• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

[Matland] JHB worked in Sg for 10 years, returned to Matland, kena scolded for being "too efficient like Sporean", forced to lepak more like Matlander

UltimaOnline

A Malaysian, Karen Harris, moved to Singapore from Sabah to study in 2001. After graduation, she found a job in Body Shop Singapore and worked there for 10 years, earning "above average wages".

Immediately, she noticed how committed Singaporeans were to their schedules, citing efficiency as a prominent characteristic.

The difference in efficiency between Malaysians and Singaporeans was stark.

Karen felt that she had to change in order to fit into her environment and be "on par" with her colleagues. She came to work early and gave 120% of her best to work.

It was a challenging time for her but she fit in eventually.

A decade later, she had a chance to relocate to Johor. And she realised to her shock that she had to fit in with new colleagues again, and the Malaysian work culture.

"I was told I'm too uptight, too detailed, too particular," she revealed. And she had to lower her efficiency to live "less like a Singaporean".

A task which could take minutes to resolve in Singapore took weeks in Johor.

When she returned home to Sabah, there were more adjustments to make. She was scolded for "overdoing things" and offending her colleagues.

"How can we work on efficiency when the environment and culture don't let us?" she asked rhetorically.

Numerous Malaysian netizens agreed with her, citing similar struggles when they moved to Singapore to work. "Their effort and expectations there are way too high."

images

Source: https://forum.lowyat.net/topic/5433456

That's the norm, even in Australia. When you are sold the snake oil of 'tripartism' by a fake labour union and treated as an expendable economic digit from the cradle to the grave, you will be like the horse Boxer in George Orwell's Animal Farm. "I will work harder!" will be your mantra. You take pride at your diligence and efficiency. :rolleyes:

And hopefully you know what happened to the horse Boxer in that story. :cool:

Daft Sinkies who believe that being hardworking is a virtue better look at this. Even the smarter Tiongs are waking up, to hell with clocking numerous work hours.

Pay peanuts and u get monkeys don’t you? Instead of putting it down to a country issue, why not point out the race issue?

Which country got more of a particular race? Haha