• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NCMP cannot vote, go in suck cock? ask Sylvia Lim

†††††

GE: WP's Sylvia Lim comments on NCMP system
By Hoe Yeen Nie | Posted: 13 April 2011 2150 hrs
php2jGxQk.jpg

SINGAPORE : Worker's Party Chairman Sylvia Lim said the Non-Constituency Members of Parliament (NCMP) system remains flawed, despite allowing for more robust debate.

That's because NCMPs do not get full voting rights, and do not represent any electorate.

At a forum on Tuesday, Prime Minister Lee Hsien Loong had defended the scheme against comments that NCMPs are not "real Opposition".

He said they enjoyed full debating rights, and noted that the scheme allowed Opposition members to establish themselves and gain more visibility among the electorate.

Ms Lim fought her first election in 2006 in Aljunied GRC.

As the best-performing loser, she entered Parliament as an NCMP.

Her team garnered 43.9 per cent of votes against the People's Action Party (PAP) team, and decided to take up the seat after considering the "effect on voters" if they had rejected the offer after a closely-fought election.

Ms Lim is currently the only non-elected Opposition MP.

The scheme was created to ensure a diversity of views.

But without full voting rights, Ms Lim said her role is limited.

For example, she could not vote against a 2007 amendment Bill she felt compromised the independence of the judiciary.

The Bill allowed the Prime Minister to nominate two members into a committee the Legal Service Commission that, among other things, decided on the promotion of district judges.

"If you just imagine at the coming election, we have a situation where Parliament consists entirely of PAP MPs and the opposition is only playing an NCMP role. I think most people would find that to be a regressive step. We are not asking for any indulgence or slack; what we want is an even playing field," said Ms Lim.

"The problem can be cured if the system reverts back to single seats - that's what we've been saying all along. And if the elections were held in such a manner that the boundaries are drawn by independent parties that don't report to the Prime Minister's Office, I think this problem will automatically resolve itself. And Opposition candidates can have an even playing field to come in on their own merits in that sense," she added.

But Ms Lim agrees her time in Parliament has made her more recognisable on the ground, which may translate into actual votes.

Analysts like Dr Gillian Koh also noted that Ms Lim has been "very valuable in creating some sort of debate", whether on the issues of ministerial pay or CPF Life.

Some analysts said the scheme may have even lowered some risk for Opposition candidates.

"The prospects are slightly brighter, if you want to play in this game on the Opposition side. Perhaps that's attracted a few more people into the game, because they know that something might come out of their efforts," said Dr Gillian Koh, Senior Research Fellow at the Institute of Policy Studies, NUS.

The NCMP scheme has drawn much criticism since it began in 1984.

But analysts said the scheme is here to stay, and in 2010, it was further expanded to guarantee at least nine Opposition seats in Parliament.

Despite their objections, Opposition parties have not yet committed to whether they will reject the seat if offered after this election.

As Desmond Lim, Secretary-General of the Singapore Democratic Alliance said "when we cross the bridge, we will talk about it," but voters "can't have their cake and eat it."

If voters reject the NCMP scheme, he said, they should then vote for the Opposition.

Sebastian Teo, President of the National Solidarity Party said his personal preference is to reject the seat.

"But this all depends on the party, the CEC's position. If a candidate, by not taking up the NCMP seat, would affect the party's position, then I think the candidate has to consider to take up the NCMP," said Mr Teo.

Ms Lim said her party will make a decision when the outcome of the General Election (GE) is known.

"Nobody fights elections to be an NCMP," she said.

On Mr Lee's comment that if the nine Opposition MPs organised themselves and specialised in different policy areas, they could make up two-thirds of Cabinet, she remarked: "I take the cue from that, that what he actually sees is that there is benefit to have a critical mass of Opposition MPs in Parliament to look at some of these issues. So I hope that Singaporeans can take the cue from there and vote in at least nine Opposition MPs."

- CNA /ls

NCMP is like the speakers corner.

Sometimes, without the speakers, & at times, the 'speakers turn off'... Only SINgaporeans, allow this kind of joke, and the joke is on us all...66.6% or not!!

Vote wisely, vote for the economical 'chilli craps stalls' that can give you daily substenance & pay for really affordable 'insurance policies'....why go for the expensive stuffs, when you have alernatives...

Vote wisely

Varuna

The scheme was created to ensure a diversity of views.
But without full voting rights, Ms Lim said her role is limited.
For example, she could not vote against a 2007 amendment Bill she felt compromised the independence of the judiciary.

We need diversity of views that can be taken seriously and not just hot air soon to be forgotten. Since NCMP has no voting right, NCMPs cannot do much as gatekeeper to stop unfair bills and policies from being passed, or if not, at least to apply pressure on the ruling party to re-look and refine their policies better. This is a compromised system that shamelessly undermines the role and purpose of a genuine opposition party within the parliament. It's like pulling out all the tiger's teeth such that it can do nothing much except to perform occasional roars to amuse the crowd. After so many years of predominantly single party rule, it is time to progress and try out a system that sees ruling party genuinely working along with and accommodate diversity of views from opposing camps MPs, with the common objective of working out sound policies for the people or country. :smile:

Forvendet

This is a distraction to the real thorn, NMPs who didn't contest for or receive a single vote at all. Let's start with abolishing the NMP system. The NCMP system is caught in middle. It can be degenerated into meaningless token voice or be developed into a proportional representation system. Malays can't claim first priority to that in a GRC, as GMS openly promised Malays. If not enough Malays are voting his Malay team-mate, but enough Chinese are voting his Chinese team-mates to qualify for NCMP, he has categorically stated the Malay team-mate gets priority. I'm neither Malay nor Chinese. I categorically disagree with that sort of promise or practice. If NSP is the only opposition in my GRC, I'll spoil my vote.

cobragold

NCMP's cannot vote on anything, BUT PAP MP's have to vote on what the old man wants them to vote for regardless of what they thing about the policy. This is worst as they have no other choice and that is why we have a 3rd world Parliament, later they will cry and say that they do not agree with the policy but their vote was for what the old man wanted.

Agree with Sylvia too many GRC. Hope in next election, there will be more changes. Only 10 GRC or less and max. 4 person in a GRC on average a GRC is a 3 member only.
Why PAP so scare?

Char_Azn

NCMP does have it's benefits. If we scrap the NCMP scheme, the opposition will only have 2 guys in Parliament right now instead of 3. The fact that Sylvia Lim have been allowed to speak in Parliament also got her greater coverage in local media enhancing the status of the opposition. Case in point, go watch the clip on Sylvia Lim screwing the cabinet for their high salary. Wouldn't have made it on the local media if it wasn't for the fact that she was in Parliament. Chee had made many similar clips on this and is totally ignore by everyone other then his own supporters. The system gives an opposition party member to show their stuff which would otherwise remain unknown if he/she never got into parliament through the vote. It is "useless" in the sense that they cannot vote on issues but it is very useful in enhancing the reputation of the opposition

Khun Ying Pojaman

If I am a NCMP, I will just sit there and wait to collect my monthly pay check only ....

Don't even waste your time sitting there. You can still collect your paycheck without attendance.

NCMP surely has its benefits. When PAP came up with this idea of NCMP it had thought about the kind 'carrot' that would entice opposition. True enough, it was too good to reject, and opposition had to come up with this excuse, time and again, that if not for the interest of the party as a whole, he or she would have rejected.

Just remember, whatever reason you have to accept NCMP role it just makes PAP very happy. Yes, you gain more media coverage, but you may have unwittingly stabbed the system of democracy in the back.

Sylvia Lim would be the last person qualified to speak against NCMP; it sounds so similar to LBH's no groupthink drama.

leoman

GE: WP's Sylvia Lim comments on NCMP system
By Hoe Yeen Nie | Posted: 13 April 2011 2150 hrs
php2jGxQk.jpg

SINGAPORE : Worker's Party Chairman Sylvia Lim said the Non-Constituency Members of Parliament (NCMP) system remains flawed, despite allowing for more robust debate.Ms Lim said her party will make a decision when the outcome of the General Election (GE) is known.

"Nobody fights elections to be an NCMP," she said.

On Mr Lee's comment that if the nine Opposition MPs organised themselves and specialised in different policy areas, they could make up two-thirds of Cabinet, she remarked: "I take the cue from that, that what he actually sees is that there is benefit to have a critical mass of Opposition MPs in Parliament to look at some of these issues. So I hope that Singaporeans can take the cue from there and vote in at least nine Opposition MPs."

- CNA /ls

lhl 1 more ncmp go there give all their suggestion n ideas (but they cannot vote for or against) so he can claim credit 4 solving national's prob.

NCMP does have it's benefits. If we scrap the NCMP scheme, the opposition will only have 2 guys in Parliament right now instead of 3. The fact that Sylvia Lim have been allowed to speak in Parliament also got her greater coverage in local media enhancing the status of the opposition. Case in point, go watch the clip on Sylvia Lim screwing the cabinet for their high salary. Wouldn't have made it on the local media if it wasn't for the fact that she was in Parliament. Chee had made many similar clips on this and is totally ignore by everyone other then his own supporters. The system gives an opposition party member to show their stuff which would otherwise remain unknown if he/she never got into parliament through the vote. It is "useless" in the sense that they cannot vote on issues but it is very useful in enhancing the reputation of the opposition

1. come on!
2. get real.
3. are you living in some hole or what?
4. ncmp equates some opposition!

... He said they enjoyed full debating rights, and noted that the scheme allowed Opposition members to establish themselves and gain more visibility among the electorate ...
trying 2 fix peasants wif his nonsense again ...

which 1 is mor powderful? ... tok cok vs voting rites? ...

ncmp's can tok 4 all dey want ... dey can heck care u ... dat 154th can dun report wat u say ... so wat can u do? ...

if u got voting rites ... u can vote against dem ... like veto their greedy salary increases etc ... u tink dey scared of u anot? ...

iz another trick of dat loon burger 2 trick peasants not 2 vote opps ... peasants shud not allow demselves 2 b fixed ...

saratogas

A small little red dot already have many jiat Liao bees in the parliament, now they throw in more Liao bees in drawing $allowance$ at tax payers expense! Our parliament is an expensive wayang session... Talk... Debate...Pass Motion!

Char_Azn

1. come on!
2. get real.
3. are you living in some hole or what?
4. ncmp equates some opposition!

Dude, the above article is covered in CNA. U think it would be covered in CNA if they just put it in a blog or publish it on their website like what SDP is doing? The fact that she is getting so much attention goes to show it does help the opposition cause

trying 2 fix peasants wif his nonsense again ...

which 1 is mor powderful? ... tok cok vs voting rites? ...

ncmp's can tok 4 all dey want ... dey can heck care u ... dat 154th can dun report wat u say ... so wat can u do? ...

if u got voting rites ... u can vote against dem ... like veto their greedy salary increases etc ... u tink dey scared of u anot? ...

iz another trick of dat loon burger 2 trick peasants not 2 vote opps ... peasants shud not allow demselves 2 b fixed ...

The 2 oposition MPs and NCMP is same. All 3 of them can only talk and debate. When come to voting the bill in Parliament. 2 vote are useless. Even with 20 against also useless.
The only wha opposition gain from NCMP is they have extra person to help them debate in Parliament and also salary by gov.