• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Slot games, Casino Rewards & Privileges

tchno

Sis start a new thread on stocks, either for same interest bros or Sis to share info or for reading purpose down the road :biggrin:

The DFDC at RWS 5cents 300+k drop Liao
The 2 cents 150+k also drop Liao
No incentive to go this weekend, the base game almost impossible to win nowadays

Anyone from Mbs knows if their dfdc 700k drop before ?
Roughly how often drop ?

Ralders

Great to know that the desired threads will survive and stay in their original Sub-Forum [tho’ no harm doing some ‘housekeeping’ with some of the less popular etc threads here].

Anyway - got back from the Share Trading Technical Analysis talk in the CBD
And submitted the necessary Account-Opening Forms for trading our local & also US stocks
{Advised to hold back on the CFD A/C Opening until I’m well-versed and re-acquainted myself with the market again - the remisier also advised that I use only 10k to trade during “Warm Up” Period .... I said "Can’t do much with only 10k so no point doing that” .... once my account is opened I can start selling off some counters that are trending up now {eg. DBS, Singtel, Capitaland ...} in my existing portfolio - so some funds could be transferred over to the new Margin A/C too to enable trades to be done {Some counters might need for next good price before selling (eg. the Keppel family of counters, ST Engg...) or can be pledged but only up to max 2x margin whereas cash can be 3x margin - still considering whether an All-Cash Margin will be much neater here}
Hey - am also told Contra is STILL possible - I would be given T+5 days {i.e. Mon to the next Mon 7 days total}
Once everything is in place .... can start my trading

Hmmmm .... would you guys here be keen or interested at all on knowing how I fare here ?
If so, I may start a new thread “JJCC888’s Trading Journey” or something ..... hahaha

BUT I need to have a good Share Forum - on trading the US Stocks especially
Where I can read ‘instant news/sharing’ regarding the US Stock Market & Daily Instant Trades/TIPS etc .....
So that I know WHICH US Stocks to trade for any particular day/week etc .....
Trading Blogs are less useful for me now ... prefer ‘instant trading tips’ to enable me to benefit straightaway rather than reading ‘past field/trading reports’ as such [ie. dealing in the Present/Future and NOT the Past]

Next much check my Toto .....

Hey.

what do u actually want.?

Jovinho

very long never take picture already,
was at MBS last week,
100 spins for WMS queen of wild, + 5 retriggers of 10spins each, but the payout was pathetic....
playing 40cr @ 5ct denom, feature won about 1k+ only. no big wins, gorilla all missing:(
XGKUy4.jpg

most of the time was jumping around at cash cove 10cts at high limit area,
didnt get any good payouts until I moved behind to the 25cts machines.
Also saw a HIV playing at 125cr 10cts paid 60k+++credits, endless retrigger! shiok!

hokkien

Why Are Slot Machines So Addictive?
59Tweet
179Share
By Alice Robb @AliceLRobb Photo: Joe Raedle/Getty

Most research on compulsive gambling focuses on the psychological, biological, or even moral profiles of gambling addicts—but the real problem may be the slot machines. MIT anthropologist Natasha Dow Schull recently won the American Ethnological Society’s 2013 First Book Prize for her new work, Addiction by Design: Machine Gambling in Las Vegas, which explores the relationship between gamblers and the technologically sophisticated machines that enable—and encourage—them to bet beyond their means. Schull, who spent fifteen years conducting ethnographic research in casinos, gambling industry conventions, and Gamblers Anonymous meetings in Las Vegas, explained to me over the phone, “Addiction is a relationship between a person and an activity, and I see my book as compensating for the lack of research into the object side of the relationship. With alcohol research, for instance, there has been a focus not only on the alcoholic but on the alcohol itself. With gambling, the focus is most often on the person. It’s essential to broaden that.”

Alice Robb: Why should a cultural anthropologist study gambling?

Natasha Dow Schull: Games are a great window into culture. They indicate what the populace is anxious about or is seeking out. The fact that people are being drawn to individual machine consoles rather than high-volatility, intense social games tells us a lot about the risk and volatility that people feel in the world, in their lives—think of the financial crisis, the culture of fear around terrorism, the environment, global warning. It makes sense that people would seek out games that allow them a sense of control and predictability.

You don’t think about gambling as that kind of a game. You would think it’s about thrill and risk, but actually slot machines provide people with a sense of safety and certainty.

In 1967, the anthropologist Erving Goffman described gambling as the occasion for “character contests” in which participants could demonstrate their courage, integrity and composure under pressure. Today, our anxieties are very different, and with slot machines we’re seeking a sense of safety and routine—the opposite of what Goffman describes.

AR: How does gambling promote a sense of security? Isn’t gambling about risk?

NDS: When gamblers play, they’re going into a zone that feels comfortable and safe. You’re not playing to win, you’re playing to stay in the zone— a zone where all of your daily worries, your bodily pains, your anxieties about money and time and relationships, fall away.

One addict I interviewed described being in the ‘zone’:

It’s like being in the eye of a storm…Your vision is clear on the machine in front of you but the whole world is spinning around you, and you can’t really hear anything. You aren’t really there—you’re with the machine and that’s all you’re with.”
New kinds of machines are key. With multi-line slot machines, say you put in a hundred coins. If you’re betting on 100 lines of play, you’ll always ‘win’ something back. If you put in 40 coins and get 30 back, that’s a net loss, a ‘false win’, but the machine responds as if you’ve won: The lights go off, you get the same audiovisual feedback. Almost every hand, you get the same result— there are no dry spells.

AR: You say that people want to get away from their fears about money and people. So why escape by spending money in a casino that’s full of people?

NDS: In order to get away from the burdens and anxieties associated with monetary value and interactions with other people, you have to work within those mediums and convert them into something else. To get away from money, you have to play with it; gamblers spoke about how money became currency for staying in the zone.

And even though there are people around, it’s still very anonymous. You set yourself up alone in a machine-like pod and everything blurs away—the other people are just a kind of necessary background. People seem not to be able to do that on the couch alone. A lot of the gamblers I talked to would play on hand-held machines at home in between their sessions at the casinos, but they couldn’t achieve that zone as readily.

AR: Why are slot machines so much more addictive than more traditional forms of gambling?

NDS: Even though slot machines are considered to be a light form of gambling due to their relatively low stakes, ease of play and historical popularity with women, they are actually the most potent. There are three reasons why: Playing on slot machine is solitary, rapid, and continuous. You don’t have interruptions like you would in a live poker game, waiting for cards to be dealt or waiting for the other players. You can go directly from one hand to the next—there’s no clear stopping point built into the game. You don’t even have to stop to put bills in the machine; the machines take credit or barcoded tickets.

AR: What do new gambling machines say about our relationship with technology?

NDS: The cultural history of gambling in this country follows alongside technological advances—not only because technology make these new kinds of machines possible, but because we’ve become comfortable interacting with and even trusting computers and machines.

You can see that in the revenue: 80 percent of revenue in Las Vegas comes from individual encounters with slot machines rather than social forms of play around a table. Whereas in a place like Macao—which has far greater revenue from gambling than Las Vegas—it's the exact opposite: 80 percent is coming from table games, because people have a distrust of computers and machines.

AR: How could your work affect the public conversation on gambling?

NDS: States around the country are considering gambling as way to increase revenue in the recession—and it’s the revenue from machines that they’re anticipating. I think this is a very dubious proposition since, as I show, these devices are so clearly problematic. Machines are designed to draw people in and sometimes do so in deceptive ways; their design affects all players, not just a small group of addicts. Legislators need to understand how these machines work.

Mindless

very long never take picture already,
was at MBS last week,
100 spins for WMS queen of wild, + 5 retriggers of 10spins each, but the payout was pathetic....
playing 40cr @ 5ct denom, feature won about 1k+ only. no big wins, gorilla all missing:(
View attachment 18014

most of the time was jumping around at cash cove 10cts at high limit area,
didnt get any good payouts until I moved behind to the 25cts machines.
Also saw a HIV playing at 125cr 10cts paid 60k+++credits, endless retrigger! shiok!

WoW. 5 scatters.
This game is so diff to get FG. I tried on Sat for the first time. There is one inside the deep end of smoky corner in RWS. I accidentally hit the max line (you know diff manufacturer build diff way. Some put the cr button on top row, some put the line button on top row). I hit the first 2 spin at 1200 cr (=> $60 per spin)!!! I flipped. Then I switched to 40Cr and played almost $500 without anything except once I got a few gorillas on the last 3 column. Too much hype about this game liao.

Mindless

Had a RWS staycation over last weekend and chiong during the wee hours from 2am to 8am.

Started with the row of IGT playing mainly COE. Playing 240cr and I burned $500 without any FG. Moved to GR. The last row are the 5D/5K. All machines occupied even at that hour and almost half are playing 450cr. These high rollers have at least 100k Cr on their machines.

Not wasting time, I moved to the old Dreamweaver near AVP. Many 5D/5K here. All the 2c were occupied but the 5c were mostly empty. I tried almost all, still looking for my first FG. I didnt get my first FG until almost like 30-40mins after I entered the casino!!! By then, almost 80% of my $X000 BR are gone liao and the FG sucked.

I decided to move into smoky area. Saw a empty HIV. So tried 125cr. Played for 10min and hit FG. Wow, managed to get 160 FG and recovered $1k. Changed to the CC next door. This one hit many FG, but all the free spin are zero payout. Switched to another HIV. This one gave me 2 FG within 5min. But no retrigger at all. I continued and finally managed to get the 3rd FG that retriggers to get 90 FG to get back another $1k. Not satisfied with the performance of the 5D/5K so far, I moved further inside to play the 2c at 300/450cr. Manged to hit FG but no big symbol FH at all. All the fishes, fu, lu etc are all missing!!!

By 8 am, I was just between breakeven and slight loss. This outing, I was saved by 2 HIV and I was totally disappointed by the 5D/5K. I did clock 300 points though.

jjcc888

Think I’ll continue with my Casino Self-Ban till next week bah .... before going MBS {not to RWS as no unoccupied CCs to play}
Tho’ tomorrow Wed is a Possible Casino Day .....hmmmm ... see how

I have been very busy doing LOTS of catching-up/reading - on Share Trading - in between my still-regular Spa Trips ....
ALSO going to various Share Trading/CFD Seminars/Talks for learning purposes

ALSO doing ‘further research’ on Bali - for my next trip coming up in Jan 2015 !
As need to keep my girlfriend ‘updated’ on my plans for the intended Spas & Eats in Bali
{Hurray - she FINALLY managed to find someone to look after her cat while she’s away AND we got her air-ticket booked last week
The costs for taking care of her cat is costing her $50 per day - much more expensive than her AA air-ticket ! So troublesome with pets... }
This one drinks and loves live music & dancing ... so got to find such places that cater to her too
Will also be busy making arrangements for booking driver/popular spas/etc ....
so far have only booked for a dinner at Locavore in Ubud [fantastic casual fine dining restaurant that’s worthy of Michelin star std but at great value prices !!! Had my best meal there in May !!! ]

Looking forward to my next MBS Visit ... soon .....

ACSMotto

Had a RWS staycation over last weekend and chiong during the wee hours from 2am to 8am.

Started with the row of IGT playing mainly COE. Playing 240cr and I burned $500 without any FG. Moved to GR. The last row are the 5D/5K. All machines occupied even at that hour and almost half are playing 450cr. These high rollers have at least 100k Cr on their machines.

Not wasting time, I moved to the old Dreamweaver near AVP. Many 5D/5K here. All the 2c were occupied but the 5c were mostly empty. I tried almost all, still looking for my first FG. I didnt get my first FG until almost like 30-40mins after I entered the casino!!! By then, almost 80% of my $X000 BR are gone liao and the FG sucked.

I decided to move into smoky area. Saw a empty HIV. So tried 125cr. Played for 10min and hit FG. Wow, managed to get 160 FG and recovered $1k. Changed to the CC next door. This one hit many FG, but all the free spin are zero payout. Switched to another HIV. This one gave me 2 FG within 5min. But no retrigger at all. I continued and finally managed to get the 3rd FG that retriggers to get 90 FG to get back another $1k. Not satisfied with the performance of the 5D/5K so far, I moved further inside to play the 2c at 300/450cr. Manged to hit FG but no big symbol FH at all. All the fishes, fu, lu etc are all missing!!!

By 8 am, I was just between breakeven and slight loss. This outing, I was saved by 2 HIV and I was totally disappointed by the 5D/5K. I did clock 300 points though.

I also had a staycation weekend in mbs. Slots no mercy. Walloped me 5K. Rooms n FnB free, but still very expensive.

hokkien

Seems like less bros post liao, Bro qinshihuang, potoon 21,kia,etc.... Many more.. What happen sial... Hope all are fine :biggrin:

jjcc888

Seems like less bros post liao, Bro qinshihuang, potoon 21,kia,etc.... Many more.. What happen sial... Hope all are fine :biggrin:

I think at least for bro kia - he probably thought that this thread was disappearing soon and therefore no point coming here to check and log in/post further liow sighzzzzzz ..... :(
Otherwise in the past or previously, even tho’ he might not be posting I could still see him hanging around - reading etc ....

I’ll only be able to post a proper FR AFTER I’ve done my next casino trip
Should be very soon & to MBS bah ... :smile:

maxgirl

I lost heavily so no mood to post. What I won previously, I lost back:mad: Hard to win. Every machine no win at all. Quite crazy, really!
I think at least for bro kia - he probably thought that this thread was disappearing soon and therefore no point coming here to check and log in/post further liow sighzzzzzz ..... :(
Otherwise in the past or previously, even tho’ he might not be posting I could still see him hanging around - reading etc ....

I’ll only be able to post a proper FR AFTER I’ve done my next casino trip
Should be very soon & to MBS bah ... :smile:

QinShiHuang

Still around, bro, but recently never step in to any clubs, not to say casino also.

So nothing to contribute :biggrin:

Glad that this thread still staying.

All bros and sis, heng heng all the way.

ahboy123

I lost heavily so no mood to post. What I won previously, I lost back:mad: Hard to win. Every machine no win at all. Quite crazy, really!

Why always playing slot????? Never play table game? Banker player banker player, chance is higher , 50 50 %, swee swee dragon whack 2k 5k , also can win huge:biggrin:

maxgirl

Dunno how to play table games.
Ok, will try to learn in next casino trip.
Kinda sian now with losses!!!

Why always playing slot????? Never play table game? Banker player banker player, chance is higher , 50 50 %, swee swee dragon whack 2k 5k , also can win huge:biggrin:

HappyGala

True, table game has better chance of winning. But do remember humans are always greedy. I have seen lots of people playing table games till they bankrupt and even corrupted. Slots will never eat you until jiat lat jiat lat. Slots are usually for entertainment purposes.

highroller777

True, table game has better chance of winning. But do remember humans are always greedy. I have seen lots of people playing table games till they bankrupt and even corrupted. Slots will never eat you until jiat lat jiat lat. Slots are usually for entertainment purposes.

I've done both slots n table games bacarat texas caribbean BJ and both equally dangerous if u dont have control and discipline; bacarat can overwhelm yr BR like lighting as greed and stubbornness will wear you out thats why I stay out of bacarat. Bacarat is not 50/50 . System of play is design that house has a 4% edge (not counting the 5% comm). All table games has house edge.

Slotloser

Hi Guys,

Wah..this threads is really getting softer and softer...when happen to Bro Kia, Ralders, JJcc and all other Bro & Sis???:confused:
I have mention this long long time ago....be it Playing Table games, BJ, Barcarrat, Roulette..etc..etc or even Slots are like playing with fires.....
There is no such things as 50%-50%. You can buy big open small or buy banker open player....yes, I agree with Bro highroller...we are just another normal human being...not many people is able to control themselves when we are into the dens. Easier to say than do....When we win..we can take control easily, when we lose...lai liao....ki siao liao....
That's why many people still prefer slots...coz the pay out is very much higher compare to table games.....ofcourse, those one arm bandits can kill us easily within mins with thousands of dollars without giving any FGs or decent payouts!!
I have nothing much to contribute as well even thot I still goes into MBS very frequently but the outcome is like shit!!!! I can dump in 1k++ into HIV machines playing 2cts - 175-250crs without getting a FGs( not even a 15FGS )....NBzzz!!!
Sometimes, play till very sianzzz look at the screen oso feel like sleeping.....just keep feeding in notes after notes...like numb..Knnzz....

Take care and Good Luck to all...

Cheers

jjcc888

I have nothing much to contribute as well even thot I still goes into MBS very frequently but the outcome is like shit!!!! I can dump in 1k++ into HIV machines playing 2cts - 175-250crs without getting a FGs( not even a 15FGS )....NBzzz!!!
Sometimes, play till very sianzzz look at the screen oso feel like sleeping.....just keep feeding in notes after notes...like numb..Knnzz....

Cheers

Oh dear ... that’s also why I’m right now still HESITATING on going into MBS
{even tho’ supposedly Best Period for this stretch}

Somehow I STILL don’t have the confidence (vibes etc ?) to enter the casino again [very unlike me]
Doesn’t look like anyone has been doing well lately sighzzzzz .......

Hmmm ..... maybe I should defer going UNTIL I’ve at least some trading profits with my trading (or windfall from Toto etc .....hahahaha)
as that should bolster my confidence against possible further casino losses (even tho’ BR prepared long ago for visit)
I mean - must at least have some $$ Entry Source(s) balanced against $$ Exit/Losses from casinos

yiyong

Hi Guys,

Wah..this threads is really getting softer and softer...when happen to Bro Kia, Ralders, JJcc and all other Bro & Sis???:confused:
I have mention this long long time ago....be it Playing Table games, BJ, Barcarrat, Roulette..etc..etc or even Slots are like playing with fires.....
There is no such things as 50%-50%. You can buy big open small or buy banker open player....yes, I agree with Bro highroller...we are just another normal human being...not many people is able to control themselves when we are into the dens. Easier to say than do....When we win..we can take control easily, when we lose...lai liao....ki siao liao....
That's why many people still prefer slots...coz the pay out is very much higher compare to table games.....ofcourse, those one arm bandits can kill us easily within mins with thousands of dollars without giving any FGs or decent payouts!!

Cheers

1k plus feed the HIV slot... not even 1 fg!?
Think it time to switch to RWS...