• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PM Lee - dun tinker with a system that pays millions salaries

†††††

GE: Be careful when tinkering with system that has worked, says PM Lee
By Imelda Saad, Tamal Mukherjee | Posted: 03 May 2011 1403 hrs
phpWYWC7Z.jpg

SINGAPORE : Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong has urged Singaporeans to be careful when tinkering with a system that has worked for the country for a long time.

Speaking at a lunchtime rally in the heart of Singapore's Central Business District, Mr Lee noted there will be many young voters in this election, including those voting for the first time.

He said this group has a different perspective of the world - they are more idealistic, questioning and looking for causes and values to uphold.

Young voters, said Mr Lee, are unlike older ones who will vote based on instinct and loyalty.

Mr Lee had this message for young voters - think about what each party can offer, who can serve them best and whose plans will give them a bright future.

"This country belongs to you ... it is yours to build further," he said.

The prime minister said the PAP is actively engaging young people in very different ways - PAP supporters are active on the ground and also active on the Internet.

PM Lee also said the last five years have been exceptionally turbulent in nature. He said despite the problems Singapore did well over the period.

Mr Lee said the country faces not just economic problems, but security challenges also. Osama bin Laden was killed on Monday, but threats continue to exist.

The prime minister said Singapore is a small boat in an ocean and not an aircraft carrier.

He said the country seized the opportunities five years ago, and last year when there was another gust of wind, the economy achieved a 14.5 per cent rate of growth.

With reference to the opposition's calls for more alternative voices in Parliament, Mr Lee said Singapore is actually a multi-party system, but with a dominant PAP.

That is because, he said, the party has the strongest team and confidence of Singaporeans.

He said the Singapore political system is open and contestable and it is easy for parties to enter the arena and challenge the PAP.

So he said "what keeps PAP MPs on their toes is the risk of losing voter support".

The prime minister said he welcomes the contest in Ang Mo Kio. He added that it is very good that most seats are being contested in this election.

Mr Lee said the average standard of the opposition has gone up and this is good since the PAP has to work harder.

It is also good because the voters have to pay attention and weigh their options very carefully. They have to decide which party will serve them well in their constituencies as well as in the government.

But Mr Lee said all people will have to come together again after the election and build one nation.

Mr Lee also defended the government's move to allow Integrated Resorts with casinos into Singapore.

He said if the PAP had not seized opportunities, the country would not have achieved growth.

He acknowledged the side effects of growth - more IRs mean more risk of problem gambling; more foreign workers mean congestion.

Mr Lee said these are problems which the government will tackle.

"We do not always get things completely right ... but overall, the PAP government has been more right than wrong, otherwise we would not be here today," he said.

Mr Lee also said election is about the future of the country and it is a bright future.

Mr Lee appealed to Singaporeans to do well for themselves as well as to do well for the nation.

He said Singapore is pushing ahead with confidence, and in five years, Singapore will change - the island will be transformed.

He also urged people to take a vow to "make tomorrow better than today".

- CNA/al

"We do not always get things completely right ... but overall, the PAP government has been more right than wrong, otherwise we would not be here today," he said.

- CNA/al

Make no mistake, the pap is here today because of the strong foundation created by the old guards. Those are the men and women we love and respect. They truly fought for Singapore and Singaporeans. Subsequent waves of ministers have proved to be disappointing and incapable.

And with the salaries that ministers draw, and the claims of the pap that these are the most intelligent and capable, we expect them to get everything right. Everytime. They get super high salaries, so we expect them to be superhumans. :biggrin:

Well, if he does not always get things right, than can we not always pay him his high salary?

ivebert

Make no mistake, the pap is here today because of the strong foundation created by the old guards. Those are the men and women we love and respect. They truly fought for Singapore and Singaporeans. Subsequent waves of ministers have proved to be disappointing and incapable.

And with the salaries that ministers draw, and the claims of the pap that these are the most intelligent and capable, we expect them to get everything right. Everytime. They get super high salaries, so we expect them to be superhumans. :biggrin:

That's because your peasants parents voted them in

Microsoft

Speaking at a lunchtime rally in the heart of Singapore's Central Business District, Mr Lee noted there will be many young voters in this election, including those voting for the first time.

He said this group has a different perspective of the world - they are more idealistic, questioning and looking for causes and values to uphold.

Young voters, said Mr Lee, are unlike older ones who will vote based on instinct and loyalty.

MAI HUM!!!! At last u admit all those votes PAPAYA get during previously election r nothing more then instinct and loyalty votes!!! :biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin: