• IP addresses are NOT logged in this forum so there's no point asking. Please note that this forum is full of homophobes, racists, lunatics, schizophrenics & absolute nut jobs with a smattering of geniuses, Chinese chauvinists, Moderate Muslims and last but not least a couple of "know-it-alls" constantly sprouting their dubious wisdom. If you believe that content generated by unsavory characters might cause you offense PLEASE LEAVE NOW! Sammyboy Admin and Staff are not responsible for your hurt feelings should you choose to read any of the content here.

Cheap Labour - We are doomed

Boliao

Real scenario 1

Was at the petrol kiosk when I saw an old man in his 50's standing beside the POSB ATM machine. A long line of Chinese foreigner workers queued up to withdraw money from the ATM. As they did, they pass part of the money (a couple of hundreds) to the old man and left happily to their new found spending power... everyone of them did the same thing and there must be at least 20 to 30 of them.

I approached one of them who told me that the old runs their agency and finds work for them. They came here on S-pass with the agency and did a host of different work for different companies. The agency pays them the minimum salary for S-pass employment but requires them to paid back the CPF in cash. When they leave, they get to withdraw their CPF.

Real scenario 2

My maid is leaving us after her contract expires in the next two months. She is paid $480 and her relative promised her work at her relative's employment agency at $1200 a month.

She would be packing mango pudding (yes, you read correctly) in a factory in Jurong where she will also be living. The agency will apply a S-pass for her and pay her CPF contributions. But she will be required to pay back her CPF and $300 for lodging.

Yes, these are our S-pass foreign talent. If I knew which company, I will report them to the authorities.. but I am pretty sure they will start another shop using a different name.
:oIo:

batman1

CPF ARE PAYABLE ONLY FOR sINGAPOREANS AND SPR.
Those on WP,S-Pass or EP do not have to contribute CPF.

heartlander

there's no question that our addiction to cheap labour is serious, especially if we're flooded by foreign labour. but what is the true problem? if we kick out the foreign labour we need someone to replace them, but there aren't enough Singaporeans desperate enough to do their jobs. Because there are not enough Singaporeans IN GENERAL. We need to raise our birth rate desperately.

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
there's no question that our addiction to cheap labour is serious, especially if we're flooded by foreign labour. but what is the true problem? if we kick out the foreign labour we need someone to replace them, but there aren't enough Singaporeans desperate enough to do their jobs. Because there are not enough Singaporeans IN GENERAL. We need to raise our birth rate desperately.

I could never understand this argument. If we don't have the right masses of cheap labour, then why pack them in.

Isn't it good to be able to pick and choose the companies and industries according to the availability of workers. And what is this constant skill upgrading that PAP sings regularly?

Singaporean has limited land and labour and are obviously well educated, we can't possible spread out to any Tom Dick and Harry companies and industries that requires cheap labour. Aren't we going to focus on the more skillful labour ahead, rather then going back to labour intensity industry?

heartlander

I could never understand this argument. If we don't have the right masses of cheap labour, then why pack them in.

Isn't it good to be able to pick and choose the companies and industries according to the availability of workers. And what is this constant skill upgrading that PAP sings regularly?

Singaporean has limited land and labour and are obviously well educated, we can't possible spread out to any Tom Dick and Harry companies and industries that requires cheap labour. Aren't we going to focus on the more skillful labour ahead, rather then going back to labour intensity industry?

Nobody picks and chooses the companies and industries, no matter what PAP tries to do or tries to tell you. You think this is some strategy game you play on the computer? :biggrin: Firms rise and fall with consumer demand. If there's a conmsumer demand for firms that require low-skilled labor, like coffeeshops, then we'll always need low-skilled labor. So if you want to put it this way, you'll end up blaming all Singaporeans who like cheap chicken rice and kopi and who ultimately provide the jobs for low-skilled PRCs.

So let's all don't eat lah. Because wet markets and NTUC cashiers need low-skilled labor. Let's all starve ourselves to death and buy only high-end stuff, so that there'll be more skilled jobs that Singaporeans will like to do. Let's all go eat some financial services or consulting services.

Go take an econ class. It'll be useful.

popdod

Jin jiat lat...continue tis kind of life....
peasants will hab hard life for a bery nong time.

:o :( :o

Glaringly

Alfrescian (InfP) [Comp]
Nobody picks and chooses the companies and industries, no matter what PAP tries to do or tries to tell you. You think this is some strategy game you play on the computer? :biggrin: Firms rise and fall with consumer demand. If there's a conmsumer demand for firms that require low-skilled labor, like coffeeshops, then we'll always need low-skilled labor. So if you want to put it this way, you'll end up blaming all Singaporeans who like cheap chicken rice and kopi and who ultimately provide the jobs for low-skilled PRCs.

So let's all don't eat lah. Because wet markets and NTUC cashiers need low-skilled labor. Let's all starve ourselves to death and buy only high-end stuff, so that there'll be more skilled jobs that Singaporeans will like to do.

Go take an econ class. It'll be useful.

Left and right I see coffeeshop with FT closing in less then a year. Wouldn't it be good they if don't have access to these labour and give them false hope?

I thought PAP is cuming up with some Polis once in couple of months, aren't they play computer games?

Btw, those suppose to work in NTUC are now upgraded to collect cardboard.

:smile:

heartlander

Left and right I see coffeeshop with FT closing in less then a year. Wouldn't it be good they if don't have access to these labour and give them false hope?

I thought PAP is cuming up with some Polis once in couple of months, aren't they play computer games also?

:smile:

Not our problem. FT come here out of their own will. As long as we don't mistreat them they can't do anything to us. Yes, definitely when our immigration policy tightens, those businesses will find it tougher going - many who are already barely breaking even will close down. But unfortunately that's political reality. Thankfully, the PAP now realizes that economics is not all king, especially if Singaporeans feel like they're getting ripped off.

kingrant

The court jester Lim Swee Suay said that giving the employer more cheap foreign labour will help him create more business and hence create new jobs for Sinkies. Guess we must all come across as idiots. Would a boss hire a Sinkie when more new positions have been created when he could happily hire more cheap labour to fatten his pockets? Singapore was sold the argument that companies hire only FTs for jobs that Sinkies dont want - usually in construction and dirty jobs. This had been accepted generally, but the immig policy got more and more liberal with the inflow as more and more bosses claimed they were drowning in red ink due to the economic downturn and the PAP govt as usual bent over backwards to accommodate their demands for more cheap labour that began to eat into jobs that were PMETs' that have been laid off.

CPF ARE PAYABLE ONLY FOR sINGAPOREANS AND SPR.
Those on WP,S-Pass or EP do not have to contribute CPF.

S-Pass no need to contribute CPF. Dunno what lan cheow the TS talking about

Yes lor. So lame thread still got people agree with him!!!!

:mad:

the dog shit gov murder poor drug mule every year because of drug addiction charges.

who is going hang the PAP dogs for addiction to cheap labour?

Using cheap labours for businesses is an Ah Pek thinking. There is one Ah Pek still controlling Sinkingpore and he still think cheap labours is the way to do businesses.

heartlander

Using cheap labours for businesses is an Ah Pek thinking. There is one Ah Pek still controlling Sinkingpore and he still think cheap labours is the way to do businesses.

there's always a need for cheap labor. why should businesses hire degree holder to do manual labor? waste of money for the business, waste of time for the employee.

If the govts of truly advanced and functional countries think like u and your Papaya TRAITOR masters, the world is doomed. The Papayas pay themselves to the SKY and CANNOT DELIVER. Instead they choose the easy way out and get away with it cos of the 66% GOONDUs. But they know the tide is shifting against them and are leeplacing Sporns like there is no tomorrow to perpetuate their power.