• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Rejoice shorter work week is idea is floatedd by Good Man

k1976

• Presidential hopeful Tharman Shanmugaratnam suggested making shorter work weeks and flexible working options the norm to help Singaporeans cope with the pressures of life
  • But this should be in tandem with higher productivity so the economy does not "suffer", he added
  • Mr Tharman was addressing concerns about the cost of living and an aging population at a dialogue with youths on Sunday (Aug 20)
  • The former Senior Minister also said that it is important to keep housing affordable for first-time buyers despite rising property prices
  • He also highlighted the significance of promoting understanding and common ground between different religions to ward off religious exclusionism

k1976

Responding to a question about the aging population and rising cost of living here, Mr Tharman said that changing the typical working hours and norms here are ways to help people cope.

“We must go for a system where you have high productivity and high skills, but a shorter work week,” he said, adding that he was saying this in his capacity as a private citizen.

• Presidential hopeful Tharman Shanmugaratnam suggested making shorter work weeks and flexible working options the norm to help Singaporeans cope with the pressures of life
  • But this should be in tandem with higher productivity so the economy does not "suffer", he added
  • Mr Tharman was addressing concerns about the cost of living and an aging population at a dialogue with youths on Sunday (Aug 20)
  • The former Senior Minister also said that it is important to keep housing affordable for first-time buyers despite rising property prices
  • He also highlighted the significance of promoting understanding and common ground between different religions to ward off religious exclusionism

tok until ur audience song song ...

he has perfected ze art of conversation ... say tings ur audience wants 2 hear ...

真正会聊天的人,都懂得如何让对方嗨 ...

k1976

Another area where change can happen is through more flexible working arrangements.

“You (working adults) need to go and look after your parents and the children. We must have flexible working arrangements,” he added.

However, providing flexible work may not be enough as employees may feel worried that their bosses think they are not performing as well as someone who is at the office, he said.

To overcome this, he said that the solution is to make flexible working arrangements the "new norm".

he has perfected ze art of conversation ... say tings ur audience wants 2 hear ...

真正会聊天的人,都懂得如何让对方嗨 ...

Of course lah, only siao leng dun want , right?

millim6868

Talk lanjiao wei, cb, after covid then hv wfh, cb use this ,knn, then gegore covid how come Don hv shorter work week, cb,talk abt something spread implemented

I remember the good old days when MOE schools and SAF camps operated on a 5.5 day workweek, so they were open for half a day on Saturdays. :biggrin:

真正会聊天的人,都懂得如何让对方嗨 ...

You must give credit to his speechwriters.

What is wrong with this batch of presidential candidates? The President is largely a ceremonial post. He has no say in policies except for a veto on withdrawal of reserves and a few senior appointments. Even then, he can be easily overwritten.
The candidates should stop promoting myths about the powers of the office.

congo9

Yes.
But there's nothing else to do. President is also being closely watched by LHL 3 presidential advisors.

I think it's better to return to Appointed President. It will not create so much wastage and effort since the role is largely ceremonial.

bushtucker

Yes.
But there's nothing else to do. President is also being closely watched by LHL 3 presidential advisors.

I think it's better to return to Appointed President. It will not create so much wastage and effort since the role is largely ceremonial.
Give ELD and civil servants some work to do. Imagine they are only busy once in every 4-5 years for GE. In between that period just shake leg.

Semaj2357

What is wrong with this batch of presidential candidates? The President is largely a ceremonial post. He has no say in policies except for a veto on withdrawal of reserves and a few senior appointments. Even then, he can be easily overwritten.
The candidates should stop promoting myths about the powers of the office.
agree absolutely, making motherhood statements are par for the course during elections. the devil is in the details! :redface: