• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

ROC pool champion wants to serve NS woh

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 border=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgF noWrap align=right width="1%">From: </TD><TD class=msgFname noWrap width="68%">kojakbt22 <NOBR>
icon.aspx
</NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate noWrap align=right width="30%">2:42 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT noWrap align=right width="1%" height=20>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname noWrap width="68%">ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%" rowSpan=4> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>10438.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR><TD>March 29, 2009
The sunday profile
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : start --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Growing pains of 'Little Genius'
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- headline one : end --></TD></TR><TR><TD>Ex-world pool champion Wu, despite being only 20, has had to grapple with the dilemma of changing citizenship </TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- Author --></TD></TR><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Terrence Voon
</TD></TR><TR><TD><!-- show image if available --></TD></TR><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
ST_IMAGES_TVWU29-RYV.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

-- ST PHOTOS: ALPHONSUS CHERN
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>
<TABLE><TBODY><TR><TD>
viewMorePhotos.gif
View more photos

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"--><!-- more than 4 paragraphs -->
When Wu Chia-ching won an unprecedented double world pool title, he was just 15.

It has been five years since that momentous feat, but the former boy wonder of Taiwanese pool has never had to grow up as fast as he did over the last few months.
The question which played on both his mind as well as the back pages of Taiwanese tabloid, was whether he should take up Singapore citizenship and play for the Republic.
His compatriots, who lovingly called him the 'Little Genius', were loathe to let him go. Even parliamentarians weighed in on the issue as pressure mounted on him to stay in Taiwan.
When I first met him last month, Wu appeared gloomy and guarded. He was here officially as a sparring partner for the Singapore national team and could not speak freely about his ambition to play for a new country.
He was far livelier at our meeting at the Singapore Recreation Club's Billiard Room last week.
With his Singapore permanent residency in the bag, Wu can finally relax and smile again.
'I can finally heave a sigh of relief,' he said. 'It's been a long road to Singapore, but I'm grateful to Cuesports Singapore for standing by me all the way.'
Cuesports is the national governing body for pool and billiards.
Although the terms of his contract have not been finalised, Wu's arrival is no small coup for Singapore.
He became a national hero in Taiwan when he was crowned world champion in both 8-Ball and 9-Ball in the space of four months when he was 15.
'I was more famous than Jay Chou - for a day at least,' he joked.
He was runner-up at the World 10-Ball Championship last year, re-confirming his status as one of pool's most recognisable stars.
Taiwan, along with the Philippines, are the regional heavyweights of the sport, which is featured at the Asian Games.
Sources said he first held talks with Singapore officials last year about the possibility of him playing for the Republic. While he was here as a sparring partner, he impressed officials with his work rate and attitude. This convinced them to ask him to stay on as a player.
The reasons for him to don Singapore colours included a better pay packet, sponsored trips to overseas tournaments and a likely future as a national coach when his playing career ends.
Even when Taiwan sports officials offered to increase his pay, Wu insisted he never had second thoughts.
'I was even prepared to do National Service here.'
There was only one person who could have convinced him otherwise, and that was his 66-year-old grandmother, who had raised him when he was a toddler.
When he grew older and got serious about pool, she ferried him from one competition venue to another on a small scooter.
After winning his world titles, he never forgot the debt he owed her. The first thing he did was to splash out $380,000 on a new apartment for her in Taipei.
He said: 'When she first heard about me moving to Singapore, she couldn't bear let me go. But she later told me that I alone had the right to decide my future.'
While it was his grandmother who helped him find his feet as a pool player, it was his father Wu Chen-chung, 45, who supported the campaign to find greener pastures for his son.
Said Wu senior, who runs a pool hall in Taipei and was in town last week: 'I've always told him that he shouldn't confine his ambitions to just Taiwan. Going international was the only option for him.'
Wu, who hopes to receive his full citizenship soon, could represent the Republic at the Philippines 10-Ball Open as early as May.
But international rules governing the switch of players' nationalities prohibit him from taking part in this year's World Championships as well as next year's Asian Games in Guangzhou.
As a player, there is little doubt that he is a gem. According to Singapore's Taiwanese coach Chen Wei-chih, Wu is 'a rare talent that comes along only once in a generation'.
As a person, he has been described by family and friends as filial and thrifty to a fault.
'I rarely splurge on myself,' he said. 'What's the point of buying expensive clothes or electronics? You get bored of them and they only depreciate in value.'
Even his culinary preferences in Singapore are modest: he would rather tuck into a plate of mixed rice at coffee shops than head to expensive restaurants for exotic fare.
And while fame has found him in recent years, Wu still retains much of the humility drummed into him during his childhood.
In between tournaments and training, he has vowed to work with young pool players at workshops and community clubs.
He has also made time to pose for photographs with fans, such as SRC's star-struck members who wanted pictures with him when they recognised the former world champion in their midst. Said Wu: 'Pool has given me everything, and it's only right that I give some of it back.'

congo9

Hurray ......... that the way to throw money ! Buy ready made world champion.

But don invest in failing banks !

Sideswipe

225px-Sunyatsen1.jpg

This is Guo Fu speaking. Wu Chia-ching, you are a disgrace to Republic of China.

Wu, Kan ni na bu chao chee bye !!

NissanViP

Old tactics, hope to get full support from govt for his study and achieve whatever he has desired for in singapore govt sponsorship even if he has to sacrifice to serve NS for long term gain and benefit to himself.

This is like trade for something in order to gain for bigger things.

Once everything is over, he will renouce his Pink IC and move to better place instead.

Any responsible journalist would have followed up with his request by passing him info on how to register for NS. No? Then it's just insulting Sporns' intelligence.

225px-Sunyatsen1.jpg

This is Guo Fu speaking. Wu Chia-ching, you are a disgrace to Republic of China.

Wu, Kan ni na bu chao chee bye !!

Guo Fu, will understand times have changed, SINgapore is another province of Zhong Wah Ming Guo!:wink: wo men si zhi chi ren!:biggrin:

Ok what ... he can sign on as the mess boy and play pool until his reservist over

There will be a new catergory of horses in the Ass A f...besides 'white horse', there will be 'silver horses' for bronze medals & below, 'gold horses, for GOld medalist & world chmapions, to please all the detractors, 'porcelin horses, for all the mei's meis who have to SERVE NS..:biggrin:

littlefish

Sigh, I wonder how many of these sportsmen really want to make Singapore their home for the rest of their lives. It is obvious that they are coming here solely for the money. While I do not begrudge their decision to try to earn as much as possible, it is really shameful to see the Singapore citizenship being degraded in this manner.

I can live with the fact that no one finds Singapore attractive other than for being paid highly, but for those who have no other choice to live elsewhere (and not earning million dollar salaries), it is like a slap in the face.

To test whether these sportsmen are, first and foremost, really motivated to live in Singapore, they should offer a payment just slightly better (maybe 10% higher) than the world best sportsman in the same category. If there are no takers, then so be it, it is sad to see Singapore becoming like an old prostitute, trying too hard to attract customers when it is obviously clear that the charm is long gone.

Watchman

Singapore is fast becoming like a toilet !

Government shoot citizens in the foot but pretend to offer sanctuary to talented FTs !

commoner

pool champion? little genius?

Go to east coast billiard parlor, guarantee kena hustled,,,,,

the best pool players are the quiet hustlers lurking in billiards parlor,,,,

2lanu

Althetes after their competitive years are as good as goner. Those staying are being make as coach to develope the pool here. Just like table tennis, Jin Jun Hong.

But come to think of it, even football with ready talent also let them develope to as good dead now, what the chance of billard and table tennis. :rolleyes:

nickers9

There will be a new catergory of horses in the Ass A f...besides 'white horse', there will be 'silver horses' for bronze medals & below, 'gold horses, for GOld medalist & world chmapions, to please all the detractors, 'porcelin horses, for all the mei's meis who have to SERVE NS..:biggrin:

Ok then how the opposition parties sons who went for NS, which group of horses they belong to?

Black Horses?

Naturefarm2

My taiwan friend is joking with me on this matter.
This pool Wonder kids hit his high note in 2005 by winning some championship. After that, he had never win anything else!!
what am we producing afterall? To buy some " past " product and hope that we can revived or unlocked some potential in this guy?

fuck lah...one of the conditions when Singapore lure him over was the exemption of NS ok...thats why he jump ship. Now he hypocriate want to serve NS for wayang lah...becos he know jolly well that he won't serve loh...

Sideswipe

We hired foreigners for football and if one day we became successful, I think peoples will be interested. Football is a popular recreational sport in Singapore.

who the fuck care about a billiard player, SG or foreigner achievements. He can conquer the galaxy with that pole if he desired and the majority will not give a shit.

Our authorities must wisely pour money into sports that the country loved. I can accept wasting money on football but not in billiard which nobody cared.

Lestat

We hired foreigners for football and if one day we became successful, I think peoples will be interested. Football is a popular recreational sport in Singapore.

who the fuck care about a billiard player, SG or foreigner achievements. He can conquer the galaxy with that pole if he desired and the majority will not give a shit.

Our authorities must wisely pour money into sports that the country loved. I can accept wasting money on football but not in billiard which nobody cared.

My main gripe is how can anybody even think of importing a pool player first before even attempting to groom our own players???

:oIo: PAP!

no i am sure the ah beng in sink city love billards.