• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Marina IR starts hiring drive for Cleaners. See Beh Proud!

<TABLE cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%" border=0><TBODY><TR>Oct 19, 2008
</TR><!-- headline one : start --><TR>Marina IR starts hiring drive <!--10 min-->
</TR><!-- headline one : end --><TR>It will target special group of Singaporeans in first phase of recruitment to get 10,000 workers. </TR><!-- Author --><TR><TD class="padlrt8 georgia11 darkgrey bold" colSpan=2>By Lim Wei Chean
</TD></TR><!-- show image if available --><TR vAlign=bottom><TD width=330>
sg-marina.jpg

</TD><TD width=10>
c.gif
</TD><TD vAlign=bottom>
c.gif

The resort, which will open by the end of next year, will need 10,000 workers for jobs ranging from security, housekeeping, cleaning, gaming, waitressing and more. -- LAS VEGAS SANDS
</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<!-- START OF : div id="storytext"-->THE Marina Bay Sands integrated resort will launch a a massive recruitment drive to hire 10,000 workers through newspaper ads on Monday.
For the first phase, it is targeting a special group of Singaporeans - the retired, unemployed, retrenched and women who wish to return to the workforce, as well as mature workers.
Marina Bay Sands general manager George Tanasijevich said: 'Our most important commitment to Singapore from the beginning is that we will go out and hire as many Singaporeans as we can to operate this great facility we are building. And this is what we are doing now.'
The resort, which will open by the end of next year, will need 10,000 workers for jobs ranging from security, housekeeping, cleaning, gaming, waitressing and more.
To get the manpower it needs, it is partnering the Singapore Workforce Development Agency and the National Trades Union Congress' Employment and Employability Institute (e2i) to screen, train and hire staff.
For interested workers who do not have prior experience in the field, they will have to go for special training to qualify for the job interview . If they get the job, they will be given additional training by WDA and Marina Bay Sands to get up to speed.
But for those who fail to get a position at Marina Bay Sands, e2i and WDA have promised to find them suitable employment with other companies. For more details, call the hotline 6586-7700 or log on to http://careers.marinabaysands.com for more information.

Man in the streets

It will collapse two years after the opening.

You think 10000 for local people?

Two weeks later, the toilet papers will tell the world local people shun casinos jobs.

This news is just a distraction for people to look away from Hong Lim park.

Fucking PAP baboons are on the parade again.

Just watch the local TV programmes, worse than North-Korea ! At least Kim Jong ILL does what he says

It will collapse two years after the opening.

You think 10000 for local people?

Two weeks later, the toilet papers will tell the world local people shun casinos jobs.

This news is just a distraction for people to look away from Hong Lim park.

Fucking PAP baboons are on the parade again.

Just watch the local TV programmes, worse than North-Koprea !

Whether it can be opened is still a BIG ? Expect the Papayas to use the Peasants' SeePeeF $ to subsidize it on demand from the casino operators!

The_Latest_H

Well, if Sands withdraw.....in the end, this article is just a distraction. An obvious attempt to divert attention from the rumours that Sands struggling to hold on to building and opening the IR in time, because of financial problems.

All these numbers of 10,000 are just empty numbers in the sky really...just like most numbers that have been released by the government in the past few years.

Man in the streets

well said.

in other words, casinos are PAP baboons' last stance.

numbers are numbers, 10,000 to run just an IR.

i think one should visit Macau casinos first and figure out the true number.

if these two casinos fail, the sinkapore dream is shattered !

Well, if Sands withdraw.....in the end, this article is just a distraction. An obvious attempt to divert attention from the rumours that Sands struggling to hold on to building and opening the IR in time, because of financial problems.

All these numbers of 10,000 are just empty numbers in the sky really...just like most numbers that have been released by the government in the past few years.

mscitw

"it is targeting a special group of Singaporeans - the retired, unemployed, retrenched and women who wish to return to the workforce, as well as mature workers."

Ha ha, very nicely written, it goes to show that local peasants are good for nothing except clearing garbage!!!

chupacabra

Standby for more pinoys. Another round of lecturing sinkees about being choosy for not taking up these peanut payiing jobs.

"it is targeting a special group of Singaporeans - the retired, unemployed, retrenched and women who wish to return to the workforce, as well as mature workers."

Ha ha, very nicely written, it goes to show that local peasants are good for nothing except clearing garbage!!!

Dun be surprised that this propaganda is actually targetted at the 10,000 uncles and aunties who lost their life savings on minibombs!

myo539

Why must you zoom in only on cleaners? What about the other non-cleaning jobs - security, waitressing, gaming - that are on offer? This is disinformation at its most unrefined state - worse than PAP propaganda. And you are most guilty in this forum! Are you suffering from some kind of inferority complex or psychological problem?

While other countries in the region and world are firing, Singapore is still hiring. Singapore is a haven for the unemployed and those looking for employment - not just for the young, educated and able-bodied. Marina Bay Sands is hiring people who would otherwise not be working or unemployed. Isn't that a virtue that you obviously choose to ignore?

The region unemployed as well as those looking for greener pasture - the Filipinos, the Indonesians, the Bangladeshis, the discriminated as well as the golden-spoon-in-their-mouth Malaysians - also benefit because Marina Bay Sands will be hiring them as well. Singapore is literally their hope in supplying the bacon, bread, rice and milk onto their tables.

chupacabra

Why must you zoom in only on cleaners? What about the other non-cleaning jobs - security, waitressing, gaming - that are on offer? This is disinformation at its most unrefined state - worse than PAP propaganda. And you are most guilty in this forum! Are you suffering from some kind of inferority complex or psychological problem?

While other countries in the region and world are firing, Singapore is still hiring. Singapore is a haven for the unemployed and those looking for employment - not just for the young, educated and able-bodied. Marina Bay Sands is hiring people who would otherwise not be working or unemployed. Isn't that a virtue that you obviously choose to ignore?

The region unemployed as well as those looking for greener pasture - the Filipinos, the Indonesians, the Bangladeshis, the discriminated as well as the golden-spoon-in-their-mouth Malaysians - also benefit because Marina Bay Sands will be hiring them as well. Singapore is literally their hope in supplying the bacon, bread, rice and milk onto their tables.
Untill they actually hire 10k peasants, I am pesamistic about th figures.
Hello, are you aware that all the other jobs you have mentioned pays almost the same as a cleaner.

The_Latest_H

Until they start creating jobs for say local green tech specialists, to install solar panels, even a 100,000 job promise will do little to cover up the facts that Singaporeans, let it be young and old deserve better jobs than to clean up toilets or hotel rooms.

We should be aiming for employment that focuses on high skill, knowledge and productivity, ones that will give the country a boost, a good permanent boost. But as long as job growth is in the blue collar side, then the country would not grow much, if at all.

I mean, c'mon, we are Singapore, a highly developed nation. We ain't China. We have to aim for better jobs for all Singaporeans, and not these 10,000 blue collar, lowly paid jobs. This is not what this country is about and gonna be.

DIVISION1

No job is below any person. I guess more challenges to moniker makapaaa's job and personal wealth is needed from hungry foreign talent for an improvement in attitude. Our forefathers who became millionaires started from jobs deemed untouchable by moniker makapaaa.

The_Latest_H

Okay, then why do descendants of American car workers in the old old Ford factories in the beginning of the 20th century are now businessmen, entrepeneurs, highly skilled IT workers, highly skilled biotech scientists, or even Broadway actors/actresses?

Are people condemned, as you implied, to be cleaners all their lives because their parents or grandparents once were? I think you're just peddling the biggest BS around here these days, Div 1, and I intend to expose the fraud that you are.

Anymore BS, and you've become my breakfast, lunch and dinner.

DIVISION1

Okay, then why do descendants of American car workers in the old old Ford factories in the beginning of the 20th century are now businessmen, entrepeneurs, highly skilled IT workers, highly skilled biotech scientists, or even Broadway actors/actresses?

Are people condemned, as you implied, to be cleaners all their lives because their parents or grandparents once were? I think you're just peddling the biggest BS around here these days, Div 1, and I intend to expose the fraud that you are.

Anymore BS, and you've become my breakfast, lunch and dinner.

It is not a fair world. If you think it looks more equitable elsewhere, that is because the unknowing taxpayers for usually extravagant lifestyles are your children and their children. No one is condemned to any life. Some monikers seem to think any and every job is an entitlement. There was no entitlement to jobs during the Great Depression. Having a job is better than none. This country cannot move forward without someone doing the basic services. If global market and domestic market conditions allow for global sourcing, that is good. If not, it will have to be domestic. However, many Singaporeans have developed an attitude that they are above some jobs and there are untouchable individuals in society, reflecting the room for more social and intellectual progress. These untouchable jobs and people are not limited to cleaners, unfortunately.

silverfox@

When don't hire, they say the place can open or not still a big question mark
When start to hire, they say hire cleaners and why only 10,000 jobs?

When start to retrenchment, they will say 'there you see'.

This is not inferior complexity but pent up frustrations where these people just hope to see Singapore will fail at every single issue to justify what they say is correct.

Then they come tell you, 'there you see'

If you tell these people to see a psychologist, they tell you they are not mad. But the problem is they are not mad, just mentally unstable that's all. :p

That is what sinkie vote for.. so just deserve it and suck thumb plus a tube of vaseoline.

The_Latest_H

blah blah blah.

You're missing the point. What I had said was that most Singaporeans should be getting jobs that correspond to the level of their education. So if most Singaporeans have a tertiary education, and lots of potential, then they should be aiming for high paying jobs with good promotion prospects.

That doesn't mean low-income S'poreans shouldn't get those lowly-paying jobs; it just means that as time goes by, as the country develops, the jobs available should not be focused as much as those blue-collar ones, as the white collar ones that are suitable with each passing generations.

Children and grandchildren of cleaners and butchers should not be condemn to a similar prospect as their elders just because of whom they born to. If these children and grandchildren can grow up to be one of the best entrepreneurs in Asia and the world, then they should be allowed to do so.

DIVISION1

You're missing the point. What I had said was that most Singaporeans should be getting jobs that correspond to the level of their education. So if most Singaporeans have a tertiary education, and lots of potential, then they should be aiming for high paying jobs with good promotion prospects.

That doesn't mean low-income S'poreans shouldn't get those lowly-paying jobs; it just means that as time goes by, as the country develops, the jobs available should not be focused as much as those blue-collar ones, as the white collar ones that are suitable with each passing generations.

Children and grandchildren of cleaners and butchers should not be condemn to a similar prospect as their elders just because of whom they born to. If these children and grandchildren can grow up to be one of the best entrepreneurs in Asia and the world, then they should be allowed to do so.

Most Singaporeans with their qualifications can indeed hold a candle, if not outshine their rivals in other countries. I think that is clear. The unfortunate truth is Singapore cannot support as many white collar jobs as Singapore would like. The 9-11 and SARs crisis has shown how vulnerable Singapore remains in a globalized economy. It would be nice to have a case whereby Singaporeans can migrate to high paying and more prestigious positions, while other basic but essential services are outsourced to other non-nationals. This is already being done and there are many other countries that do this. But ideal matching is not easy to achieve, even if there are the best of intentions. There is , however, a price to pay for the competitiveness of Singapore which may lead to fewer white collar jobs in the mid or long term. This is something no one likes hearing. For Singaporeans who think that they are worth more, they have ask themselves if they are willing to go abroad to find that better job. There may be even more racial and nationalistic prejudices as well. This crisis is beginning to show a less pleasant sight in the world. Immigration in the USA and UK, and probably in Australia and New Zealand are getting much tighter.