT><DD>220</DD></DL>

a culmination of many factors:
1. firstly ang mo we open gates thats why they are here in the first place.
2. then, casino. ang mo no $$ to pay probably lost many in casino.
3. police - nowhere to be found, maybe busy with pushing peoples head into their groin.
4. court - can pay 1000 and settle this issue.

ask yourself deeply and truthfully, who or what, caused all this?​

M

Mdm Tang

Minister Shan and DPM Teo should do something for the weak and

vulnerable and those who by nature of their jobs cannot fight back :

http://news.asiaone.com/News/The+Straits+Times/Story/A1Story20080203-47963.html

Will police act if you're punched? It's not so simple

MAN gets punched in the mouth, loses a tooth or two and requires stitches on a split lip.

The police are called in. But when they come, all they do is take down the particulars of both parties and let the assailant go.

The disgruntled victim is left wondering: 'Why aren't the police arresting my attacker?'

Such a scenario has become familiar in recent years, judging from press reports and letters to the Forum page of The Straits Times. Members of the public are left scratching their heads as to why the police do not seem to be doing their duty of protecting the people.

From a businessman who was punched by an American sailor in Wheelock Place to a bust-up over a cat between two men in the void deck of a Bishan flat to a man who had four teeth knocked off by a stranger - every time something like that happens, the public picks on the seeming police inaction.

The crux of the issue lies in the distinction made between seizable and non-seizable offences under the law.

If a crime is considered under the Criminal Procedure Code to be 'seizable', the police can arrest the suspect immediately without needing a warrant.

But if it's not, then it is up to the victim to seek his own redress. He can complain to a magistrate who can then instruct the police to investigate, take up a private prosecution, or file a civil suit for damages.

A senior police officer of the rank of assistant superintendent or above can also authorise a full investigation into a non-seizable offence but without the powers of arrest.

The list of seizable and non-seizable offences has been in place since Singapore's laws were set after independence and has generally remained unchanged.

This list basically reflects which crimes the State deems as the more serious ones which require immediate police attention, such as murder, rape, kidnapping, robbery and theft.

For the not so serious ones such as perjury, mischief and cheating, the police have no power to arrest, or even investigate, unless a magistrate orders it.

While very few would dispute the classification of most of these crimes, the most problematic area lies in the distinction between voluntarily causing hurt (a non-seizable offence) and voluntarily causing grievous hurt (which is seizable).

The layman finds it hard to understand why someone who punches another person is not immediately taken into custody. To most, this is an assault serious enough to warrant a more appropriate response.

Criminal lawyer Anand Nalachandran says: 'Victims of physical violence assume the police will take action when a criminal offence has been committed and would not expect the police to direct them to make a magistrate's complaint instead.'

Criminal law lecturer Michael Hor says the problem is due to a 'mismatch of expectations' between the police and the public on how such cases should be handled.

But the hands of the police are tied by the law and how it distinguishes a 'simple' hurt case from one which is 'grievous'.

The law states that for an injury to be 'grievous', it has to meet one of 10 criteria set out in the Penal Code.

The criteria include permanent loss of sight or hearing, castration, fracture and permanent loss of limb or joint.

There is also one where the classification of grievous hurt hinges on whether the victim is hurt badly enough to feel pain and cannot go about his normal activities for 20 days or more.

Non-Constituency Member of Parliament Sylvia Lim suggested in Parliament recently that the Penal Code be changed to widen the scope of what degree of bodily harm is considered 'grievous'. She said: 'Are we setting too high a tolerance for violence?'

Criminal lawyers suggested that if the list of criteria is widened, then conditions such as 'if blood is spilt', 'if a tooth is dislodged' or 'if swelling occurs' should be included.

After the Penal Code was revised last year, the definition of grievous hurt was expanded to include death and non-consensual penetration of the vagina or anus.

But having a long list of criteria might make it hard for a police officer on the ground to determine when a case should be deemed grievous or not.

Professor Hor said tweaking the meaning of 'grievous' could prove to be difficult. 'No matter what formula is used, some non-trivial case will slip through.'

Another suggestion is to classify simple hurt as a seizable offence.

Ms Lim said the public found the inability of the police to act in simple hurt cases rather 'non-sensible', and continuing to keep things the way they are would 'undermine the public sense of safety'.

She gave an example: If she scratched someone's car, she could be arrested on the spot for vandalism; but if she punched someone, causing a nose bleed, she could walk away.

But Singapore Management University law lecturer S. Chandra Mohan said it was 'not in the public interest' to subject all people who have been accused of committing a minor offence to the process of being arrested, detained and bailed out.

'That sort of ready interference with the liberty of a citizen, upon a mere allegation of the commission of a non-seizable or minor offence, would be intolerable in Singapore,' he said.

Prof Hor also felt such 'drastic steps' of making simple hurt a seizable offence were not necessary.

'The consequence may well be that valuable resources might have to be spent on relatively trivial offences against the good judgment of the police, at the expense of proper investigation of the more serious offences,' he said.

Police received 8,288 reports of causing simple hurt last year and investigated about 20 per cent of these.

Going by these figures, if causing simple hurt became a seizable offence, the police would have an extra work load of about 23 cases a day.

On the other hand, grievous hurt cases numbered a much more manageable 106 last year and 85 in 2006 - about one case every three or four days.

Prof Hor said: 'We could include simple hurt in the list of seizable offences - but that would mean that every slap or punch will have to be investigated, so long as it causes some pain, no matter how slight.'

Many simple hurt cases include situations such as parents slapping children, family disputes and quarrels getting out of hand. Most are resolved quickly without the need for the police to intervene or press charges.

Senior Minister of State for Law and Home Affairs Ho Peng Kee stressed in Parliament in response to Ms Lim that the police view such cases seriously, pointing to changes to the Penal Code which will increase the maximum jail term for simple hurt cases from one year to two.

Associate Professor Ho said the police are not deaf to the public's concerns and have acted in cases of simple hurt when the victims were young children, the elderly, mentally challenged people or those who were performing public service such as bus drivers and carpark attendants.

But for now, the status quo will remain.

The police have made it easier for victims to lodge a magistrate's complaint by supplying them with the necessary forms and also giving them a contact to call at the police station, if they need more help.

Prof Hor suggests setting up an independent panel to review cases where the police have decided not to investigate an assault.

'This will afford aggrieved victims a flexible, case-by-case means of requesting that a decision of non-prosecution be revisited.'

[email protected]

finally! i have a list...
- my secondary english teacher who made me do 100 push ups for not cutting my nails.
- secondary sports teacher for throwing his shoe at me when i sit up too slow.
- the rude waitress in hard rock cafe singapore
- the salesman in Prada that looked down on me
- the macdonald cleaner who scolded me when i asked them to clean up the table from previous consumer.
- the girl in blue who quickly pressed the close button in the lift when they see people rushing for it.
- my neighbour who always smoke and talk loudly outside my door
- that drunk abandoned angmo in clarke quay who insulted asians when i helped him on his feet out of goodwill.
- the sim lim shop guy who sold me fake .....
Posted by: mooboxy at Mon Dec 01 10:08:16 SGT 2008

I am the Lord your God (LKY???)
You shall have no other gods before me (Quiters like us migrate?)
You shall not make for yourself an idol (Francis Seow)
You shall not make wrongful use of the name of your God (Communist as PAP in 60+)
Remember the Sabbath and keep it holy (We do work on Sunday! Parking coupon, no littering, no smoking in public...)
Honor your father and mother (You ungrateful brate, I will rise from the dead - LKY)
You shall not murder (Go Malaysia, blast it to pieces but not here)
You shall not commit adultery (No worries, just go Lor 18)
You shall not steal (Stealing not right, but day light robbery is okay, DBS fiasco, GST, fines)
You shall not bear false witness against your neighbor (Not to your neigbor, doing it to the offspring, .....
Posted by: Nakazoru at Mon Dec 01 04:41:03 SGT 2008

Ok, so that means if there's a chance and I use my fist to punch our PM and MM's face with all strength designated to destroy jaw, nose and eyes, then I can't be charged either? Because there's no law which they can charge me under since the above offense isn't a crime in SG?

If yes, then I know what to do next time when I see them or have a chance to get close to them. :cool:

Maybe SG isn't such a bad country after all. Sure, you can't chew gum or carry guns, but you can punch people and can't get sued or jailed!
Also, from today onwards, if your bosses scold you etc, you can just punch him and break his nose. :cool:

Btw, anyone in the same camp as our PM's son? Can try punching .....
Posted by: NikarNikar at Mon Dec 01 00:33:49 SGT 2008

M

Mdm Tang

http://singaporelegaladvice.com/what-is-a-magistrates-complaint/

What is a magistrate’s complaint?
April 26, 2011• Criminal and Civil Law, Singapore Legal System
Criminal offences are categorized into seizable offences and non-seizable offences. For seizable offences, the police is empowered to arrest the suspect immediately without requiring a warrant. For non-seizable offences, the police cannot arrest the suspect immediately. This rule is in place so that police resources are not strained by less serious cases. The definition of seizable and non-seizable offences is found in the First Schedule of the Criminal Procedure Code, accessible from here.

For non-seizable offences, the victim usually has to make a magistrate’s complaint. This is simply an application to a magistrate to look into the case to determine its gravity. The magistrate may order the police to investigate, issue a notice for mediation, or dismiss the case. For more information on making a magistrate’s complaint, go to the Subordinate Courts’ website here.

M

Mdm Tang

http://singaporelegaladvice.com/arrestable-or-not-seizable-and-non-seizable-offences-in-singapore/.

When does the police arrest an offender? Seizable and non-seizable offences in Singapore
August 1, 2011• Criminal Law
In recent years, multiple instances have surfaced whereby punches have been thrown and police have been called in, but no arrests were made. In this cases, police officers present at the scenes restricted themselves to recording the identities of the parties involved, as well as questioning witnesses. This has perplexed many Singaporeans. When will an arrest be made?

Police Procedure in Singapore

The police would ascertain the situation and determine if the fracas involved a crime categorised as an arrestable offence by the Criminal Procedure Code. For a non-arrestable offence, police cannot make any arrests without a warrant. If it is not definitively an arrestable offence, the police would ensure that any victims receive medical treatment. They would then gather witness reports and record the identity of parties involved.

What to do with a non-arrestable offence?

Police would advice parties involved in non-arrestable offences to make a Magistrate’s complaint. The Magistrate will then decide if the crime is worth prosecuting.

What are arrestable offences?

For a full list of arrestable offences, refer to the Criminal Procedure Code(First Schedule). The following are some arrestable offences that may lead to an arrest:

1.Unlawful assemblies or rioting
2.Impersonating a public servant
3.Obstructing a public servant in his duties, or threatening a public servant
4.Affray (Fighting in public places)
5.Fouling the water of a public spring or reservoir
6.Driving rashly or negligently
7.Obscene acts in public
8.Rape
9.Theft and robbery
10.Criminal trespass
11.Assault or use of criminal force to a person with intent to outrage modesty (molest)
12.Acts or attempts that cause or can cause death, including suicide, murder, or other rash acts
13.Voluntarily causing grievous hurt
14.Voluntarily causing hurt with a dangerous weapon
It is worth noting that voluntarily causing hurt is a non-arrestable offence. An arrest cannot be made without a warrant. Therefore, you must first make a police report, before the Magistrate decides whether to issue a warrant for the accused’s arrest. Defamation is also non-arrestable.

In addition, arrests will also be made if the suspect:

1.possesses housebreaking tools without a good excuse;
2.possesses stolen property
3.obstructs police affairs
4.is an army deserter
5.may be about to commit an offence
6.commits a non-arrestable offence in view of police, and offers a fake identity or place of residence
7.offers a fake identity or place of residence

M

Mdm Tang

What is Private Prosecution?
January 4, 2012• Criminal and Civil Law, Singapore Legal System
Normally, when a crime is committed, the police investigates, and then the public prosecutors bring charges against the suspect. This is what we see in TV shows all the time. However, the police may feel that some offences are too minor and frivolous, and that it would not be in the state’s interest to use public resources to charge the suspect. An example would allegations of simple assault.

The police would then advise the victim to file a Magistrate’s Complaint. The prosecution is thus carried out by the victim himself to seek redress, and he would probably have to hire his own lawyer to do so. Upon the filing of the Magistrate’s Complaint, the magistrate can decide to order the police to investigate, to issue a notice of mediation which may eventually lead to a trial, or to dismiss the case.

However, the Attorney-General has the power to take over and terminate private prosecutions if he sees it fit to do so. He can also apply for an order to restrain certain litigants from carrying out private prosecutions without the leave of the High Court.

If the Attorney-General does not step in, and the suspect is eventually convicted through the trial, the consequences will be the same as if public prosecutors had brought the charges. Thus, imprisonment, fines and compensation may apply.

Megaslots

Mdm tang i really think u r a lawyer like a walking law book.Can sue through civil court claims @ magistrate court.police will charge as well rite?mayb Okong 2k n compensate to uncle.this ang mo think he is what biglampah here. This type when in detain must tie n beat n pour sai down the throat.

Cruxx

Anyone here gonna ask the question? Or is it left to me to do the asking once again? :rolleyes:

What is the question?

Where taxi uncle marked his X on ballot paper....
Taxi driving is getting to be a dangerous job....
Sidetrack a little....went drinking and took a cab last night....got a chiobu driver....possibly the most swee taxi driver I have met...comfort sonata taxi plate 6802....going to loot 4D.
Tried unsuccessfully to chat her up....

1sickpuppy II

Anyone here gonna ask the question? Or is it left to me to do the asking once again? :rolleyes:

Can I ask another question? After the other party wins can they do a better job? I always have this feeling that what if the other party wins and just to show they can do better not only open legs but bend down n open mouth also?:( I mean don't get me wrong here but thanks to the current party all the so called great oppositions are missing, dead or hiding now left back the so so type or the mad type.

Received_by_Kings

He added: "I told him it was $22.30, and he paid me in cash. But when I bent down to pick up my phone (that had dropped out of his pocket), he kicked me in the face."

He claimed his spectacles flew off and his bluetooth device, which had been hooked to his shirt, was also lost.

He alleged that the man hit his head twice after he fell and was left in a daze after the attack. The man then ran into a condominium nearby.

A drunken white pig thief.

Wow.

Mdm Tang that's quite alot of legalese :o

If the authorities don't want to act against foreigners they can find all kinds of "valid" excuses. However when it comes to CSJ we see them using the "law" to mobilize an army of police to stop him.:eek: Is it any wonder that some jokingly suggest you include CSJ's name receive prompt action:p

I'm sure if it was LKY or his family being assaulted the police will act swiftly & probably use deadly force:confused:

In the next GE it will be easier for "lesser mortals" to decide. It will simply be a choice between choosing an affordable gov't that will protect them against the increasing number of foreigners vs one that is expensive & doesn't care:rolleyes:

M

Mdm Tang

see what they do when their own kind pLp got

black eyes ???

Cruxx

Can I ask another question? After the other party wins can they do a better job? I always have this feeling that what if the other party wins and just to show they can do better not only open legs but bend down n open mouth also?:( I mean don't get me wrong here but thanks to the current party all the so called great oppositions are missing, dead or hiding now left back the so so type or the mad type.

That depends on which "other party" you're referring to. Is it the SDP? Or the blue PAP? :rolleyes: