• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

NSF seek compensation for injury during NS, MINDEF tell him go fuck himself

SNAblog

competitionlistingvisual.jpg

http://www.todayonline.com/Singapor...SF-seeking-compensation-for-his-schizophrenia

Former NSF seeking compensation for his schizophrenia

But Mindef says there is no proof of link between man's service-related hearing loss and his condition

SINGAPORE - Can hearing loss cause schizophrenia?

The family of a former full-time national serviceman think so. They have asked the Ministry of Defence (Mindef) for compensation for a hearing loss injury he sustained 19 years ago while serving his national service (NS).

They claim the injury caused the former Raffles Junior College student to become depressed, then schizophrenic, forcing him to lose his chance of studying to be a doctor.

During a firing exercise on Feb 22, 1991, Mr Tan Wei Vin sustained a hearing loss injury to his right ear.

Mindef has rejected the view by two psychiatrists he saw, who said there was a link between his hearing loss and schizophrenia.

In a letter last July to Mr Tan's mother, Madam Tan Sew Khim, Mindef said a Medical Board convened in April last year had assessed his schizophrenia and found there was no evidence it was caused by his ear injury.

It has denied Mr Tan, now 37, compensation.

Now, lawyer V Ramakrishnan is representing the family after being asked by the Legal Aid Bureau to do so.

In a letter to the Bureau, Mr Ramakrishnan, 79, wrote that Mr Tan, who scored nine As at his 'O' Level examinations, complained about a ringing sound in his right ear after the incident.

It caused him to be inattentive, then depressed.

After completing his NS stint in 1993, Mr Tan got into the National University of Singapore's medicine faculty. But, unable to concentrate, he was forced to drop out during his first year.

The eldest of four children, he is now unemployed as he has been unable to hold down a job. He lives in a two-room rental flat in the Jalan Sultan area with his younger brother.

In 2001, he saw private psychiatrist Yeo Seem Huat, who assessed that his mental condition was partially related to the ear injury. Another private psychiatrist, Dr Ang Yong Gua, agreed with Dr Yeo's findings.

Mindef wrote to both psychiatrists in 2008, saying it could not find scientific proof to support this link.

Speaking to MediaCorp recently, Madam Tan, 62, said: "I'm not asking for $10,000 a month, like a doctor's salary. We'll let Mindef decide how much they want to give. I'm just asking for enough for my son to get by when I'm no longer around to care for him."

Mindef's public affairs director, Colonel Darius Lim, said as Mr Tan's ear injury was service-related, Mindef agreed to cover all medical costs for the treatment of his ear injury and continues to do so.

Between 2004 and 2007, Mr Tan sought compensation for his schizophrenia but his appeals were rejected following Mindef's medical reviews.

A Singapore Armed Forces Medical Board, comprising medical professionals and psychiatry specialists, was also convened in 2008 to "further examine Mr Tan's claims", said Col Lim. The board came to the same conclusion: There was no "conclusive medical evidence" linking his schizophrenia to his hearing loss, and Mr Tan remained "ineligible" for compensation.

Madam Tan said her son still buys 'A' Level assessment books on General Paper, Physics and Biology, as that was what he was studying before the incident.

================================

Talkback

1 - 2 of 2 responses to "Former NSF seeking compensation for his schizophrenia"

Sureerat_Tang
Updated 11:24 AM June 07, 2010
Mindef always deny there liability to the Full Time National Service Men. Many Service Men has sustain permanent injury during there training. In younger years the pain can still be endure. However when this people age, this injury cause alot of pain and inconvience. I had a Sprain Ankle during my BMT jumping down from the 3 Tonner during training. Until now age Mid 40, I still need to put on a brace to support my ankle during casual walk... not to mention to complete my IPPT during my reservist.
Report Abuse

The Green Hornet
Updated 11:02 AM June 07, 2010
A serious case of tinnitus can really cause a lot of damage to the patient, mentally and as well as physical impairement. The discuption to normal hearing can disrupt one's lifestyle, eg. prevent enjoyment of music (as it should be listened), prevent the same level of alertness as a normal person when driving, cause inattentiveness when the patient is learning to tune out the ringing sensation to the ear. All these component alterations to lifestyle, can cause mental disorientations, schizo included. It is definitely a valid case.

gone4good

knn, mindef really f@#k up. should put an alarm clock next to the ear of the scholar paper generals and let it ring every hour. see whether he will goes mad or act as if the noise pollution is nothing.

cooleo

knn, mindef really f@#k up. should put an alarm clock next to the ear of the scholar paper generals and let it ring every hour. see whether he will goes mad or act as if the noise pollution is nothing.

Paper General:
"thank you for your feedback and we do welcome further suggestions from the general public. Processes will continually be reviewed and we look forward to creating greater synergy moving forward."

Brightkid

In a letter to the Bureau, Mr Ramakrishnan, 79, wrote that Mr Tan, who scored nine As at his 'O' Level examinations, complained about a ringing sound in his right ear after the incident.

Wow, 9 As for his "O" Level. Not bad.

BTW, anyone remember how many As MBT got? I faintly recalled some years back, an old man broadcast this info for all of Singapore to hear.

Watchman

Yeah man fuck up policies .
They fail to take care of the needs of individual soldiers .
But they can come up with money sapping stupid policies and campaigns .

But who really executes it . People like you and I, sons of sons .

You are wasting out time MINDEF .

manokie

This RJC Cunthead deserves it.

He has got hearing loss not deafness

What a farking loser that demands compensation for his insanity that he caused himself. He dropped out and did not even see a specialist for attention and then get back to his course. He just dropped out of his whole life because he got shitty parents who cannot guide him well. You want someone like this to leech taxpayers' money? I am glad he did not become a doctor.

All you guys shouldn't support such a loser because the compensation will come out of all Sinkie taxpayers' pockets.

popdod

Wow, 9 As for his "O" Level. Not bad.

BTW, anyone remember how many As MBT got? I faintly recalled some years back, an old man broadcast this info for all of Singapore to hear.

Brilliant start
but
saddening ending.

NS had basically robbed away his future & happiness.

:o :( :o

Madam Tan said her son still buys 'A' Level assessment books on General Paper, Physics and Biology, as that was what he was studying before the incident.

He has my utmost sympathy. I'm not trying to be sarcastic here, but I frankly feel he needs to seek help from IMH.

manokie

He has my utmost sympathy. I'm not trying to be sarcastic here, but I frankly feel he needs to seek help from IMH.

He's just a sheltered little bastard that become insane after suffering from some little damage to his ear drums. As if he has lost his arm or something like that.

Don't you think it's too far-fetched to become SCHIZO after suffering from hearing loss?