• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Paper General Thinks SGP Workers Are Hopeless While He Collects His Millions Easily

icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - BG Tan Thinks SGP Workers Are Hopeless

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
To: ALL <NOBR></NOBR>(1 of 6)

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
[h=1]Is Singapore’s workforce ready for the future?[/h]<CITE class="byline vcard">
liyana_091250.jpg
By Liyana Low

</CITE>

BG Tan asks if Singapore's workforce is ready for the future. (Yahoo!)

Minister of State for Manpower Tan Chuan-Jin questioned on Thursday if Singapore's workforce is equipped with the skills to meet the challenges of the future.
In a post on The Manpower Blog, Brigadier-General (NS) Tan said that while many employers feel that Singapore's selling point is the availability of a skilled workforce, the country sometimes misses evolving trends.
"Even as we grapple with the here and now, we need to look ahead. How are we gearing up for the challenges of say 2020 and beyond? Will we have the right skills for tomorrow?" he said.
BG Tan wrote that trends such as urbanisation and an ageing population, together with advances in technology and shorter business cycles, will impact the way Singaporeans work.
Citing current initiatives to encourage companies to invest in upgrading the workforce such as the Workforce Skills Qualifications (WSQ) system and Skills Programme for Upgrading and Resilience (SPUR), he said: "The recession is over, but our challenge is not.
"There is no better time than today to continue building a strong foundation."
In his blogpost, BG Tan said that after discussing with private and public sector leaders, MOM has come with up a list of what it thinks are critical skills for "2020 and beyond", and asked for feedback from Singaporeans about the list.
He divided the list into two types of skills -- cross-functional ones that can be applied to many areas such as communication and networking skills -- and vertical skills that add degrees of specialisation in areas such as integrated health care and legal expertise.
While some have welcomed the move on MOM's part to look into creating such new skills for Singapore's workforce, others have also questioned the effectiveness of constant skills upgrading.
Netizens who responded to his post have said that skills might not be useful if the Singaporeans cannot cope with the cost of living.
On MOM's Facebook page, James Lim wrote, "Upgrading skills alone will be useful and helpful but if we do not address the cost of living in Singapore, average Singaporeans will be marginalised while the rich ones will be able to manage much better in times of difficulties."
http://sg.news.yahoo.com/blogs/singaporescene/singapore-workforce-ready-future-065111596.html
Bloody Farker Talking Rubbish. Probably Making Excuses To Import More FTs.

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

Re: Paper General Thinks SGP Workers Are Hopeless While He Collects His Millions Easi

To: Sutukudu <NOBR></NOBR>unread(2 of 6)

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
54721.2 in reply to 54721.1
Dear BG Tan,
You asked "if Singapore's workforce is ready for the future". You should know the answer better because Singaporeans have been trained and educated by you people for the past 50 years since 1959.

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
Options Reply

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
<!--PostMsgHTML--><SCRIPT language=JavaScript><!--if (adPosition == 2){ showGoogle(); }//--></SCRIPT><!--/PostMsgHTML--><!--PreMsgHTML--><!--/PreMsgHTML-->
To: xlandjy <NOBR></NOBR>(3 of 6)

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
54721.3 in reply to 54721.2
Yeah, good one, hope PAP IB will report back to these scums. Every PAP rookie wants to prove himself but ends up talking cock. Without doubt, this latest batch of PAP talents is their worst ever. The barrels already scratched until no more bottom left now.

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
Options Reply

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
<!--PostMsgHTML--><SCRIPT language=JavaScript><!--if (adPosition == 3){ showGoogle(); }//--></SCRIPT><!--/PostMsgHTML-->
To: Sutukudu <NOBR></NOBR>unread(4 of 6)

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
54721.4 in reply to 54721.1
NB how come they are re-using the photo from the SDP rally ?

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
Options Reply

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
From: Toby Kuntakinte (PouletGeorge) <NOBR></NOBR>8:02 am
To: Sutukudu <NOBR></NOBR>unread(5 of 6)

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
54721.5 in reply to 54721.1
[FONT=Comic Sans MS,Sans-Serif]FUCKING Mercenary and self enriching ministers breed FUCKING MORONIC SINKIES !!![/FONT]
[FONT=Comic Sans MS,Sans-Serif]CHEE BYE BASTARDS !!![/FONT]
[FONT=Comic Sans MS,Sans-Serif]I was at this hawker centre, and, due to lunch time peak, most of the tables were not cleared and stacked with plates, cups, and utensils.[/FONT]
[FONT=Comic Sans MS,Sans-Serif]I managed to grab a table where it is not cleared. A cleaner passed by and I requested her to clear the table for me in a courteous tone. She shouted and said that she was there to place the clean plates and trays, not to clear my table. Besides, that zone is not under her care !![/FONT]
[FONT=Comic Sans MS,Sans-Serif]I shot back, KNN !!! where is your supervisor !! She quickly pushed her cart away. Fucking CB !!! tok only, fuck her up, she wagged her tail and go away. FUCKING SINKIE, talk to her nicely and she thinks she is some BIG FUCK or mini-LKY !!![/FONT]

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
Options Reply

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
To: xlandjy <NOBR></NOBR>unread(6 of 6)

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
54721.6 in reply to 54721.2
Again, the PAP is placing the blame on Singaporeans for missing the trend. Isn't the PAP who is responsible for leading the nation including identifying future trends? I thought the PAP always say they can predicts problems before they happen. Now when the shit hits, it's Singaporeans' fault again.

<TBODY>
</TBODY>
Options Reply

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

<TBODY>
</TBODY>

hairylee

Re: Paper General Thinks SGP Workers Are Hopeless While He Collects His Millions Easi

Import more FTs, gov.sg. collect more fees, manpower agents do great business, boost up property prices, transport company collect more; they are better, faster and cheaper hence lower labour cost and punishes peasant sinkies for being choosy.
In summary, all above to justify their fat pay.

1. it is all gdp.
2. moneytalks & justification for million-dollar salaries.

These scums in White loves telling Sporeans to Upgrade, upgrade, upgrade..!!!

Upgrade their mother chebyes lah...:mad: :mad:

What's the fuckin use of upgrading yourself to death when cost of living keeps on spiraling..???

What's the fuckin use of upgrading yourself with fucked up courses initiated by those Govt agencies when you only receives a paltry increase in your montly pay at the end of your course ???

hairylee

What's the fuckin use of upgrading yourself to death when cost of living keeps on spiraling..???

What's the fuckin use of upgrading yourself with fucked up courses initiated by those Govt agencies when you only receives a paltry increase in your montly pay at the end of your course ???

Mothercheebye open his mouth and collect 100k every month. Peasants work like fuck and still not better, cheaper and faster.

If you are going to upgrade, might as well look at the outside market like Canada, Australia, NZ,.. These countries have better prospects & are always looking for skilled people. Why bother upgrading for the PAP regime:confused:
In a few years time you'll probably be discarded to be replaced by a cheap foreigner :rolleyes:

LeMans2011

Yeah lotsa crap and bull. This joker doesn't know what he is talking about. Specialisation did not come about for no reason. If you are a finance person, your expertise is finance, you don't need to be trained in law. You just need to know enough so that the legal counsel your company engage does not take you for a ride. In corporate world you don't do everything yourself, you use the experts. The only person in history who can be good "cross-funtionally" is Leonardo da Vinci who was an artist, engineer, scientist, etc. Tell me which PAP fella excel cross-functionally? They take an army guy and install him everywhere and anywhere... hence the screw up everywhere.

Tell me which PAP fella excel cross-functionally? They take an army guy and install him everywhere and anywhere... hence the screw up everywhere.

Haven't you heard of the legend of Harry Lee:biggrin:

Single handedly drove the Japs out & transformed a Spore village into what it is today, his private piggy bank:rolleyes:

If you are going to upgrade, might as well look at the outside market like Canada, Australia, NZ,.. These countries have better prospects & are always looking for skilled people. Why bother upgrading for the PAP regime:confused:
In a few years time you'll probably be discarded to be replaced by a cheap foreigner :rolleyes:

You are right Bro Johnny.. Used to have this senior colleague in his 40s.. He resigned from my company few years back due to poor health.. I'll meet him once in a while for supper.. He was out of work for 3 years, relying on doing odd jobs when his health permits.. He went for upgrading courses on the advice of CDA and got a job as a Data Entry clerk that pays him only $950 per month.. Went again for further upgrading course sponsored by his company and they only increased his pay by another $30..

The Philistine

You got it slightly wrong in your last paragraph. The question should be this: What is the fucking use of upgrading your skills and education when there are NO JOBS available for you at the end of it?

Long ago when someone decided to study overseas, they would check the uni's accreditation . However nowadays I suggest people 1st decide on where they want to emigrate to & then pick a school in that country:smile:

It is much easier to emigrate to a place when you are familiar with it's culture. If you've studied in a country it's good enough proof for the immigration authorities.

With the way things are going on, I doubt there will be many good jobs available for "locals". Even if there are good jobs out there, the work environment in Spore is very toxic. Just look at the sad faces & white hair that is so common. So if you are going to upgrade might as well consider upgrading out of Spore:rolleyes:

"Even as we grapple with the here and now, we need to look ahead. How are we gearing up for the challenges of say 2020 and beyond? Will we have the right skills for tomorrow?" he said.
BG Tan wrote that trends such as urbanisation and an ageing population, together with advances in technology and shorter business cycles, will impact the way Singaporeans work."

This is another army-boy's talk cock king. What 2020 is the fcuk is he talking about, when thousands out there do not know whether they can survie 2011 intact. Like the other boy soldier and shitface Lui, these guys have all this thingy about being visionaries and stragegic in their thoughts. Trying to prove their worth. But it is obvious that they are impressing no one but their maids.

His immediate priority is to solve the rising unemployment rate even as he is looking at 9 years down the road - at the rate his thought process goes, he ain't going to be around if the 60% get wiser.