• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

PAP Ah Beng bragged egoistically for Nuclear Power Plant, now shut like Cock in mouth

taksinloong

http://www.reuters.com/article/2011...SP20110325?feedType=RSS&feedName=domesticNews

U.S. nuclear plant costs may soar after Japan quake

By Scott Malone and Eileen O'Grady

BOSTON/HOUSTON | Fri Mar 25, 2011 1:03pm EDT

BOSTON/HOUSTON (Reuters) - The crisis at Japan's Fukushima plant could hit the U.S. nuclear-power industry in its weakest spot -- by raising costs.

Plant developers have spent years seeking approvals to build the nation's first new nuclear reactors in three decades, arguing that nuclear power offered the United States an opportunity to reduce its greenhouse-gas emissions and become less dependent on imported oil.

They have been less vocal about the cost of building a nuclear plant -- two to four times as much as for a coal or natural gas-burning power station. And with regulators seen mandating new safety measures in the wake of Japan's crisis, the gap will only widen.

The U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission has already launched a review of the nation's 104 nuclear plants.

It could consider an array of new safety measures at U.S. plants, from requiring passive cooling systems that could keep reactors and spent-fuel pools safe in the event of a power loss such as the Fukushima plant faces, to seeking stronger containment around spent-fuel pools, to mandating additional backup generators, experts interviewed by Reuters said.

"This is going to impose significant costs, perhaps material costs, before we are done," said John Rowe, chairman of Chicago-based power company Exelon Corp, the nation's largest operator of nuclear power plants.

The Fukushima plant was hit by a March 11 disaster beyond what the engineers who designed it some four decades ago had planned for. It was first rocked by a magnitude 9 earthquake that cut its connection to the power grid, then hammered by a tsunami that knocked out its backup electric systems.

Just as the September 11, 2001 terrorist attacks prompted security agencies around the world to redefine their concept of "worst-case scenario," the Fukushima accident could prompt regulators to demand more robust nuclear plants.

"I would hope that an accident of this significance ... would lay bare the reality of nuclear power," said Jim Riccio, nuclear policy analyst at environmental group Greenpeace. "If it doesn't lead to a much higher level of questioning of the nuclear industry, then there's something seriously wrong."

ECONOMICS 'NOT GOOD'

Tougher defenses could raise the cost of new plants and force operators of current facilities -- including the 23 using the General Electric Co Mark I design used at Fukushima -- to pay for pricey upgrades.

"The economics were not good at all for the U.S. to build new nuclear plants given the low (natural) gas prices and the outlook for huge reserves of gas," said Jone-Lin Wang, managing director for global power for IHS CERA, a Cambridge, Massachusetts-based consultancy that focuses on energy issues.

The cost of building a new nuclear plant in the United States could range from $5 billion to $12 billion depending on the facility's size.

The higher debt burdens that nuclear plant operators carry due to their higher construction costs effectively erase the economic benefit of using a cheaper fuel stock.

Prices of natural gas -- another major source of electricity in the United States -- have fallen about 69 percent from their last peak in July 2008, and the discovery of new supplies of shale gas leave some forecasters to conclude they will remain low for some time.

taksinloong

Re: PAP Ah Beng bragged egoistically for Nuclear Power Plant, now shut like Cock in m

Food from 5 Japanese provinces banned in Taiwan, AVA claimed Japanese food in SG safe when they only banned a tiny area of production sources.

http://tw.news.yahoo.com/article/url/d/a/110326/4/2opnl.html

日本5縣食品禁入 福島 茨城 枥木 群馬 千葉
中時 更新日期:"2011/03/26 02:57" 邱俐穎、秦蕙媛、鄭閔聲、陳文信、江佩君/

中國時報【邱俐穎、秦蕙媛、鄭閔聲、陳文信、江佩君/台北報導】

繼美國、澳洲、加拿大等國宣布禁止日本受輻射汙染地區乳製品及蔬果進口,衛生署昨也宣布,即日起暫停受理福島、茨城、枥木、群馬、千葉等日本五縣生產製造食品,而且這項禁令,除乳製品及生鮮蔬果,更擴及加工包裝等所有食品,即不論製造日期,只要是這五縣出產食品,台灣都禁止進口。

衛生署長邱文達強調,未來只要日本政府公布汙染超標的地區,或我國監測出有汙染的產地,即禁止食品輸入。

至於日本其他地區輸入的食品,仍維持現行全面加強管控措施,生鮮冷藏蔬果、冷凍蔬果、生鮮冷藏水產品、冷凍水產品、乳製品、嬰幼兒食品、礦泉水或飲水、海草類等八大類產品,維持邊境百分百逐批查驗,另三月十二日以後製造的加工包裝產品,仍加強抽驗。

但早在政府明訂禁令前,通路業者為顧及消費者觀感,早就全面停止輸入日本災區商品,轉向歐美、本土業者訂單。

甚至提高安全規格,針對乳製品、礦泉水等輻射高危險商品下全面禁令,就怕消費者聞「日」色變。

新光三越商品部副理林志雄表示,日前超市早已停止進口日本災區商品,目前賣的都是震前進口的庫存品。政府禁止輸入的日本五縣中,千葉為食品大廠所在地,像是「田舍味噌」在各大進口超市佔比頗大。另外,內部也會將起司、優酪乳、嬰兒奶粉、礦泉水、新鮮水產列為輻射高危險產品,即日起擴大至日本整體區域停止進口。

city’super公關洪溢珮表示,目前超市有販售群馬縣的蒟蒻,以及千葉縣的羊羹,但商品皆為三月十一日前進口。

松青超市表示,賣場日本商品以北海道、函館生鮮為主,核災區域進口商品極少,而且都是災前進口,未來同樣也會提高其他國家進口商品比例。

愛買公關副理楊冬寧說,賣場日本商品皆為日震前進貨,且種類不到百分之一;家樂福公關經理林夢紹指出,被禁止輸入的日本五縣商品在賣場數量不多,同樣是災前進口,支持並配合政府作法,未來將以其他商品替代。

統一超商指出,採購的日本商品,沒有來自日本輻射汙染地區,集團旗下的SATO日本料理,食材也多取自大阪、澎湖群島及北海道。

立委賴士葆昨質詢表示,民眾拒買來自日本的鮮魚,導致魚價跌三成,他呼籲政府應暫時禁止日本漁貨進口;立委李慶華也建議政府直接對日本災區蔬果及牛乳全面實施禁運。

taksinloong

Re: PAP Ah Beng bragged egoistically for Nuclear Power Plant, now shut like Cock in m

http://news.asiaone.com/News/Latest+News/Asia/Story/A1Story20110326-270302.html

Is there any alternative to nuclear power?

The Yomiuri Shimbun/Asia News Network
Sat, Mar 26, 2011

TOKYO, JAPAN - The nuclear disaster at the Fukushima No. 1 power plant has shaken the foundation of Japan's energy policy.
Effects of radiation
Click on thumbnail to view (Photos: AFP, Reuters)
20110326.145417_20110326-radiationworkerstr.jpg

For more photos, click here.

No alternative source of energy to nuclear power generation appears to be on the horizon, and the power cuts that Tokyo Electric Power Co. is resorting to in the capital and other cities are likely to continue for sometime to come.
RELATED STORIES

* Worker inside stricken reactor recalls quake
* Plant water highly radioactive
* Experts unsure on source of radiation leak
* Safety team neglects risk
* Excessive radioactivity found in Tokyo vegetables for the first time

The power shortage is not only disrupting the daily lives of the people, it will probably seriously affect the entire economy as many businesses are struggling to cope with the situation.

The government must come up with plans to find the power needed to grease the wheels of the country.

It is now forced to choose between two courses of action: Restore public confidence in nuclear power generation or find alternative energy sources.

Japan depends on other countries for most of its fuel, such as oil and liquefied natural gas. Crude oil and LNG are used for thermal power generation.

However, Japan will be in a bind if countries exporting fuel to this country are destabilized politically.

To ensure energy security, this country has to increase, even gradually, its sources of energy without relying too much on other countries.

Before the earthquake and tsunami disaster, the government came up with a plan to double the ratio of energy sources by nuclear power stations and renewable energy, including solar power, from about 35 percent in fiscal 2007 to 70 percent in fiscal 2030.

The government placed its hopes on nuclear power as a "semi-domestic energy source" because of its efficiency and because the amount of fuel required is small.

However, the crisis at the Fukushima No. 1 plant, which stretches over the borders of Okumamachi and Futabamachi in Fukushima Prefecture, has forced the government to think twice about allowing construction of new nuclear power stations.

Already there are moves to suspend construction of nuclear power plants, such as Chugoku Electric Power Co.'s Kaminoseki plant in Kaminosekicho in Yamaguchi Prefecture and TEPCO's reactors at the Higashidori power plant in Higashidorimura in Aomori Prefecture.

The Higashidori plant is shared by Tohoku Electric Power Co. and TEPCO. Tohoku Electric has already started operating its No. 1 reactor and another is in the works, while TEPCO started construction of its No. 1 reactor in January and plans to build a second one.

Operations at TEPCO's Kashiwazaki-Kariwa nuclear power station in Kashiwazaki and Kariwamura in Niigata Prefecture stopped in 2007 following the Niigata Prefecture Chuetsu Offshore Earthquake.

The company has had great difficulty trying to win the understanding of local residents and governments toward fully restarting it. The plant is partially operating now.

As a stopgap measure, TEPCO plans to increase the operation rates of thermal power plants, but fuel costs for these power plants have increased sharply.

The political situations in Middle Eastern countries, which supply 90 percent of Japan's oil imports, are unstable and fuel imports therefore are unreliable.

Renewable energy sources, on which great expectations rest, still provide a relatively small amount of energy.

In addition, many technological problems must be solved before supplies can be increased in this field.

When Japan was adversely affected by two energy crises in the 1970s, the government and the private sector cooperated to make this country an "energy-saving society."

There is no other way to cope with the current situation than to conserve energy as much as possible.

However, a ranking Economy, Trade and Industry Ministry official issued a warning about summer shortages.

"Even if we engage in energy conservation, there'll be a shortage of electricity in the middle of summer. We need a plan to fundamentally solve the situation," the official said.

Economy, Trade and Industry Minister Banri Kaieda said Friday that his ministry would compile as early as the end of the month guidelines to restart operations at nuclear power stations after inspections are completed.

But will the government throw itself wholeheartedly behind the nuclear option?

kiwibird7

Don't need to ponder the costs of setting up a nuclear plant.

The costs of just ONE mishap in a nuclear plant is beyond all calculations where Singapore is concerned.

A small land mass like Singapore cannot afford to even have ONE mishap even if it is a 1 in 100 yrs occurrence. No place in Singapore will be habitable, the increased likelihood of CANCER for the general population from a RADIOACTIVE LEAK not to mention sterility to male gonads from radiation and all HDB pigeonholes value will become worthless.

seebaysong

Who is the Beng who suggested ?!
Doesn't he know tt if u put Nuke plant near to Spore, we kena break into half like the South Korean worship..
if put Nuke plant near to Summatra, summatra disappear and tsumani whack us terok terok...
if put Nuke plant near to Indonesia/Msia, due to gross mis-management bcos some pple may turn off the chiller bcos too cold or wanna safe electricity, SEA kena terok terok ...

uncleyap

I want to point out that the human nuclear technology is now proven to be very primitive and unsafe, I am not talking about nuclear bomb but even the popular & peaceful power generation alone.

It had been weeks after Tsunami, and yet they don't seems to be able to PULL FUEL RODS OFF THEIR REATORS!? Why so poorly designed and constructed?

From common engineering point of view, especially a dangerous energy plant built without the ability to cut off in case of emergency is so primitive unsafe and silly. Why this way?

In any other forms of power plants, diesel / hydro / gas / coal / solar there is always a safe way to do emergency shut down.

If my simple nuclear knowledge served me right, I know that nuclear reactors stops when their fuel rods are drawn out of them, or their control rods are shafted all the way inside.

nuclear2pa.jpg

However it seems that always when some accidents happened, it is NOT the case. I had never heard any emergencies being neutralised by nuclear fuel rods withdrawn from reactors and stored back to safe storage. Why there is no emergency system that will draw out the rods and safe store them as it seems? :confused::rolleyes:

Once your fuel rods are safely out of reactors, it will cool off in a matter of time, if you keep the fuel rods inside, there is enough fuel to heat for a hundred years. When that is out of control troubles are HUGE!

It also seems that the nuclear power generation technologies are inefficient that lots of the heat generated by nuclear reactors are wasted and dumped into sea or air heating up the planet earth for global warming, that is shown when Japanese reactors' sea water cooling system got fucked up by Tsunami, their reactors got over-cooked. It showed 2 issues from here,

1 - lack emergency cut off of energy sources (fuel rods),
2 - critically dependent on cooling to maintain safety means inefficiency and wastage.

In Japan I would imagine they had robots to pull away fuel rods one by one and automatically place them in safe storage, when there is trouble. When cooling system failed, over heat warning should had triggered an automatic emergency removal of fuel rods. Japs are in trouble I think only because fuel rods are still shafted in their ass! That's too hot!:p

Seriously, in any other power plants, I know for sure that they can cut-off fuels, e.g. gas, diesel, coal supply and thus cool off. That is when these fuel aren't as dangerous as nuke. 10kg of nuke fuel is enough to produce power for a city for many many years, and if that can not be safely cut off in emergency, then we are really playing Russian Roulette with it.

excl_ed_comoglio_Image-7.gif

longbow

Problem is not about fuel rod. When a gas or diesel or coal plant has problem, you just cut the fuel and let the thing burn itself out.

Here you pour water also cannot, you cannot wait it out. Frankly japanese do not know what to do. Point is that nuclear has no room for error, especially for small country.

ivebert

If PAP really wants a nuclear plant, I hope they make some scholars study nuclear engineering in U.S.

I don't trust NUS or NTU to train competent engineers to maintain the plant

tun_dr_m

If PAP really wants a nuclear plant, I hope they make some scholars study nuclear engineering in U.S.

I don't trust NUS or NTU to train competent engineers to maintain the plant

Oh please! You and your USA god again!

Remember their fucking 3 Mile Island? That happen way way before Japs Fukushima Island.:eek:

ivebert

Oh please! You and your USA god again!

Remember their fucking 3 Mile Island? That happen way way before Japs Fukushima Island.:eek:

You fucking frog in well

Only with mistakes and disaster will our country become better

Because of 3 mile island, our nuclear program is more robust and we became stronger

Only fucking Sinkies like you look at 1 incident and condemn everything

You must only have poly education, where critical thinking is not taught

tun_dr_m

Problem is not about fuel rod. When a gas or diesel or coal plant has problem, you just cut the fuel and let the thing burn itself out.

Here you pour water also cannot, you cannot wait it out. Frankly japanese do not know what to do. Point is that nuclear has no room for error, especially for small country.

What is that you don't believe about fuel rod to be removed from reactor core when there is an overheating scenario?

These rods are the most powerful and dangerous energy sources.

You keep fuel rods inside they are like loaded guns or bomb shells, basically time bombs of the worst kind.