• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

1 in 3 poly or univ grad on contract job

<TABLE id=msgUN border=0 cellSpacing=3 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD id=msgUNsubj vAlign=top>
icon.aspx
Coffeeshop Chit Chat - 1 in 3 poly or univ grad on contract job</TD><TD id=msgunetc noWrap align=right></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE class=msgtable cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:40 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>ALL <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(1 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30443.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt>One in three poly or varsity graduate on contract job

March 22, 2010 by admin
Filed under Headlines

Leave a comment
http://www.temasekreview.com/2010/03/22/one-in-three-poly-or-varsity-graduate-on-contract-job/

Written by Our Correspondent
Saved for the recession year of 2008, Singapore has been growing at a rate between 3 to 7 percent in the last decade. As GDP figures and the salaries of PAP ministers continue to grow, one will expect Singaporeans to hold full-time jobs which pay better, but this is not the case.
Recent figures from the Ministry of Manpower revealed that the number of Singaporeans on contract jobs has been growing over the last four years and as high as 34.3 percent of employees on term contracts hold a polytechnic diploma or a degree.
This means that one in three poly or varsity graduate in Singapore is unable to secure a full-time job.
The Straits Times has been trying desperately hard to promote contract jobs as a form of “flexible workforce” which is becoming increasingly acceptable in Singapore.
It quoted anonymous “human resource experts” as saying that “working under such contracts is becoming the norm, especially as the concept of a ‘flexible workforce’ becomes increasingly in vogue.”
According to Ms Lynne Ng, regional director of HR Company Adecco South East Asia, contract jobs are not necessarily bad for both employees and employers:
“Employers sometimes adopt a ‘wait and see’ approach to taking on full-time staff and utilising contract and temporary employees after a time of economic slowdown…. This is an excellent way of moving forward while still being cautionary,” she told the Straits Times.
Contract temporary jobs are used to be scorned upon by Singaporeans as they pay little and do not offer any long-term career prospects. However, with the labor market tighening, many young fresh polytechnic and university graduates have no choice but to take them up.
The situation is further exacerbated by the relentless influx of cheap foreign workers into Singapore who are willing to accept such temporary jobs at much lower pay and longer working hours.
Neither MOM or Straits Times offer a possible reason for the rise in contract jobs.
Local undergraduates are on the losing end as they are burdened with a student loan right after graduation.
They are also likely to postpone marriage and starting a family of their own if they are unable to secure a full-time job thereby compounding the problem of Singapore’s declining birth rates.
The root cause of the problem lies with the ease in which foreigners are given work permits, E and S passes to work in Singapore.
Most Singaporeans shun contract jobs but not foreigners whose presence gives employers another option.
It is the social corporate responsiblity of companies making money in Singapore to offer Singaporeans a stable job which pays well enough for them to sustain themselves.
Foreign workers should not be allowed to compete directly with Singaporeans in jobs which can otherwise be taken up by them.
The onus is on employers to offer attractive terms to recruit and retain Singapore workers and not by taking the easy way out via hiring foreign workers.

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE class=msgtablealt cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="96%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msg vAlign=top><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"> </TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:40 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (2 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30443.2 in reply to 30443.1 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><LI id=comment-97296 class=alt>HUH? on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 5:04 pm
67360b30b4fe0b77ac1efc618e5767b2

TR ARE YOU SURE!!!!!
( as high as 34.3 percent of employees on term contracts hold a polytechnic diploma or a degree.)
THIS IS A VERY VERY SERIOUS SITUATION.I DO NOT KNOW HOW TRUE IT IS OR WHERE TR GETS ITS INFORMATION. BUT IF THIS IS TRUE, ITS A NATIONAL TRAGEDY. HOW ARE OUR YOUNG PEOPLE GOING TO HAVE THE CONFIDENCE TO MARRY AND HAVE CHILDREN???????????
WHAT IS THE USE OF GDP GROWTH WHEN IT CAUSE 1/3 OF THE TERTIARY GRADUATES TO BE UNABLE TO FIND A PERM JOB?
THIS IS VERY VERY SERIOUS……….

<LI id=comment-97299 class=alt>Truthful on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 5:08 pm
3daa93718f18478f367010375f82810e

Give power back to the people!!! Long have we been told to bite the bullet only to realize we have been “screwed” upside down.

<LI id=comment-97325 class=alt>fanta on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 5:47 pm
ea6e17eadc2e9998641118343cde6901

They have been brainwashing Singaporeans to accept low wage. Local employees are told there few permanent jobs these days but there is an increase demand in contract jobs. This is the way it is and people are expected to accept it.
Solution is to vote PAP out.
So many talk about how bad we are all treated by the ruling party, but at the end of each polling day it is always the PAP who wins.

<LI id=comment-97329 class=alt>Aurvandil on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 6:02 pm
f7a1b0ca15c361d96b481b538d9130fb

Marry, have children, take out a 30 yr mortgage to pay Mr Mah Bow Tan for his “affordable” HDB flats …

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:41 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (3 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30443.3 in reply to 30443.2 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><LI id=comment-97330 class=alt>ani on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 6:04 pm
ddf02f6e0a9dc69ec4aa6b6b10f679aa

Hi people please read carefully. TR says 1/3 of Contract Employees hold a diploma or degree, and not 1/3 of diploma/degree holder unable to find perm job. is hell lot of diff

<LI id=comment-97355 class=alt>Lou Siao Bo on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 6:48 pm
d5374074b3cc8b6a719ac86c1f6854f6

yes, I’m one of those ‘contracted’ employees. ST eng, Singtel and all these GLCs.
Its either contracted which you lose out all your benefits. employers can remove you anytime they want.
Nowadays its either you are on contract or some kinda of Bond.
Bond yes, some people say at least you have a job. GOV give out grants to employers to provide whatever “training” but the true is these employers just make these trainee work as normal employee and employers make use of such bonds to suppress wages and “slave drive” them during the bond period. These trainees cant break the bond they are liable to pay out whatever grant thats give out. so free worker for those companies!

<LI id=comment-97356 class=alt>Mr. E on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 6:52 pm
44ebddc6a1c5d5da3ce7d8ec9ac50134

I LIKE TO TYPE IN CAPS TOO!!

<LI id=comment-97359 class=alt>MdWan on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 6:56 pm
e9e44754ae8f2c285cb5f021e431147e

My future looks bleak living here in this country.. Jobs will be harder to get cause most of it goes to the foreigner and if u lucky to get one,they offered low wages, price of living will rise, hdb price will rise… Man, we doom, DOooOM i tell you, DOOM!!!!
I would really like to live independently, but i just cant do it here.. Maybe when in ns i save up all my pathetic pay and move out. Unless change have been made…

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:42 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(4 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30443.4 in reply to 30443.3 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><LI id=comment-97370 class=alt>LIONS ROAR on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 7:17 pm
fbb4be18ce6537e041f218ff9cfaa1ed

We frown on ‘MIAD ABUSE’but literally speaking,the average sngaporean workers are thenselves subject to “employee-abuse”.
Unions are as good only as how they protect their workers from such abuse.

<LI id=comment-97378 class=alt>hahn on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 7:45 pm
a646b317193d7b2eac8dda588e5c16be

nice.I was on contract job as well.reason was becoz there is a headcount freeze(economic downturn)
fact is,they can afford to hire new ang moh executive but no money hire local.
so pap,is this wat u wan for sgreans??cheap cheap wages for the locals like the days when the brits ruled sg.
sky high salaries for the “elite”.
tell me lee f*ck yew,what are we regressing back to the colonial age???or advancing to your COLONal age???
vote pap for more good years yeah.cheers!!!!

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot></TD><TD colSpan=3></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:43 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (5 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30443.5 in reply to 30443.4 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><LI id=comment-97398 class=alt>BAH on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 8:47 pm
886cb0a7cb631649f501b38b55bebc5d

eh wrong reasoning! 1/3 of contract employees are poly/varsity grads does not mean 1/3 of grads are working contract jobs. the 1/3 of grad contract employees could only be representing 10% of the total grad population. Please proofread first before publishing as such misleading information will affect TR’s credibility.

<LI id=comment-97399 class=alt>I Am Contracted on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 8:50 pm
c4a44355da255d95e6962440cc4e3000

These days and in nearly every organisations especially those with high manpower needs such as in manufacturing, construction, ship-building, hospitality (hotels, restaurants, departmental stores), you will find foreign workers. Singaporeans have become too costly to employ, that’s why they get contract jobs so that employers save on CPF, benefits and bonuses.
It is not just the PAP government policy of liberally granting work permits but also the selfishness and greed of Singaporean the bosses and managers. These Singaporean bosses and managers want to save labour costs so they can reward themselves with higher profits, salaries, perks and bonuses.
The People’s Action Party is no longer for the people or acting for people of Singapore. The PAP is acting for businesses, foreigners, power and its longevity. New citizens will be beholden to PAP for its open door policy, a place to earn money and raise family.

<LI id=comment-97400 class=alt>[email protected] on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 8:55 pm
c68796a07487c4e68bfb3946c2c7218b

When you talk to someone everyday , be it sales , marketing or road shows , its very very ikely she/he holds a diploma or degree . don’t be surprised if she/he holds a master .
Many older workers ( 40 and above ) have degrees and drive taxi .

</TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"> </TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR> </TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:43 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right> (6 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"> </TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30443.6 in reply to 30443.5 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><LI id=comment-97420 class=alt>SC on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 9:28 pm
77bfc252052d95e38c69c579595a7062

cheap foreigners given permanent job; locals get temporary roles

<LI id=comment-97425 class=alt>Is Time To Kill on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 9:46 pm
caf584af4755fd6efc6d9bf55d728634

When someone tries to make my life difficult again and again. It will not stop me to fight back. Anything can go wrong today. Burning is NOT the only option

<LI id=comment-97428 class=alt>[email protected] on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 9:49 pm
cc0a69e5ecf3c53f64098ea3dc4f7cdf

My apology ,
what I meant was :-
“When you talk to someone everyday , be it sales , marketing or road shows , its very very ikely she/he holds a diploma or degree FROM OUR LOCAL POLY OR UNI . don’t be surprised if she/he holds a master .
AS FOR OVERSEA GRADUATES , TRY DRIVING TAXI OR WASH PLATES . ELSE CAN ALSO TRY SELLING INSURANCE .

<LI id=comment-97431 class=alt>MK Chee on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 9:55 pm
23ace8472da7578c60c06073c6b4b7b6

When the government agencies and stat boards are also hiring on contract terms, what can we expect of the private sector? A very sad outlook indeed but this is reality.

<TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgbfr1 width="1%"></TD><TD><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0><TBODY><TR class=msghead vAlign=top><TD class=msgF width="1%" noWrap align=right>From: </TD><TD class=msgFname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgDate width="30%" noWrap align=right>7:44 am </TD></TR><TR class=msghead><TD class=msgT height=20 width="1%" noWrap align=right>To: </TD><TD class=msgTname width="68%" noWrap>kojakbt_89 <NOBR></NOBR></TD><TD class=msgNum noWrap align=right>(7 of 7) </TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgleft rowSpan=4 width="1%"></TD><TD class=wintiny noWrap align=right>30443.7 in reply to 30443.6 </TD></TR><TR><TD height=8></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgtxt><LI id=comment-97434 class=alt>biodude on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 9:57 pm
78876272984dab422f722876764e1235

Even the civil and public service are offering yearly or 2 year contract positions. No more can you expect “full time” employment and stability in Singapore. I am not surprised if the number is rising of employees in contract positions. Good Luck to everyone.

<LI id=comment-97444 class=alt>Papsmear on Mon, 22nd Mar 2010 10:09 pm
a375fb215eb9ea97e6fccfb1cd3185b7

Will there be another Tan Wah Piow around ?
Its about time we have such kind of people around again.

</TD></TR><TR><TD></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE><TABLE border=0 cellSpacing=0 cellPadding=0 width="100%"><TBODY><TR><TD class=msgleft width="1%"></TD><TD class=msgopt width="24%" noWrap> Options</TD><TD class=msgrde width="50%" noWrap align=middle> Reply</TD><TD class=wintiny width="25%" noWrap align=right></TD></TR><TR><TD class=msgbfrbot></TD><TD colSpan=3></TD></TR></TBODY></TABLE>

Nothing wrong with contrract job. Since all are new graduate how do employer know they will do the task/perform. If not after one year bye bye.
After one year if really perform sure employer will renew contract or change to staff.