• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Creative launches tablet PCs to challenge iPad

SNAblog

Will Creative's tablet PCs end like it's Zen MP3 player?

http://www.laptopshop.co.uk/news/2010/11/creative-technology-launches-pair-of-new-tablet-pcs-840/

Creative Technology launches pair of new tablet PCs
Posted on November 3rd, 2010

Creative-tablets.jpg

The Creative Technology company has launched a pair of new tablet PCs that it hopes will challenge the market dominance of the Apple iPad.

Running initially on a 2.1 version of Google’s Android operating system, prospective buyers will have either a seven-inch or a ten-inch device to choose from, with both being billed as “entertainment” tablets.

Having made its name as a company that delivers top-quality sound equipment, Creative is looking to branch out and tackle the iPad and other rivals on the market with its ten-inch tablet.

It seems unlikely the new ’10 ZiiO devices will be able to genuinely challenge Apple’s prominent position in the hearts and minds of technology consumers worldwide but, with a much lower asking price, the Singaporean firm is could be set to find at least some success with its newest offerings.

The 10-inch version is set to retail at between £250 and £270, while the seven-inch devices will set prospective buyers back to the tune of just under or just over £200, depending what level of internal storage you’re after.

True to its roots, Creative is placing particular emphasis on the quality of the various audio features and add-ons its hardware can offer.

“The Creative ZiiO touch tablet…delivers the best wireless audio performance you will get from an Android-based tablet in the market, differentiating it from similar devices,” a statement from the company insists.

Last month, Apple Inc chief executive Steve Jobs dismissed the idea of the iPad being chased down in terms of market share by rival technology giants releasing Android-based seven-inch tablet PCs. Such devices were too small and do not operate smoothly enough to challenge Apple’s position in the field, he bullishly maintained.gl

shOUTloud

It is a hard truth but Creative product really sucks. I tried to support them by buying a the Zen something recently. It is not easy to use. The programming sucks big time. One would think that they have learned from iPod in terms of ease of use.

monkey see monkey do

last time kena burn when they challenge ipod, now want to get burn second time.

cooleo

Aiyo no 3G network but only wifi. Still running on Android 2.1? So outdated liao!

Creative is really UNcreative

I think Creative should develop products to compliment Apple instead of trying to challenge it. How come a company that used to be so successful cannot adapt quickly enough?

Apple hire the top minds in USA, creative hire FT, the cheapest from the third world.

see who win lah.

gbomega

The biggest drawback - the screen is resistive screen and not capacitive thus may not sensitive enough

uncleyap

:smile: I used to be developing products for a competitor of Creative during the Sound Cards & MPEG1 era.

They had not been coming out with good products for many years. It is good to see now that they came out with something. Good Luck! Keep it up!

:smile:

SQguy

I had a opportunity to travel with creative CEO and sorry to say he is very technical and to win over apple fans you need a person who is not a technolgy person and knows how apple human interface works.