• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Free expression online - up to a point

Borat

Early intervention better, before emotions get inflamed and it gets hard to calm people down: DPM Teo

by Teo Xuanwei

04:45 AM Apr 29, 2012
SINGAPORE - It is easy to call for the Internet and social media to be open and free from regulation - but when someone "dear and near" gets affected because of it, most people would want intervention, said Deputy Prime Minister Teo Chee Hean.

Speaking yesterday at the National Community Engagement Programme (CEP) dialogue, Mr Teo highlighted the Internet and social media as one of three driving forces whose impact on the cohesion of our society can be "double-edged".

The Internet and social media can be "an enabler of active citizenry and positive change" but "can (also) disrupt social order and harmony", he said.

"You will have people who can conduct themselves properly, and you can have a good, civilised society ... but you will always have people who exploit the orderliness for their own purposes," said Mr Teo, who is also Home Affairs Minister. "I think when things do become disorderly, uncivil or bordering on extremism or violence, then there's usually a necessity, and even a desire on most people's part, to want something to be done."

Hence, a fine balance has to be struck between allowing free expression online and exercising some check, he said.

"At some point in time, there is a need for some organisation - whether it is self-policing or the state to step in," said Mr Teo. Early intervention is better because "if we take a step too late ... emotions would have already been inflamed and it would be hard to calm people down again."

Since last November, Minister for Information, Communications and the Arts, Dr Yaacob Ibrahim, has been encouraging the Internet community here to come up with a code of conduct as a means to self-regulate. But several well-known bloggers and owners of socio-political websites have opposed such a move, with some saying they saw it as a way for the Government to control free speech online.

Speaking to reporters yesterday, Acting Minister for Community Development, Youth and Sports Chan Chun Sing said: "We must agree that (the Internet) is our space ... so I would encourage everyone using and interacting in that space to come forward and define that space. Collectively, we will define the norms that we would like to see being exhibited in that space."

About 600 community and grassroots leaders attended the annual National CEP dialogue to discuss ways to strengthen the Republic's social cohesion and resilience to crises.

Along with Mr Teo and Mr Chan, Dr Yaacob, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Swee Say and Minister of State for Manpower and National Development Tan Chuan-Jin also held discussions with the participants.

The question of how free the Internet should be cropped up in Mr Tan's session. He said differing levels of maturity and sensitivity among netizens throw up questions worth pondering on, such as whether the voices online represent the majority - and, if not, should we allow the minority to dictate our views and lives.

The other two driving forces that Mr Teo highlighted were globalisation and extremism.

Increased flows of people and ideas across the world can improve cross-cultural understanding, but more diverse peoples living in a dense city like ours can also result in "greater consciousness of the differences in behaviour and norms", he said.

Terrorist groups can also spread their ideological messages more quickly and further today - but the threat of extremism can also rally people to collectively fight for peace and harmony, he added.

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapore/EDC120429-0000022/Free-expression-online---up-to-a-point

Borat

And so it begins, to muzzle dissent and keep the citizens cowed and hear only the good things. No protests, no demonstrations and no outward show of unhappiness.

First they talk about terrorism and the spread of information that can be used by the terrorists as an excuse to rein in the internet. When they get the approval of Parliament, Singapore will then be more of a police state and the population being oppressed and any dissent stifled.

When will Singaporeans wake up and know that what little freedom they enjoy is slowly being taken away? Time to plan your next move on what your future will be. Fight against this or opt to move out of little N. Korea.

Along with Mr Teo and Mr Chan, Dr Yaacob, Minister in the Prime Minister's Office Lim Swee Say and Minister of State for Manpower and National Development Tan Chuan-Jin also held discussions with the participants.

HAHAHAHAHA. What a combo, is this the the latest pappies boy band? Kee Chiu, Once in 50 years, Shit Say and Children growing up.

Some more got 600 running dogs suckport wor!

Char_Azn

Anyone who thinks the internet has free speech needs tip get his brain checked. The internet is only ass free add the moderator/administrator of the forum/website allows it to be. Case in point, even this forum is moderated to a point. Before the appearance off the super mod, this forum was still moderated by the community.

Cruxx

Anyone who thinks the internet has no free speech needs to get his brain checked. The internet is only as restricted as the moderator/administrator of the forum/website wants it to be. Case in point, even this forum is free to a point. Before the appearance of the super mod, this forum was still tolerated by the community.

Fucking binary-thinking Sinkie idiot who can't differentiate between absolute freedom and relative freedom. If it's not absolutely unrestrained, it isn't free speech. How simplistic. How Singaporean. :rolleyes:

Borat

Anyone who thinks the internet has free speech needs tip get his brain checked. The internet is only ass free add the moderator/administrator of the forum/website allows it to be. Case in point, even this forum is moderated to a point. Before the appearance off the super mod, this forum was still moderated by the community.

The PAP Government uses the "rule through law rather than rule of law which is a thinly disguised rule by decree". In contrast with legal institutions in liberal democratic systems, where challenges to state power are not only possible but common, in Singapore they serve more to consolidate and expand the power of the state and to enforce the government's objectives and policies.

It is no secret that the Singapore Government has every intent to block certain information and news if they could. Controlling the MSM's has been very effective in the past but with the advent of the internet, this has made it impossible to ensure complete blockage of information detrimental to the government. It therefore has to find the ways and means whereby they can gain a certain amount of control and this is something we hope will never happen.

axus_auto

That is true. Because websites/forums are privately owned by individuals. If you really need to express yourself, then owning your own website is the best way to go.

T

TuaTeetu

If i can find evidences thar MIWs ka kias are involved in inciting hatred i am going to whack them until very jialat jialat.

Char_Azn

That is true. Because websites/forums are privately owned by individuals. If you really need to express yourself, then owning your own website is the best way to go.

The website would then be moderate and censored according to your standard. Example, PAP have always been accused to censoring their facebook page however, Nicole Seah for example have also been caught deleting post from her facebook page. Like I said, Freedom of speech does not exist on the web. You are only as free as the web master allows U to. Any site that doesn't get moderated will just degenerate into a messy flame/troll site very soon. More then enough forum and social networking site have gone through that stage. Even this forum that previously claim to have no moderator have a moderation system to zap users.

Early intervention is better because "if we take a step too late ... emotions would have already been inflamed and it would be hard to calm people down again."

Don't blame the internet.. Emotions can also be inflamed each time hearing those PAP bastards talk cock...

vamjok

this forum u also complain no free speech??!!? here i even remebering fuck the host few times and nothing happens to my nick, at most get suan back verbally with his powerful ang mo.