• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Samster John Tan is very proud of Singapore! Singapore Snatches Back ‘World’s Best Airport’ Crown From Qatar

SBFNews

Singapore Snatches Back ‘World’s Best Airport’ Crown From Qatar​

The entrance to the Singapore Airlines Ltd.’s SilverKris Lounges at Changi Airport last year. Changi was once again first in this year’s Skytrax World Airport Awards.

Photographer: Bryan van der Beek/Bloomberg

By Alex Millson
16 March 2023 at 10:26 GMT+8

Singapore’s Changi has regained its title as the world’s best airport, after losing its long-held crown to Qatar for two years running during the height of pandemic travel restrictions.

The Asian hub edged Doha’s Hamad International Airport into second place, with Tokyo’s Haneda Airport bagging third, in the Skytrax World Airport Awards 2023. The US was conspicuous by its absence in the top 10.

Paris Charles de Gaulle was Europe’s top performer, up one spot to fifth place, while Seattle-Tacoma International Airport was the highest ranked North American airport, languishing in 18th position — but an improvement from 27th place last year.
In other moves:
  • New York’s JFK fell three spots to 88th place
  • China’s Shenzhen leaped 26 places to 31 — two above Hong Kong
  • Melbourne was the top Australian airport in 19th place, up from 26 last year
  • London Heathrow dropped nine places to 22nd
“Changi Airport is honored to be named World’s Best Airport for the twelfth time,” said Lee Seow Hiang, Chief Executive Officer for Changi Airport Group. “This recognition is great encouragement to our airport community, who stood firmly together to battle the challenges of Covid-19 over the past two years.

The Skytrax World Airport Awards are determined by customer satisfaction survey.

These are the World’s Best Airports of 2023, along with their 2022 rankings:
  1. Singapore Changi (3)
  2. Doha Hamad (1)
  3. Tokyo Haneda (2)
  4. Seoul Incheon (5)
  5. Paris Charles de Galle (6)
  6. Istanbul (8)
  7. Munich (7)
  8. Zurich (9)
  9. Tokyo Narita (4)
  10. Madrid Barajas (16)
  11. Vienna (19)
https://www.bloomberg.com/news/arti...ngapore-changi-snatches-crown-from-doha-hamad

A Singaporean

CAQ will do anything to make foreigners feel welcome and comfortable. Poor Sinkies please do not go jalan jalan at the airport and ruin this unique experience for our beloved foreigners. Just stick to Fairprice Supermarkets.

bushtucker

Changi airport's automated passport scanning gantry is crap lor. Dunno which cheap ass vendor they use. The traveller has to remove the passport cover completely and insert 3/4 of the passport into the machine for the sensor to start scanning the biometric card.

Poor Guy

In this forum many people said that Sinkieland is an expensive :poop:hole and peasants living with unhappiness but my view is that it is still a better place to stay than mudland and formosa :smile:

Changi airport's automated passport scanning gantry is crap lor. Dunno which cheap ass vendor they use. The traveller has to remove the passport cover completely and insert 3/4 of the passport into the machine for the sensor to start scanning the biometric card.
two level gantry. after clearing the passport scanning gate must stand behind next gate where yellow footprints are, place fingers on flat panel sensor to the right below and look into camera screen. the screen is offset to the right a yard away. for most new users don’t know what to do with all these screens and don’t know where to look. too complicated, too many points of failure, and too many simultaneous interactions. designed by tech snowflake who has zero understanding of user friendliness and human ergonomics.

In this forum many people said that Sinkieland is an expensive :poop:hole and peasants living with unhappiness but my view is that it is still a better place to stay than mudland and formosa :smile:
i actually enjoy walking around changi airport. very happening. many syt’s from regional cuntries arriving to sell lobang for strong sgd. many makan joints from atas to ahbeng. sum more has jewel which is like an indoor park, playground, mall and food court rolled into one. only in sg will an entire family from 3 generations go and visit the airport all day without any air tickets or plans to fly. imagine an american family doing that at jfk or newark?

Things like this and 'world's most powerful passport' are what the patriotic gongkias crave for their dopamine rush. And the SPH presstitutes understand this very well. :biggrin:

Depends on what you want. If you want to live in a comfortable 'theme park' prison, then Sinkieland is paradise for you.

batman1

two level gantry. after clearing the passport scanning gate must stand behind next gate where yellow footprints are, place fingers on flat panel sensor to the right below and look into camera screen. the screen is offset to the right a yard away. for most new users don’t know what to do with all these screens and don’t know where to look. too complicated, too many points of failure, and too many simultaneous interactions. designed by tech snowflake who has zero understanding of user friendliness and human ergonomics.
The passport scanning n clearance system is not user friendly.U can always see passenger stuck there don't know what to do or what is the next step and always needing the assistance of the ICA staff to guide u where to look or how to place your fingers......can get best airport in the world ???

bushtucker

The passport scanning n clearance system is not user friendly.U can always see passenger stuck there don't know what to do or what is the next step and always needing the assistance of the ICA staff to guide u where to look or how to place your fingers......can get best airport in the world ???
I still see some blur travelers forgot to take off their masks and expect the cheap ass machine to scan their eyes only. They were stuck in between the two gantries for a long time until the ICA officer shouted from afar "please take off your mask!". Lol.

for the past 6.9 years my pet peeve about changi was the stupid “free” wifi where traveller had to provide mobile number to get text message to log in with pin number. otherwise had to go to concierge counter to show passport and boarding pass to get pin to log in. and when it became more like other airports in the middle of xi virus from 2021 to 2022, the “free” pubic wifi is always oversubscribed even though not many travellers go thru’ changi during the pandamic with stringent quarantine, entry and testing requirements. in order to use the electronic arrival card as paper card is no longer used, the mobile has to rely on wifi as 4g then was horrible too for arrival card use. thus i always save my arrival card approval and confirmation number on file so as to retrieve it quickly. the passport scan eliminates the need to show arrival card as it’s already in the system so it’s useful. if they tweak the system to put signs and instructions clearly may be frequent travellers will figure out sooner or later. first time arrivee boh pian. kena stuck at gantry and shouted down by occifer for messing up. nobody not even a companion can join in gantry to help with process as it will only interfere with the system. too bad cannot help chiobu by guiding her with hand to her hips and other hand holding her hand. occifers shout so many times from outside gantries, and i can see their frustrations.