• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

YOG volunteers kena food poisoning!

Balls2U

By Republic Polytechnic’s Michelle Weers

Some 26 Youth Olympic Games (YOG) volunteers were reported to have suffered from food poisoning after consuming their meals in the morning of August 15.

A source told Yahoo! SEA that the volunteers, who were on duty at the triathlon competition at East Coast Park, had diarrhea.

On the same day, the National Environment Agency (NEA) and Ministry of Health (MOH) were notified and they are now investigating the case.

When contacted, the Singapore Youth Olympic Games Organising Committee (SYOGOC) also said they are currently looking into the matter and will be releasing a statement on this issue soon.

The controversy surrounding food for YOG volunteers was also mentioned on Twitter by Singapore blogger, Mr Brown.

He said, “Online forums report a #YOG competition venue with > 30 cases of food poisoning. Formal MOH investigation is allegedly underway.”

This is the second food controversy incident to hit the YOG.

A week ago, another incident on YOG volunteers’ meal packs sparked an online uproar after a volunteer uploaded a photo of their meal pack on Facebook. Netizens also raised concerns over the sub-standard food served to volunteers.

SYOGOC responded by saying: “We are aware of the feedback (on the meal) and have taken immediate action. We will work with the caterers to continually improve the meal standards.”

Over 20,000 people are volunteering in various roles for the YOG, which runs till August 26.

Balls2U

Yet another embarassment! Those poor student "volunteers" (more like conscripts), when will their misery end? :oIo:

Balls2U

Even prisoners at Changi resort are served with better food that are at least consumable! What have the student conscripts done to deserve this? :oIo:

food hygenie and food safety falls under Ministry of Environment no?

Who is the head? Yaccob !

Wow...he is sure a star of the month...floods now food poisoning....

Balls2U

shomoddy.jpg

毒死你!

Balls2U

food hygenie and food safety falls under Ministry of Environment no?

Who is the head? Yaccob !

Wow...he is sure a star of the month...floods now food poisoning....

Just wait and see! They sure come up with some cock and bull excuse later on! :oIo:

KNN what the fuck is that? What is that miserable slob of thing in the rice.

There is nil vitamins inside that tray of thing...the food is deep fried so as to keep for long time without turning bad.

the long beans, KNN...miserable proportion and the rice...how to eat?

no_faith

looks like army cook house.
come on, can provide better than tis.
dun provide leftover sia, overbudget still such food?

whr money gone to?:rolleyes:

If you do, SPCA would report you for cruelty to animals.

Not to mention that, if you post that video to YOU TUBE, Vivien will charge you for outraging his modesty!, after all he spent S$300 million & you feed the food provided to animals??:biggrin:

JohnTT

When people asked for food improvement, they ended up with food poisoning! What a joke! This is how our volunteers are valued & treated!