• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

I'm not shy of getting high pay - Lim Swee Say

sinren67

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1103473/1/.html

Singapore's civil service is world's best, says labour chief

SINGAPORE: Labour chief Lim Swee Say said Singapore should not be shy about having one of the highest paid civil services in the world.

He said this is because Singapore's civil service is the world's best and most effective and part of the credit must go to the public sector's biggest union, The Amalgamated Union of Public Employees (AUPE).

The 52-year-old union, which represents over 16,000 employees from the civil service and statutory boards, elected its new executive council on Saturday.

NTUC Secretary General Lim Swee Say said public sector employees in Singapore are treated much better than their counterparts around the world.

And he explained why Singapore has one of the world's highest paid and best public services.

"We may be the highest paid, but at the same time it is also important for them to understand we're probably the most effective, the best civil service in the world. And this came about because AUPE and PSD (Public Service Division), we work hand in hand, so on the one hand, we negotiate for fair terms, for good terms, for responsive rewards for civil servants.

"And yet at the same time, we mobilise our ground to ensure that the civil service always move ahead, stay ahead to do their best for the citizens of Singapore, because that is our purpose, our mission."

He was speaking to union leaders at the AUPE's Delegates Conference.

The conference saw the election of the AUPE's new executive council, with 25 candidates contesting the 22 posts available.

It also saw the conferment of the third Ong Teng Cheong Institute fellowship on 62-year-old retired unionist Teo Yock Ngee, who has served the AUPE since 1984.

Mr Teo said one of the challenges of the AUPE's new leadership would be to continue ensuring public sector employees are reasonably paid.

"Because in the public sector, we have to rely on GDP rather than anything else, we can't follow like in the private sector, whether that industry is doing well or which company is doing well. That would be easy and more straightforward. Public sector we have to work with the government representatives through public service division to arrive at some kind of understanding how much in terms of variable payments, the bonus."

The new executive council will serve till 2015.

-CNA/ac

Dreamer1

Ah Lim is not the first nor the last.

Bargain Hen started the ball rolling by telling Sinkies :U got me damn cheap.I am born a world class manpower minister,world class foreign minister,world class minister of trade and industry,world class education minister,I am born to be the best in any appointment.

Now it is Ah Lim's turn,he is more modest,declaring "we get what we truly deserve".

A modest degree of respect to Ah Lim at this moment,shall see how he behaves during the PAPs erections.

KuanTi01

Disgraceful self-congratulation. GE must be really near! He's not known to be shy in the first place! He's just sia suay, that's all.:rolleyes:

wrcboi

he can say all these coz he knew that sporns are either daft or cant be bothered....and nothing will gona change after the next GE....there be heaps of sporns voting for him anyway.....

What can silly sporns do???if they are so brilliant....the imperial partay would have voted out long ago....

KNNBCCB

no%20bullshit.jpg

4Sgie

"we're probably the most effective, the best civil service in the world"

This koyoks seller Lim Sway Sway not even sure of what he is saying. Please, everyone, vote this clown out of parliament.

Kuailan

http://www.channelnewsasia.com/stories/singaporelocalnews/view/1103473/1/.html

Singapore's civil service is world's best, says labour chief

SINGAPORE: Labour chief Lim Swee Say said Singapore should not be shy about having one of the highest paid civil services in the world.

He said this is because Singapore's civil service is the world's best and most effective and part of the credit must go to the public sector's biggest union, The Amalgamated Union of Public Employees (AUPE).

The 52-year-old union, which represents over 16,000 employees from the civil service and statutory boards, elected its new executive council on Saturday.

NTUC Secretary General Lim Swee Say said public sector employees in Singapore are treated much better than their counterparts around the world.

And he explained why Singapore has one of the world's highest paid and best public services.

"We may be the highest paid, but at the same time it is also important for them to understand we're probably the most effective, the best civil service in the world. And this came about because AUPE and PSD (Public Service Division), we work hand in hand, so on the one hand, we negotiate for fair terms, for good terms, for responsive rewards for civil servants.

"And yet at the same time, we mobilise our ground to ensure that the civil service always move ahead, stay ahead to do their best for the citizens of Singapore, because that is our purpose, our mission."

He was speaking to union leaders at the AUPE's Delegates Conference.

The conference saw the election of the AUPE's new executive council, with 25 candidates contesting the 22 posts available.

It also saw the conferment of the third Ong Teng Cheong Institute fellowship on 62-year-old retired unionist Teo Yock Ngee, who has served the AUPE since 1984.

Mr Teo said one of the challenges of the AUPE's new leadership would be to continue ensuring public sector employees are reasonably paid.

"Because in the public sector, we have to rely on GDP rather than anything else, we can't follow like in the private sector, whether that industry is doing well or which company is doing well. That would be easy and more straightforward. Public sector we have to work with the government representatives through public service division to arrive at some kind of understanding how much in terms of variable payments, the bonus."

The new executive council will serve till 2015.

-CNA/ac

Please take a look at ICA at Causeway on the way back from JB to SG alway massive JAM!! U called world most productive and efficient?? think again!!!

Whereas JB ICA is a breezy ! n

soikee

This Siah Sway Lim fella sure has got damned thickskin!

Time for them to give themselves another hefty raise.

Majullah! Majullah! Majullah S'pura!

Emigrate before it's too late.

Loofydralb

I didn't know any one can carry himself so high.

KNN chee bye civil service of one tiny island want to brag so loud.

Other coutries must be laughing their toes off. To them Singapore is just like a big corporation who can set thier own rules but can still manage to lose $$$$.

If these civil servants were good, they would be running MNCs instead.

Lastly, is it the water here or just bad upbringing to beat your own drums?

Cruxx

“Some time ago, on a rare trip to Paris, so a well-placed friend told me, Lee (Kuan Yew) was granted a meeting with François Mitterrand. Lee began lecturing the premier of France… on governance. After Lee had left the room, Mitterrand said, “Who is this ridiculous man who wastes my time? Running Singapore is like running Marseilles. I am running a whole country!” - Paul Theroux

HTOLAS

Was Mitterrand ever premier of France?

In a similar vein, is Lim Swee Say in the Civil Service? I'm all for a well paid civil service. I'm dead set against exorbitantly paid political masters.

“Some time ago, on a rare trip to Paris, so a well-placed friend told me, Lee (Kuan Yew) was granted a meeting with François Mitterrand. Lee began lecturing the premier of France… on governance. After Lee had left the room, Mitterrand said, “Who is this ridiculous man who wastes my time? Running Singapore is like running Marseilles. I am running a whole country!” - Paul Theroux

Some people are not even shy of losing billions of other people's money, of course the people below are not shy of helping themselves to "peanuts" - yeah peanuts when compared to the billions lost.