• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cruise Ships Punters Eg Leisure World , Long Jie , Virgo FALLs In Here ...

FishLeong

Yes. Fully agreed. When got missed calls from family members,
always wonder what is it?
If anything urgent, the ferry takes apprx. 75mins to return Spore.
Thats why i try to hit target and always return by the 2.45pm ferry,
eta Spore 4pm.

Bro to play safe, get yourself a starhub prepaid card, local charges. Do a divert from your singtel or m1 card :biggrin:

FUNCHOI

Bro to play safe, get yourself a starhub prepaid card, local charges. Do a divert from your singtel or m1 card :biggrin:

Yes Bro,
for best reception, go to 8th floor, towards Spore direction.

be carefull while talking in case they make announcement,
and yr receiving party may overhear!

Cheers & Good Luck.

hokkien

Yes Bro,
for best reception, go to 8th floor, towards Spore direction.

be carefull while talking in case they make announcement,
and yr receiving party may overhear!

Cheers & Good Luck.

Ya bro when they announce... May I have your kind attention.... :biggrin:

FUNCHOI

Can download this tone "Doors are closing ,tututututu.....next station,....." and play at background to overlap the "May I have your kind attention",.....:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

My alibi is that i am in a meeting,
so cannot play Mrt announcement.
i just shut the phone immediately and act blur that the line got cut off.

justl00king

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...ns-who-loath-pay-100-lev#sthash.h9JEwpmU.dpuf

Floating casino draws Singaporeans who loath to pay $100 levy at home
PUBLISHED ON MAR 15, 2015 6:26 AM

BY THERESA TAN

It is a weekday afternoon and the Lido casino is packed with at least 500 people. There is hardly a seat available for those who also want to gamble.

There are about 40 tables offering games such as roulette, baccarat and poker. Two other rooms have more than 200 jackpot machines between them, but the crowd is thinner there.

This is the scene at the casino on board the Leisure World cruise ship, which sails in international waters off the Indonesian island of Batam and is thriving once again.

Floating casinos offering gamblers a "cruise to nowhere" took a big hit when Singapore's two casinos opened in 2010.

But the crowds have returned to the Leisure World, and they appear to be mostly elderly Singaporeans unwilling to pay the $100 levy to enter the casinos here.

A spokesman for New Century Tours, the ship's Singapore-based tour operator, told The Sunday Times: "Our business dropped drastically after the casinos opened. We had fewer than 500 passengers on some days. But as the (Singapore) casinos lost their novelty, the crowds started to come back in 2013."

Now, the spokesman said, it gets between 600 and 700 passengers daily, four in five of whom are Singaporeans, and the rest, Malaysians.

The spokesman said the Leisure World cruises "very slowly" in international waters near Batam, and has been there since the early 2000s. It is owned by Queenston Maritime, a company registered in the British Virgin Islands. New Century Tours is a Singapore travel agent.

There used to be three such floating casinos in recent years, but Leisure World is the only one known to be operating close to Singapore now.

The Sunday Times joined the crowd heading to Leisure World on a recent weekday.

Eight ferries leave the Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal every day between 8am and 8.30pm, with an additional trip on weekends.

For $43, you get a return ticket which includes free buffet meals on board the Leisure World. Those over 55 years old get a weekday discount and pay $23.

The ferry takes 40 minutes to get to the Nongsapura Ferry Terminal in Batam. Passengers then switch to a domestic ferry that takes them to the Leisure World in 20 minutes.

The whole trip takes about one hour and 15 minutes, including transit time at Nongsapura.

On the domestic ferry ride, about a dozen senior citizens chose to stand at the exit throughout, just to be the first to board the ship and get to the casino tables.

Most of the patrons on the casino ship appeared to be in their 50s and older, with a good mix of men and women.

Those who spoke to The Sunday Times said they usually visit the ship once a week, arriving in the morning and leaving by evening.

The Singaporeans said they frequent Leisure World because they prefer not to pay the $100 levy to enter the Singapore casinos. Besides, the ferry ticket is affordable and takes care of their meals.

Another draw: Minimum bets are relatively low. The bets start at $2, compared to $25 for most table games at the Singapore casinos.

A retired shipyard worker in his 60s said he visits Leisure World at least once a week as he is "bitten by the gambling bug".

He brings $700 to gamble, and loses more often than he wins.

A cabin on board the ship costs $40, but most passengers do without it as they come for a day trip, some staying for just two hours of gambling.

A part-time factory worker, 60, said he gambles for two or three hours in the morning and leaves by lunch-time to go to work. He visits the floating casino once or twice a week, hoping to win a few hundred dollars.

Some of those The Sunday Times spoke to said their families had no idea they spent their day gambling at sea.

A businesswoman in her 40s said she told her husband she was staying overnight with a friend, then took the evening ferry to the Leisure World and booked a cabin to sleep over.

She had lost more than $3,000 by the next afternoon when she was heading home.

Another woman, a 70-year-old former hawker, started visiting the casinos after retiring two years ago. She visits the Leisure World once a week.

She said: "There is nothing to do at home, and it is very boring."

[email protected]

BACKGROUND STORY
LAST RESORT FOR SOME AFTER GETTING BANNED

Some gamblers head for the floating casino after getting banned from entering Singapore's two casinos.

A 43-year-old sales consultant, who declined to be named, told The Sunday Times that he applied for a self-exclusion order after losing at least $50,000 in the Singapore casinos over just a few months.

He owed more than a dozen loan sharks and licensed moneylenders more than $20,000, plus hefty interest.

"It is very hard to quit," he said. "I kept thinking of winning back all the money I had lost."

He then started going to the Leisure World floating casino.

He would head to Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal after work, take the 8.30pm ferry to Batam and reach the floating casino by 10pm. He would then gamble into the wee hours, and take the first ferry back to Singapore at 6.15am, and report for work by 9am.

At one point last year, he was at the floating casino three to four nights a week and chalked up losses of at least $20,000.

His wife divorced him because of his gambling. He is finally seeking help, and has asked his counsellor at Blessed Grace Social Services to keep his passport, so he cannot travel to Leisure World any more.

Another man, a 35-year-old former bank employee who used to earn $150,000 a year, told The Sunday Times that over the past five years, he got himself banned from the Singapore casinos three times and revoked the ban twice.

After he applied for his third self-exclusion order, he started going to Leisure World. He stopped only when no one - not even loan sharks and licensed moneylenders - would lend him any more money to gamble.

He said he had lost at least $500,000.

He quit his well-paid job after being hounded by licensed moneylenders at work. He now drives a taxi and is also seeking help to quit gambling.

Asked why he could not stop going back to his habit, he said: "I wanted to win back my losses to settle my debts, which kept getting bigger."

Theresa Tan

hokkien

Now crowd going back to leisure world their staff services sure yaya soon :biggrin: encounter one staff asking for tips.. I was like? Ppl gamble also ask tips? Strike mega meh :biggrin:

ahboy123

http://www.straitstimes.com/news/si...ns-who-loath-pay-100-lev#sthash.h9JEwpmU.dpuf

Floating casino draws Singaporeans who loath to pay $100 levy at home
PUBLISHED ON MAR 15, 2015 6:26 AM

BY THERESA TAN

It is a weekday afternoon and the Lido casino is packed with at least 500 people. There is hardly a seat available for those who also want to gamble.

There are about 40 tables offering games such as roulette, baccarat and poker. Two other rooms have more than 200 jackpot machines between them, but the crowd is thinner there.

This is the scene at the casino on board the Leisure World cruise ship, which sails in international waters off the Indonesian island of Batam and is thriving once again.

Floating casinos offering gamblers a "cruise to nowhere" took a big hit when Singapore's two casinos opened in 2010.

But the crowds have returned to the Leisure World, and they appear to be mostly elderly Singaporeans unwilling to pay the $100 levy to enter the casinos here.

A spokesman for New Century Tours, the ship's Singapore-based tour operator, told The Sunday Times: "Our business dropped drastically after the casinos opened. We had fewer than 500 passengers on some days. But as the (Singapore) casinos lost their novelty, the crowds started to come back in 2013."

Now, the spokesman said, it gets between 600 and 700 passengers daily, four in five of whom are Singaporeans, and the rest, Malaysians.

The spokesman said the Leisure World cruises "very slowly" in international waters near Batam, and has been there since the early 2000s. It is owned by Queenston Maritime, a company registered in the British Virgin Islands. New Century Tours is a Singapore travel agent.

There used to be three such floating casinos in recent years, but Leisure World is the only one known to be operating close to Singapore now.

The Sunday Times joined the crowd heading to Leisure World on a recent weekday.

Eight ferries leave the Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal every day between 8am and 8.30pm, with an additional trip on weekends.

For $43, you get a return ticket which includes free buffet meals on board the Leisure World. Those over 55 years old get a weekday discount and pay $23.

The ferry takes 40 minutes to get to the Nongsapura Ferry Terminal in Batam. Passengers then switch to a domestic ferry that takes them to the Leisure World in 20 minutes.

The whole trip takes about one hour and 15 minutes, including transit time at Nongsapura.

On the domestic ferry ride, about a dozen senior citizens chose to stand at the exit throughout, just to be the first to board the ship and get to the casino tables.

Most of the patrons on the casino ship appeared to be in their 50s and older, with a good mix of men and women.

Those who spoke to The Sunday Times said they usually visit the ship once a week, arriving in the morning and leaving by evening.

The Singaporeans said they frequent Leisure World because they prefer not to pay the $100 levy to enter the Singapore casinos. Besides, the ferry ticket is affordable and takes care of their meals.

Another draw: Minimum bets are relatively low. The bets start at $2, compared to $25 for most table games at the Singapore casinos.

A retired shipyard worker in his 60s said he visits Leisure World at least once a week as he is "bitten by the gambling bug".

He brings $700 to gamble, and loses more often than he wins.

A cabin on board the ship costs $40, but most passengers do without it as they come for a day trip, some staying for just two hours of gambling.

A part-time factory worker, 60, said he gambles for two or three hours in the morning and leaves by lunch-time to go to work. He visits the floating casino once or twice a week, hoping to win a few hundred dollars.

Some of those The Sunday Times spoke to said their families had no idea they spent their day gambling at sea.

A businesswoman in her 40s said she told her husband she was staying overnight with a friend, then took the evening ferry to the Leisure World and booked a cabin to sleep over.

She had lost more than $3,000 by the next afternoon when she was heading home.

Another woman, a 70-year-old former hawker, started visiting the casinos after retiring two years ago. She visits the Leisure World once a week.

She said: "There is nothing to do at home, and it is very boring."

[email protected]

BACKGROUND STORY
LAST RESORT FOR SOME AFTER GETTING BANNED

Some gamblers head for the floating casino after getting banned from entering Singapore's two casinos.

A 43-year-old sales consultant, who declined to be named, told The Sunday Times that he applied for a self-exclusion order after losing at least $50,000 in the Singapore casinos over just a few months.

He owed more than a dozen loan sharks and licensed moneylenders more than $20,000, plus hefty interest.

"It is very hard to quit," he said. "I kept thinking of winning back all the money I had lost."

He then started going to the Leisure World floating casino.

He would head to Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal after work, take the 8.30pm ferry to Batam and reach the floating casino by 10pm. He would then gamble into the wee hours, and take the first ferry back to Singapore at 6.15am, and report for work by 9am.

At one point last year, he was at the floating casino three to four nights a week and chalked up losses of at least $20,000.

His wife divorced him because of his gambling. He is finally seeking help, and has asked his counsellor at Blessed Grace Social Services to keep his passport, so he cannot travel to Leisure World any more.

Another man, a 35-year-old former bank employee who used to earn $150,000 a year, told The Sunday Times that over the past five years, he got himself banned from the Singapore casinos three times and revoked the ban twice.

After he applied for his third self-exclusion order, he started going to Leisure World. He stopped only when no one - not even loan sharks and licensed moneylenders - would lend him any more money to gamble.

He said he had lost at least $500,000.

He quit his well-paid job after being hounded by licensed moneylenders at work. He now drives a taxi and is also seeking help to quit gambling.

Asked why he could not stop going back to his habit, he said: "I wanted to win back my losses to settle my debts, which kept getting bigger."

Theresa Tan

Look like Leisure World not only attract ah ma & ah pa , also many high earner and professional , last time i did see one fat uncle always carry a box of $5k rolling chip and one lady think is 40s accompany by 2 china young duck, one hand in baccarat easily 10k -30 ,40k , if the road not good the duck will bet 1k testing, if in good road the lady will whack 40k and the duck just sit beside and cheer if win, but after sometimes disappeared liao. So work as duck very good income leh:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

hokkien

Look like Leisure World not only attract ah ma & ah pa , also many high earner and professional , last time i did see one fat uncle always carry a box of $5k rolling chip and one lady think is 40s accompany by 2 china young duck, one hand in baccarat easily 10k -30 ,40k , if the road not good the duck will bet 1k testing, if in good road the lady will whack 40k and the duck just sit beside and cheer if win, but after sometimes disappeared liao. So work as duck very good income leh:biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:
If duck got to serve someone like ho ching..... Than chiam lor :biggrin:

HappyGala

Any new slots update? I am hoping for them to bring in WMS G+ Deluxe to replace their Lao kok kok old wms games. So far i only heard got DFDC but i have no interest in this game.

hokkien

Any new slots update? I am hoping for them to bring in WMS G+ Deluxe to replace their Lao kok kok old wms games. So far i only heard got DFDC but i have no interest in this game.

Talk about wms, leisure world got more wms slots compare to rws :biggrin:

ahboy123

Can use on own smartphone/laptop? Wish to go there and use in cabin sometimes after playing in casino. How is the speed of the connection?

Internet $2 per hour only can use on 8th floor, like last time dial up speed,the purpose is for u to transfer money to either ur atm card or credit card or up the temporary limit to ur credit card so they can continue to suck u till dry,other than that all no connection , damn lousy, inside cabin no connection and the socket only 2 pins (they purposely design think they dont want u to watch movie using laptop without going to their casino, remember to bring 3 pins socket if want to plug in inside cabin):biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

garlic

Thx for the info.. for me, i go chop chop bet one.. take 500 and bet all within 2 bets on baccarat.. win or lose chop chop only.. the rest of the time is to go relax, massage and sauna with the free food.. at night nothing to do, sure watch movies.. will definitely bring 3 pin plug then. I wonder which malaysia telco's signal strongest there can use in cabin.. Or they jam all signals on cabin floor?

Internet $2 per hour only can use on 8th floor, like last time dial up speed,the purpose is for u to transfer money to either ur atm card or credit card or up the temporary limit to ur credit card so they can continue to suck u till dry,other than that all no connection , damn lousy, inside cabin no connection and the socket only 2 pins (they purposely design think they dont want u to watch movie using laptop without going to their casino, remember to bring 3 pins socket if want to plug in inside cabin):biggrin::biggrin::biggrin:

hokkien

Somemore must scan boarding pass :biggrin: cannot youtube somemore :biggrin: