• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Singapore ranked world no 6 for public debt (CIA.gov)

Watchman

Singapore ranked world no 6 for public debt (CIA.gov)

Desert-Landscape1-300x225.jpg

https://www.cia.gov/library/publications/the-world-factbook/rankorder/2186rank.htmlCountry Comparison :: Public debt

This entry records the cumulative total of all government borrowings less repayments that are denominated in a country’s home currency. Public debt should not be confused with external debt, which reflects the foreign currency liabilities of both the private and public sector and must be financed out of foreign exchange earnings.

Rank country (% of GDP) Date of Information

1. 1 Zimbabwe 304.30 2009 est.
  2. 2 Japan 192.10 2009 est.
  3. 3 Saint Kitts and Nevis 185.00 2009 est.
  4. 4 Lebanon 156.00 2009 est.
  5. 5 Jamaica 131.70 2009 est.
  6. 6 Singapore 117.60 2009 est.
  7. 7 Italy 115.20 2009 est.
  8. 8 Greece 113.40 2009 est.
  9. 9 Sudan 104.50 2009 est.
  10. 10 Belgium 99.00 2009 est.
  11. 11 Iceland 95.10 2009 est.
  12. 12 Nicaragua 87.00 2009 est.
  13. 13 Sri Lanka 82.90 2009 est.
  14. 14 Egypt 79.80 2009 est.
  15. 15 France 79.70 2009 est.
  16. 16 Hungary 78.00 2009 est.
  17. 17 Israel 78.00 2009 est.
  18. 18 Germany 77.20 2009 est.
  19. 19 Portugal 75.20 2009 est.
  20. 20 Canada 72.30 2009 est.
  21. 21 Jordan 69.90 2009 est.
  22. 22 United Kingdom 68.50 2009 est.
  23. 23 Ghana 67.50 2009 est.
  24. 24 Malta 67.00
  25. 25 Austria 66.50 2009 est.
  26. 26 Cote d’Ivoire 63.80 2009 est.
  27. 27 Ireland 63.70 2009 est.
  28. 28 Netherlands 62.20 2009 est.
  29. 29 Croatia 61.00 2009 est.
  30. 30 Norway 60.20 2009 est.

ahleebabasingaporethief

#8 and #11 already BANKRUPT.

Singapore is ranked higher than #8. So how?
#8 is also a well touted tourist destination just like what Singapore now aspires with 2 IRs.

ACTUALLY, DO WE NEED THE CIA TO TELL US OUR COUNTRY IS SO HEAVILY IN DEBT?

THE WAY THEY ARE SKINNING THEIR OWN CITIZENS FOR EVEN 10 CENTS, TAKING AND KEEPING OUR CPF MONEY, AND THE WAY THEY ARE LETTING IN FTs WITH THEIR HOT MONEY SAYS IT ALL.

NO NEED CIA TO TELL SINGAPOREANS LAH. BUT GOOD TO HAVE OFFICIAL CONFIRMATION
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden"><input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

Orion

It is easy to see why.

The average GDP of the people is USD 40k, yet half of the Singaporeans are not even earning more than 15k USD a year.

If u buy a house at 400k, u already owe 10 years of public debt, since u borrow 400k, u need to pay 700k.

Data is very accurate.
Many buyer choose car loan 10 year and housing loan 30 or up to max. date.
In others country normaly take car loan on average 5 year and housing loan 15 year.
Meaning Sinkie are in debt for longer time and if calculate the credit card debt/personal loan that will be even higher.
If interest rate up 2% many will have to sell flat/property. Very soon interest rate will touch 4% mark.

senatorabudelai

maybe the damaged brains on this thread can read up some basic economics before spouting bs.

singapore's public debt is mostly 99% internal aka owned by its citizen. singapore's public debt is artifically inflated because of CPF. the government takes away 35% of each person's salary each month which they have to "repay", hence, they calculate that as "public debt". but really, the money is in the government's pocket so it is not a debt at all.

Kuailan

Data is very accurate.
Many buyer choose car loan 10 year and housing loan 30 or up to max. date.
In others country normaly take car loan on average 5 year and housing loan 15 year.
Meaning Sinkie are in debt for longer time and if calculate the credit card debt/personal loan that will be even higher.
If interest rate up 2% many will have to sell flat/property. Very soon interest rate will touch 4% mark.

In other cuntry a car cost is our OMV, $15K? in Sickapoor OmV+COE+Custom Duty+PARF+GP = $15K ++++ = $99K!!! how many times compere to other cuntry e.g. JB???

A HDB pigeon hole how much it's true cost ??? Remember those day when 3 room cost 7.2k, 4 room cost 13.5k, 5room at Marine parade cost 35k????
Today our gahmen also the property own can just simply mark up any amount they wished! makin it impossible for our future young generation to afford!!!
So how they they get married and settle down and have a familee???? when they can't even afford a pigeon hole???

The above 2 basic items already a real wake up call!!!

:confused::confused::confused:

maybe the damaged brains on this thread can read up some basic economics before spouting bs.

singapore's public debt is mostly 99% internal aka owned by its citizen. singapore's public debt is artifically inflated because of CPF. the government takes away 35% of each person's salary each month which they have to "repay", hence, they calculate that as "public debt". but really, the money is in the government's pocket so it is not a debt at all.

The americans are our allies, they have no reason to misreport on Spore's debt.

You obviously don't know our gov't very well. :rolleyes:

Anything that goes into the PAP's pocket stays there. Citizens will never ever see it in their lifetime e.g. our CPF.

senatorabudelai

The americans are our allies, they have no reason to misreport on Spore's debt.

You obviously don't know our gov't very well. :rolleyes:

Anything that goes into the PAP's pocket stays there. Citizens will never ever see it in their lifetime e.g. our CPF.

you obviously dont know anything very well.

anothing that goes into your brain does not stay there because it is just a black hole inside :eek:

you obviously dont know anything very well.

anothing that goes into your brain does not stay there because it is just a black hole inside :eek:

Do I really need a degree in economics to understand that many Sporeans are in debt :confused: Just go look at the cost of HDB prices, car prices, utility prices,... Alot of Sporeans are underwater. It's no secret that wages have not kept up to the inflation caused by the PAP.

The CIA reports are just reinforcing the obvious. PAP can spin all they want but we know the reality :rolleyes:

senatorabudelai

Do I really need a degree in economics to understand that many Sporeans are in debt :confused: Just go look at the cost of HDB prices, car prices, utility prices,... Alot of Sporeans are underwater. It's no secret that wages have not kept up to the inflation caused by the PAP.

The CIA reports are just reinforcing the obvious. PAP can spin all they want but we know the reality :rolleyes:

i hate to tell you this but "public debt" does not refers to household debts. :eek:

i used to think humans are borned with brains but you have broken the mould. :eek::eek::eek:

are you a donkey?

Which means the Familee TRAITORS will never be able to return Sporns their CPeeF money! Any more doubt they need to keep playing cheat by pushing back the withdrawal age and eventually declaring that they will not return the money to Sporns at all?

Where do you get this information from, or rather misinformation? Public debt in this CIA report refers to GOVERNMENT BORROWINGS. CPF is a contingent liability, not an outright borrowing. Stat boards and MOF actually do borrow money, some of it thru the issue of Govt. bonds and debentures. Other ways include borrowing from CPF, which HDB does. HDB has to repay these debts owed to CPF. When MOF transfers money to Temasek For example, they do this as an injection of shareholder equity. But the shareholder (MOF) borrows the money from whichever sources, like CPF or what not. The govt. also guarantees loans made by GLCs, such as SIA. I believe these are counted as government borrowings too.

Why S'pore's public debt is so high is more a function of the bad economy than of the actual debt. In a bad economy, your GDP shrinks anyway, so it amplifies the % of your borrowings. Also when the economy shrinks, many govt. resort to deficit spending by borrowing, hence making the debt % of GDP increase.

In any case, this is a very worrisome report. I have long suspected something was wrong, and the govt. is not truthful about its own financial house. Why are wholly owned govt. soverign wealth companies like Temasek floating multi billion dollar bonds? ARe u kidding me? Is there no more money that the shareholder can loan to them?

senatorabudelai

Where do you get this information from, or rather misinformation? Public debt in this CIA report refers to GOVERNMENT BORROWINGS. CPF is a contingent liability, not an outright borrowing. Stat boards and MOF actually do borrow money, some of it thru the issue of Govt. bonds and debentures. Other ways include borrowing from CPF, which HDB does. HDB has to repay these debts owed to CPF. When MOF transfers money to Temasek For example, they do this as an injection of shareholder equity. But the shareholder (MOF) borrows the money from whichever sources, like CPF or what not. The govt. also guarantees loans made by GLCs, such as SIA. I believe these are counted as government borrowings too.

Why S'pore's public debt is so high is more a function of the bad economy than of the actual debt. In a bad economy, your GDP shrinks anyway, so it amplifies the % of your borrowings. Also when the economy shrinks, many govt. resort to deficit spending by borrowing, hence making the debt % of GDP increase.

In any case, this is a very worrisome report. I have long suspected something was wrong, and the govt. is not truthful about its own financial house. Why are wholly owned govt. soverign wealth companies like Temasek floating multi billion dollar bonds? ARe u kidding me? Is there no more money that the shareholder can loan to them?

you are a retard. no i am not kidding you.

senatorabudelai

yes 117% of GDP is very jialat.

CIA figures got lie or not ah?
:p
<input id="gwProxy" type="hidden"><!--Session data--><input onclick="jsCall();" id="jsProxy" type="hidden">

some education for the illiterates (copied from another thread):

this public debt measurement is very misleading. singapore has a high debt because of the CPF government owes to the citizen (35% of everyone's total salary for life). in reality it is not a debt since the money is in the government's bank but they calculate it as debt.

if singapore's debt is 113% of gdp (including all the cpf money that needs to be paid to citizens), that means it is around 150 billion.

singapore has around 260 billion in CASH right now. not including temasek and all the non cash assets which total TRILLIONS of dollars.

if we draw out all our reserves today, everyone in singapore can stop working for 3 decades while receiving still 5k sgd a month. that is how much money singapore has!

remember to face the mirror and sigh at how illiterate, ignorant, bigoted and dense like you are. i suspect you are monkeys not humans because you do not meet the min intelligence level to be human. can you peel a banana? if not i might have to downgrade you to a hamster.

senatorabudelai

this is the dumbest post i have ever seen. :rolleyes:

ok you are confirmed as a hamster