Go Back   Sam's Alfresco Coffee > Welcome to Sam's Alfresco Coffee Shop > Coffee Shop Talk.

Notices

Coffee Shop Talk. iagency.net We talk "NICELY" to each other here. :) No nasty and abusive posts and no religious themes in this section please. Evangelists please proceed here.

Old 19-07-2010, 11:39 AM
Alfrescian (S)

My Reputation: Points: 416 / Power: 34
SNAblog is just really niceSNAblog is just really niceSNAblog is just really niceSNAblog is just really niceSNAblog is just really nice
Default SPH tries to hide cock-ups at TNP Big Walk event on Sunday

I was alerted to this in an email.

Unlike what was reported in the state-controlled media, apparently the TNP Big Walk on sunday was a big mess. This was reported by a stomper in STOMP, but the post was deleted soon after to to avoid the negative publicity.

Here is the invalid link:
http://singaporeseen.stomp.com.sg/st...16326&rating=3

Fortunately, google cached it:

http://webcache.googleusercontent.co...ient=firefox-a

Posted on 18 Jul 2010
Hundreds left waiting for goodie bags as Big Walk turns into big mess

Participants of The New Paper Big Walk were still queuing for their goodie bags at 7.55am even though the flag-off was at 7.30am. The organisers simply weren't prepared to handle the crowd, said STOMPer tanwk.

The unhappy STOMPer described the scene:

"Firstly, there were a lot of people exiting Promenade MRT station but SMRT staff did not fully open the exit. Instead, people had to squeeze through a single exit door.

"Secondly, we were asked to come before the walk (5am to 7am) to collect the goodie bags but the organiser wasn't prepared to handle the crowd.

"At 7.55am, the crowd is still queuing for the goodie bags. It seems like you have to collect one in order to enter the starting point.

"Are we here for the walk or here just to queue for the goodie bags?

"Can you even see the collection counter? No one knows where the starting point is as well.

"What a good and organised event."
http:/twitter.com/snablog

Last edited by SNAblog; 19-07-2010 at 11:45 AM.
Old 19-07-2010, 11:44 AM
Alfrescian (S)

My Reputation: Points: 220 / Power: 31
Tiu Kwang Yew has a spectacular aura aboutTiu Kwang Yew has a spectacular aura aboutTiu Kwang Yew has a spectacular aura about
Default Re: SPH tries to hide cock-ups at TNP Big Walk event on Sunday

the crowds are one big " Gian Png" people RC brought along right !

they went there in the hope to collect freebies !

these are ugly crowds PAP gathered !
to the asshole loon, crowd means votes to him---retard Ah Q !
Old 19-07-2010, 12:07 PM
Alfrescian (S)

My Reputation: Points: 110 / Power: 15
chowka will become famous soon enoughchowka will become famous soon enough

Posted on 18 Jul 2010

Hundreds left waiting for goodie bags as BigWalk turns into big mess

Participants of The New Paper Big Walk were still queuing for their goodie
bags at 7.55am even though the flag-off was at 7.30am. The organisers simply weren't prepared to handle the crowd, said STOMPer tanwk.

The unhappy STOMPer described the scene:

"Firstly, there were a lot of people exiting Promenade MRT station but SMRT staff did not fully open the exit. Instead, people had to squeeze through a single exit door.

"Secondly, we were asked to come before the walk (5am to 7am) to collect the
goodie bags but the organiser wasn't prepared to handle the crowd.

"At 7.55am, the crowd is still queuing for the goodie bags. It seems like you have to collect one in order to enter the starting point.

"Are we here for the walk
or here just to queue for the goodie bags?

"Can you even see the collection counter? No one knows where the starting point is as well.

"What a good and organised event."

Old 19-07-2010, 12:31 PM
Alfrescian (S)

My Reputation: Points: 525 / Power: 85
po2wq is a glorious beacon of lightpo2wq is a glorious beacon of lightpo2wq is a glorious beacon of lightpo2wq is a glorious beacon of lightpo2wq is a glorious beacon of lightpo2wq is a glorious beacon of light
Talking Re: SPH tries to hide cock-ups at TNP Big Walk event on Sunday

ah stomper tanwk ...

ze goodie bags were cot in ze flood la ... datz y it was late ... dey cudnt find a sampan sum mor ... wat 2 do? ...

... juz another 3.14 ¢ worth ... (gst 7%, inflation 8% (2008) n tariff 21% (2008), 20.9% (2010) incl.) ...
... fr n original, humble 2 ¢ worth ... u now hv a whopping 3.08 ¢ worth fr me! ...
... tis value is fully guaranteed (wun morning say dun guarantee u & @ nite say guarantee u) ...

... wil increase tariff by 2.42% on 1 oct 2010

ze making of 3d 肉蒲團 updated: 18aug
Old 19-07-2010, 01:14 PM
Alfrescian (S)

My Reputation: Points: 577 / Power: 101
halsey02 is a name known to allhalsey02 is a name known to allhalsey02 is a name known to allhalsey02 is a name known to allhalsey02 is a name known to allhalsey02 is a name known to all

Quote:
Originally Posted by po2wq View Post
ah stomper tanwk ...

ze goodie bags were cot in ze flood la ... datz y it was late ... dey cudnt find a sampan sum mor ... wat 2 do? ...
I have attended the Big Walk before...from very long time back to recent memory...they were well organized...really good.

The organizer "were caught off guard" with the huge influx of FT's who may have flock to the big walk & whoever designed the Promenade station didn'r design it to handle such a large volume of people...now we know how short-sighted they are with the estimation or projection...

simply, CAUGHT OFF GUARD..... just like the water flow management system....just can not manage the large volume of water...
Old 19-07-2010, 01:20 PM

My Reputation: Points: 105 / Power: 14
wahlaneh will become famous soon enoughwahlaneh will become famous soon enough

wahlaneh...
no bag no walk!
everything also must have free one.
Old 19-07-2010, 01:23 PM
Alfrescian (S)

My Reputation: Points: 348 / Power: 80
johnny333 is a jewel in the roughjohnny333 is a jewel in the roughjohnny333 is a jewel in the roughjohnny333 is a jewel in the rough

Quote:
Originally Posted by halsey02 View Post
I have attended the Big Walk before...from very long time back to recent memory...they were well organized...really good.

I used to participate in the Pesta Sukan walks in the 70's & the only thing one got was some sort of certificate of participation

So what do you get in those "goodie bags" that attracted thousands
Old 19-07-2010, 01:38 PM
Alfrescian (S)

My Reputation: Points: 110 / Power: 36
shelltox will become famous soon enoughshelltox will become famous soon enough

you go for the walk and not the goodie bags, those who are waiting for the goodie bags and there for fun and nothing else. why take thinks so seriously
Old 19-07-2010, 02:21 PM

My Reputation: Points: 105 / Power: 14
wahlaneh will become famous soon enoughwahlaneh will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by shelltox View Post
you go for the walk and not the goodie bags, those who are waiting for the goodie bags and there for fun and nothing else. why take thinks so seriously
wahlaneh...
the goodie bag is the motivation to walk mah.
no bag ah? go home sleep better sunday wake up so early for wat?
Old 19-07-2010, 03:32 PM
Alfrescian (S)

My Reputation: Points: 110 / Power: 15
chowka will become famous soon enoughchowka will become famous soon enough

wahlaneh...
sibeh jialat

Old 19-07-2010, 03:39 PM

My Reputation: Points: 26 / Power: 32
KuanTi01 is on a distinguished road

Damn right! These people are not here for the exercise but the freebies & goodies bag. So many people gian png fell for the bribes. The Big Walk has become one big politicised event, just like many mass participation events!Really gian png! I enjoyed my sleep! Yawn!
Old 19-07-2010, 05:27 PM

My Reputation: Points: 72 / Power: 29
Soul_Reaper will become famous soon enough

Quote:
Originally Posted by KuanTi01 View Post
Damn right! These people are not here for the exercise but the freebies & goodies bag. So many people gian png fell for the bribes. The Big Walk has become one big politicised event, just like many mass participation events!Really gian png! I enjoyed my sleep! Yawn!
The cockup happened because there were many FTs who did not register turned up for the event. They could not collect the goodie bag and enter the starting point so the jam was created at the collection point preventing others from proceeding forward.
Old 19-07-2010, 10:42 PM

My Reputation: Points: 10 / Power: 0
gohsanho is on a distinguished road

The walk is basically round the f1 building and instead of closing the road the participants were squeez between the barrier along the road side. I think they are worry Sand biz will be affected if the road are closed. There are so little traffic they should just close the road. The queue at the starting point is still there when many had already reach the finishing point.