• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Serious 33% Of HDB Resale Buyers Paid COV In 2021! Singapore Property Market Hot! Did You Follow John's Advice And Invest In Property?

1626088339745.png

SINGAPORE - Around one in three buyers of a Housing Board resale flat paid above market valuation this year, an increase from one in five last year.

The increase came against the backdrop of steadily rising prices for such flats.

The median cash over valuation (COV) paid by buyers remained at $0 each year, figures released by the Ministry of National Development (MND) as part of a written parliamentary reply last Monday (July 5) showed.

But the proportion of buyers who paid a COV increased, reflecting the current broad-based demand for housing, including in the private housing market, supported by the low interest rate environment, said MND.

COV happens when a resale flat is sold above its actual HDB valuation, and the difference can only be paid for in cash by the buyer.

If buyers and sellers have agreed on a resale price that is equal to the market valuation of the flat, buyers do not have to pay a COV.

From January last year to April this year, fewer than one in four resale flat buyers paid above market valuation for their flat, said MND in another written parliamentary reply last Tuesday.

Among these, about six in 10 buyers paid a COV of not more than $20,000, while the remaining four paid more than $20,000, data from MND showed.

In the 16-month period, about 34,600 resale flats changed hands, said Ms Christine Sun, senior vice-president of research and analytics at OrangeTee & Tie, citing HDB data.

This translated to about 8,600 buyers who paid a COV, and among these, around 3,400 paid more than $20,000 COV, Ms Sun added.

"Whether $20,000 COV is high or low depends on the base price. For a $1 million flat, maybe it's reasonable. For a $300,000 flat, it's quite substantial. We need more detailed data to properly gauge if the COV is considered high and how many people are impacted," she said.

Mr Alan Cheong, head of research and consultancy at real estate firm Savills, concurs that more data on COV is needed to paint a full and accurate picture.

For instance, the number of buyers who paid a COV may drastically increase if the time frame started from the third quarter of last year instead of the first quarter, he noted.

This is because the resale market was "still sleeping" in January last year, and resale prices started "accelerating" only in the third quarter of last year, when Singapore came out of a two-month circuit breaker period in June 2020, said Mr Cheong.

HDB stopped publishing data on COV after 2013.

MND noted that HDB resale transactions are conducted on a "willing-buyer, willing-seller" basis, with prices negotiated and mutually agreed on between both parties.

https://www.straitstimes.com/singap...ash-over-valuation-this-year-jump-from-1-in-5

It's public housing, why would fools pay 800k - 1m for HDB flats is really baffling to me?

This year, over 100 HDB resale flats were transacted for over $1 million dollars. Thanks to good PAP government and asset enhancement programs, sinkies can enjoy their property appreciating yearly!

Majulah PAP! PAP! PAP!

It is heartening to note that the prices of HDB resale flats are continuing to climb steadily (HDB resale prices up for 12th straight month, July 9).

Interestingly, the rise in prices for resale flats last month was broad-based, climbing for both mature and non-mature estates, as well as across all room types.

Instead of waiting for the Government to announce new sites for flats to be built, buyers are being realistic enough to decide on buying the flats of their choice now.

They know that new flats may not be cheap in view of the rising cost of materials and labour. Realising that the prices of new flats will eventually affect the price of resale flats, they find it timely to purchase flats now rather than later.

The flats may be older in mature estates, but the buildings in these estates are well-maintained. Thanks to the Government's policy of rejuvenating older estates, common facilities like passenger lifts and walkways, as well as spaces such as parks, are constantly upgraded.

The authorities should not be overly concerned about the rise in resale flat prices so long as they reflect the flats' true value and are not because of speculation.

About 80 per cent of Singaporeans are living in HDB flats, and the majority are grateful to the Government for its far-sightedness in encouraging home-ownership.

Most HDB flat owners know that their flat is their safety net in times of financial need or when they grow old. They can always downgrade to smaller flats and have some cash on hand provided there is value in their HDB flats.

The authorities should be careful not to suppress the value of HDB flats so as not to antagonise the Singaporeans who own HDB flats by trying to please a handful of new HDB flat buyers.

The Government should be mindful that it should not be undoing what it has done well so far for the benefit of its citizens.

Harry Ong Heng Poh

https://www.straitstimes.com/opinio...e-flat-prices-show-buyers-are-being-realistic

Buckethead

Resale hot indeed, cov or not, my bto block, those reached MOP, 14 units already changed hands in 2021 and counting...

SalahParking

u Chao Chee Bye!

my banker told me just now that HDB flat is a depreciating asset.

what a fucking oxymoron the HDB created. you bastards!!!

mahjongking

u Chao Chee Bye!

my banker told me just now that HDB flat is a depreciating asset.

what a fucking oxymoron the HDB created. you bastards!!!

dont get angry, johnny is just paid 50cts a post, he has to make a living,

many cpls are now aiming to make money out of their bto, 5 years up straightaway sell, probably planning to migrate after eating the pie.

SalahParking

this tells me that PAP is not going to intervene and spoil the party. you have been lied to by Lau Lan Wong. It's not going to 0.

bobby

Only fucking idiots pay so much for a pigeon hole with no strata title...just a long term lease from the gahmen with strict conditions.

SalahParking

I think HDB leases will terminate at 69 years old. and the land will be sold to developers or redeveloped by HDB. So the most opportunistic investment to make now is old hdb estate.